We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid, Historic and Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maidens Hotel to your Saves list
Maidens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Sham Nath Marg, New Delhi 110 054, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 691 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Splendid, Historic and Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for a week at this hotel on a business trip to the older part of Delhi. Technically, the hotel is in Old Delhi and not New Delhi :-)

I read it in some magazine not so long ago that the hotel served as the working residence for Mr.Lutyens - the architect of New Delhi. He used the building as an office - residence from where he designed the "new" capital of India.

Note that most of the cab drivers do NOT know of this hotel. I had to explain to many of them as the hotel near "ISBT" and they would still be lost - but in India, while the GPRS does not work, road passerby's are always ready to help.

From a tourist point of view, the hotel is close to most of Delhi's old attractions: Red Fort, Chandni Chowk etc but not to the new ones eg: Connaught.

The reception and bar/restaurant is full of monochrome framed photographs and dark mahagony furniture which gives a historic feel. The white facade of the building is superb and looks serene when lit @ night.

The breakfast is limited (must try chocolate croissants) but delicious. The staff is extremely friendly and willing to go the distance to accomodate most requests.

My standard room was huge. It had a separate a living area and the bedroom with very high ceilings. The bath, though very clean, was a bit dated and surely needs some maintenance. The food is superb though slighly on the expensive side.

The hotel itself is located on a huge grounds, with expansive lawns and a swimming pool with a very 70's bridge over it! But the hotel is a superb retreat from the noise of Delhi city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGTravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    341
    83
    19
    4
See reviews for
145
367
54
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The star turn at this hotel is the building itself. Beautiful and elegant, large rooms, giant beds. My only quibble would be with its location, no shops or restaurants nearby. Although it is extremely close to the Metro. Hostage to their high prices. Coffee £4. Club sandwich £11. Although the food was excellent. A big plus was the Really friendly and courteous staff. Always smiling.

Room Tip: Our group all had excellent quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank croissantneuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us . We thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay at the hotel. We have noted your concerned about the high price of food item and will assure you we will discuss this with our high management as early as possible.

Your comments are valuable to us which helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you at Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is located conveniently close to the Metro station and also close to the heart of Old Delhi. The building itself is beautiful, stylish and well-maintained. The lobby is wonderful to look at and the rooms are well furnished and clean. The hotel has a very welcome atmosphere of calm after the bustle of the city.
The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful and the food was excellent, although the evening menu is a bit limited.

The biggest drawback (still pretty minor) is that they charge for internet access, which you can now often find for free even on trains and buses! The food is also quite expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathanandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence. We have noted your concerned about internet charges and we will address this issue on urgent basis.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely setting, and main decor straight out of the Edwardian Raj. Big, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, though fittings not the most recent. Restaurant not cheap but very good. Staff very helpful. Outdoor pool (unheated) and facilities spotlessly clean. Out of town, but well worth the extra journey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire_Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

It is heartning to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. I thank you for your generous comments. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, which helps us to continuously strive for excellence.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had been meaning to stay at the Maidens for a number of years and had the opportunity this February to spend a couple of nights here. Maidens is a heritage hotel and operated by the Oberoi group. Whilst it was okay, I expected more from an Oberoi. The breakfast choice was nothing like their Grand in Kolkata, the staff not of standard usually associated with Oberoi.

They have a nice building in a good location, but like my school report ''could do better''

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking valuable time and providing your feedback through trip advisor.

I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings and assure you that corrective measures have been taken to rectify the same and the concerned staff has been well briefed for points highlighted.

I thank you for your kind words appreciating quality of food and staff members.

Looking forward to another opportinity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

First stop on a tour of Rajasthan, very helpful front desk, we arrived on an earlier flight than expected but were given our room straight away. Good food, nice little bar but best of all great staff. Thank you
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John from sunny Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us . We thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay at the hotel.

Your comments are valuable to us which helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you at Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Oberoi's Maidens Hotel was the first and last stop on our recent trip to India. It was a decent place to stay, only a short walk to the metro station through a quiet neighbourhood. The service was good, the beds comfortable and the food excellent. However, I continue to be amazed that a hotel in this price bracket charges for WIFI, and drinks were very expensive as well. The outside of the hotel is impressive, but the inside lacks the character expected in a heritage hotel. The rooms could be anywhere, and it's bizarre that they have no windows, just a frosted glass pane out onto the corridor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoyomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

It is heartning to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. I thank you for your generous comments. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, which helps us to continuously strive for excellence.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,471 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 691 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,117 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#21 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#1 of 691 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
6.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,042 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#10 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Property: Maidens Hotel
Address: 7 Sham Nath Marg, New Delhi 110 054, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maidens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Hotel Maidens
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing