We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A taste of the British Raj” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 691 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A taste of the British Raj”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

As someone with a love of India, and also with a keen interest in British history, a stay at Maidens Hotel in New Delhi was a real treat. Our Indian customer kindly made the reservation for me and the hotel did not disappoint.

The building was built back in the days of British rule in India and the Hotel still has a grand old atmosphere of opulence, whilst still offering the modern comforts that you would expect of such a famous old hotel.

There is a history of the hotel available at reception and of the famous past guests, Edward VIII was a visitor and also the past Viceroy Lord Curzon, and the hotel still keeps that timeless feel.

Breakfast is available in 2 different ground floor rooms, and was pleasant and filling.

There is a nice "art-deco" pool area with attractive gardens and the hotel grounds are a real oasis set apart from the chaos of Modern Delhi.

Location wise, a cab ride is required to visit any of the old historic sights, as the hotel is located to the North of Old Delhi, and so on the opposite side of the City to the Presidential Palace (Viceroy's Palace) and India Gate, etc.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to sample a little taste of what colonial living was like for the wealthy "Nabobs" of yesteryear.

Room Tip: Request a room with an outside window as some apparently don't have this option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonianBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

It is heartning to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. I thank you for your generous comments. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, which helps us to continuously strive for excellence.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    341
    83
    19
    4
See reviews for
145
367
54
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hard to stay in double room with not single ray from sun, no drop of day light. Room are lare and comfortable, beds are too soft (may be old and not symetricaly soft). Swimin pool is somehow dirty but breakfast arden is exelent.do not look to much at the buildin from outside, the AC, plubing etc is horibly placed so from north side you hardly can see any original facade. In the garden is several empty buildings and all neigbourhood behind hih walls are half demolished buildings, with many mosketoes

Room Tip: The is probably one or two rooms with daylight, so try to et it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slunculak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Before going to Kashmir we stayed again at the Maidens on 24th and 27th May. Going to the Maidens is like going to visit your grandmother: old comfortable and and you can always depend on warmth and comfort. Nice to see most of the staff from last time. Our lugguge was stored whwn we went to Varanasi so we only tool a small bag.

Room Tip: I chose a room with a window so you might have some traffic noise. Earplugs are preferable for me t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margherita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

It is heartning to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. We thank you for your generous comments. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, which helps us to continuously strive for excellence.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hai Phong, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and found it a truly peaceful place to stay in Delhi's chaos. No traffic noise, faded colonial comfort and spacious rooms ( as others have said, though, they are windowless!). Very pleasant grounds and pool, and the metro (Civil Lines) is a 5 minute walk, meaning you can get places easily. This is also good, because the food at Maiden's is ludicrously overpriced by Indian standards. Room prices are reasonable for what you get, but the place seemed pretty empty, so maybe they are trying to make their money through services like food and laundry. But it was a very relaxing place to stay and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanViet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us . We thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay at the hotel.

Your comments are valuable to us which helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you at Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A relatively cheap high quality hotel with good food and well kept gardens. Lovely pool though its location by the plant room meant it wasnt peaceful. Very good service.

We were slightly disappointed that our room, though large and well- equipped, had no view. There was a high window with opaque glass and the glass in the door was also opaque so the charm of the old colonial structure was lost and we felt as if we were in a box! You had to have the light on at all times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zilkeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at Maidens. We thank you for sparing your valuable comment on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely distressed that you have been inconvenienced during your recent stay with us. We thank you for your time and your valuable feedback. This will assist us in improving our services further. Regarding the opaque glasses on the window, we are trying to find ways to replace it with the clear glasses without compromising the privacy of the rooms.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our services and that you will not allow this incident to mar your impression of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night to be welcomed by smiles and helpful faces. The rooms were better than the pictures, which is saying something! Linen, towels and room were clean, crisp and a great welcome. Bathroom beautifully renovated for a touch of luxury. We were given an upgrade without request, which was fantastic as we had 2 young children. even though the pool was a little outdated, the kids loved it! Food a little pricy but tasty.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaxlentash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us . We thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay at the hotel.

Your comments are valuable to us which helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you at Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of May. Everything was perfect! Friendly, helpful staff, beautiful room, lovely gardens and excellent food. Close to Civil Lines Metro station. We would definitely use this hotel on our next trip to Delhi.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the main building, on the top floor - very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,478 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 691 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,127 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#20 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#1 of 691 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
6.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,050 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#10 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Property: Maidens Hotel
Address: 7 Sham Nath Marg, New Delhi 110 054, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maidens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Hotel Maidens
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing