We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Hotel, - one of the very first in Delhi. Situated in Old Delhi.”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #8 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful Colonial Hotel. Large rooms and bathrooms but unfortunately frosted window leads onto corridor. However, hot water, clean, tea and coffee in the room and a wonderful staff. Tv in room which we didnt try. Very quiet. Apparently they have a few rooms which overlook the garden which are nearer the road and I suspect could be noisy due to the traffic.
Very good and varied breakfast.
Indian style food was a little too westernized.
Nice pool for the Summer.
A very nice place to stay in Old Delhi . The tube is a short walk away.
It is quite a long way from the centre of New Delhi and , in general, a little bit out of the way.
Would we stay there again? Probably not, but only because of the location.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet but no outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinders172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Sorry but this hotel is overpriced and dated ,we were booked into a superior room by our tour company but when we arrived was told none left so put into a basic room ,I've stayed in better premiier inns , order a sandwich and it will set you back nearly R1000 ,breakfast was basic ,stayed in the doubletree for 3 nights on our tour much better value ,you also get a window to look out of unlike maidens,just a frosted window looking onto the corridor ,no good if you need darkness to sleep as the curtains are so thin they don't block out the light also ac rattled all night because you can't turn it off

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at Maidens. I thank you for sparing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely distressed that you have been inconvenienced during your recent stay with us. We thank you for your time and your valuable feedback. This will assist us in improving our operations further. This is to bring to your kind notice our superior room is the base catogory room for which you have booked and allocated. However, we wish your dis satisfaction with the room was brought to our notice during your stay, we would have look to upgrade your accomodation.

Your feedback has been shared with the concerned department heads to ascertain reasons for these lapses and to ensure these do not re-occur. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our services and that you will not allow this incident to mar your impression of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Maidens. If I can be of any assistance while in Delhi, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

First and last night of a golden triangle tour spent here. The rooms vary but both were very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The food was good and pleasantly served. The bar lacked atmosphere and was more expensive than the mini bar. The setting is charming and the staff friendly. Charges for wifi at 150Rph for half hour.

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the front
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stoneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Maidens Hotel and sharing your review through Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had a comfortable stay with us. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom this will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed at Maidens on four occasions in the past six years. It is one of my favorite properties in Delhi. The residential location provides solitude from the surrounding city life, yet being only one block from the metro station allows easy access to the sites. The room sizes are perhaps the biggest in Delhi, making it an excellent option for my family. We have room for an extra bed, crib, luggage, and accessories.
The breakfast buffet is simple and options are somewhat limited, but the food is consistently good. Be sure to try the chocolate croissants - they are one of the reasons I return to this hotel again and again!
The service is impeccable and the staff is always ready to assist with a request. For example, I like to sleep with a fan (yes, even with A/C!) and Maidens always finds a way to deliver a fan to my room during my stay.
There are two services I would amend: The first is the wifi rates, which are high. Considering other hotels in Delhi, especially in this category, wifi should be complimentary. The other is the cost of room service. Be aware, it is very expensive, even for sandwiches and pasta.
Overall, I highly recommend this property and look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: If traveling with children, request the Family Suite. There is an extra room attached with two twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellalley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

It is heartning to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. I thank you for your generous comments. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, which helps us to continuously strive for excellence.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Maidens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Maidens is a four star heritage hotel with only 55 rooms in converted Government buildings. My room was spacious and well equipped (although it was designated a suite). The grounds are large and well kept and the hotel is well back from a busy road, which ensures that it is quiet at night. The Cavalry bar and Curzon restaurant rooms are a bit bland and disappointing although the food served was good.

The pool area was bit tired, which is a shame.

Staff were good and attentative, particularly on the front desk.

It is located 5 minutes walk from the Civil Lines metro if you get fed up sitting in traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Maidens Hotel and sharing your review through Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had a comfortable stay with us. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom this will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Although quite a distance from the city centre, the Maidens offers a bit of respite from the noise, hustle and bustle of Delhi. Our room was impeccably clean, the service was friendly and discrete. We were exhausted after 23 hours of travel (and delays) so appreciated the calm and quiet. We had a later dinner at 11 pm on the first night. We were the only people in the restaurant, the food and service was excellent. Overall a very pleasant stay, we would return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy2Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Spent 3 nights over 2 stays and loved living in a forgotten time.

Colonial India with attentive staff helped ensure a memorable stay.

Ask for a refurbished room on the top floor, really spacious and contemporary.

Handy location for the Metro too.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Maidens Hotel and sharing your review through Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had a comfortable stay with us. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom this will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,039 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,058 reviews
10.7 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#7 of 777 in New Delhi
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
4,222 reviews
10.4 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
5.1 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#36 of 777 in New Delhi
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $125 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Hotel Maidens
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing