We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good Infrastructure”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #66 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good Infrastructure”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Spent two nights at the hotel on a business trip. Check in and out was efficient. All staff friendly and helpful. Room modern, specially bathroom, and everything worked well. Coffeemaker available, but no ironing board. However, laundry service good, on time. There was chocolate, fresh fruit and plenty of bottled mineral water on a complimentary basis. Bed very comfortable and room quite, window cannot be opened. Newspaper delivered to room early morning. Quality of food, buffet, breakfast very good. Something to mention however is that waiters, specially at the lobby, are very slow and not really attentive and not all drinks on the card are really available. Also, Limousine pick up at airport was exaggerated and rather expensive, two cars for three people (two cars invoiced). What is missing somehow is a reference to the rich local culture, the hotel, though five-star, makes an international impression and could be located anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: rooms to garden are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    379
    159
    60
    48
See reviews for
208
173
73
450
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Talcher
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed there for 4 nights in the last week of September.Excellent location.good ambience,friendly people.My room was elaborate but the washroom was small.good quality furnitures in the room,grand external view.avoid inroom dining because you might not get what you ordered for ;at least this is what I experienced.All in all a comfortable stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva,
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here on two separate occasions during our stay in India and both times, the hotel met high standards. The room we had was a premium room which had a very luxurious large bathroom and plenty of space. The services offered are the usual you would expect in a Western style hotel. The hotel is situated across the road from a very large extensive mall where high street as well as luxury brands are available. There is a bowling alley and a good range of restaurants.
The hotel is not really in Delhi, its on the outskirts and is actually quite close to the airport (20 mins with light traffic).

The hotel has a few restaurants, 2 of which are situated on the ground level in a large atrium. On our second visit there was some sort of 'entertainment' arranged in this area (2 women singing very badly) so in order to get away from the noise, we found the hotel had another restaurant at lobby level. This is actually a speciality Indian restaurant and for some reason seems completely under publicised by the hotel. Its tucked around a corner and there is very little signage or literature promoting it, which is a real shame as the food we had there was excellent.

It is not a hotel that captures the spirit of india, its a hotel that could be anywhere in the world. Fine for a decent nights sleep or if you are attending a conference, but not really anything very special.

Room Tip: The first night we had a room directly above the dining atrium, around 12am, we could hear chairs be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I recently stayed at The Grand New Delhi for few days. The hotel has a good business from chinese guests and airline staff. Literally there is a chinese looking crowd always at the reception. Good Location and spaciaous lobby and green surroundings. Rooms and the ambience are not worth to be considered to have a Five Star experience. Most of the lifts were not working and no repair was undertaken for many days. To find out some rooms, the sign bords were not helpful. You will be lost amidst edless number of rooms. The complimentary Breakfast was awesome, though I got a slice of foul smelling ham (I forgive that).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Delhi has some amazing hotels to offer. This is not one of them. It is really too bad, because the property grounds are large and beautiful and the location is very good. However, this hotel is not up to the 5 star quality in India. I have stayed here and several other Delhi hotels for business and pleasure. The Grand is the worst. The rooms are very dated (can smell mold) and the service is hit or miss at best.

Perspective - If you have never stayed at a 5 star in Delhi before and you stayed here, you would never know what you are missing. The service and hotels will probably be better than what you are used to in the U.S./EU or similar, but that is just Indian hotels in general. But for the same price point, you are way better off with the Hyatt, ITC Maurya, Taj Palace or Leela (a bit more expensive). Also if you want to be near the airport the Leela and Oberoi in Gurgoan are so many levels above The Grand and same or even less costly!

Room Tip: Stay at any other 5 star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Le Grand New Delhi is a majestic hotel. The lobby and the surrounding gardens are just overwhelming. I was only able to spend one night in new delhi and regret i couldn't have more. The service and collaborators at the reception desk are very nice. The breakfast are is very pleasant and the service as well. Hope to be able to come to this great hotel some time later on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Was stranded at the airport for an extra three days on a business trip and was sent with 200 other passengers by the airline to The Grand at 2am. The hotel did a fabulous job taking care of us all throughout our unexpected stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#77 of 716 in New Delhi
585 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#39 of 716 in New Delhi
2,263 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi Airport
2.1 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
7.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Property: The Grand New Delhi
Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing