We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but rooms could do with a little renovation”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #11 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights at the start of our holiday. The public areas of the hotel are well maintained and have a colonial feel to them. The food was good and the staff friendly and courteous. Our room was large with a separate area for storing cloths and where the mini bar was located. I would say that it could have done with a little work as the decor did seem a little tired. Our room also had no window, but I don't know if this is true of all the rooms at the hotel. We had a wander outside, but there is very little within walking distance in the way of bars and restaurants, so we ate exclusively at the hotel. Prices, as you would expect, were expensive compared to eating out in Delhi, but still cheaper than you would expect to pay in England. The Red Fort is close by. Over all, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vigo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2008

Lovely old hotel with character and colonial feel in old section of Delhi. Large rooms. I ordered from the menu in both restaurants and found the food to be excellent.

Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
1  Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

The Maidens Hotel is a very pleasant colonial style hotel in Delhi. As other reviews have said, there is not much within walking distance but in a city as massive as Delhi it’s impossible to be central to everything. The location is fine and everything you could possibly want to see is a relatively short taxi ride away.

The hotel rooms are huge. They are well kept and well cleaned. Nothing too fancy but certainly above standard for India. There were no real windows in our hotel room but we never felt as if we were boxed in. The frosted windows to the hallway serve their purpose and there is plenty natural lighting and windows throughout the hotel.

We found the food in the hotel to be rather pricey but of above average quality. The hotel bar is small but a very nice place to relax and have a cold Kingfisher after a long day of sightseeing in the hectic city of Delhi (talk to the bartender “Richard”, he’s a fun guy). The morning breakfast was great. They have a nice mix of traditional English breakfasts and Indian cuisine plus endless cups of nice strong coffee. They also serve some great fresh squeezed watermelon juice.

From what I gathered, the entire hotel was filled with older (senior) British tourists. There was nothing wrong with this but you may feel more like you’re in England than India at some points while at this hotel. That said, there were a number of Indian functions taking place while we were there (weddings. parties, dinners, etc.) so it must be well liked by the upper class locals.

The hotel staff (more so the front desk) is a bit inept. They just seemed to be missing a beat but I’ve never been one to get overly agitated with hotel staffs. Be assertive when you need to and they will accommodate your requests. Just a heads up, they will have no recommendations for eating outside the hotel. Definitely make it a point to research some restaurants if you plan on eating out. Moti Mahal was a very good restaurant. Don’t let the surroundings scare you away.

Overall it’s a pleasant place. Don’t let negative reviews make you think this place is cockroach pit. The hotel is clean, the food is good and the staff is average.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VonCheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

The Maidens is a lovely old-fashioned hotel. The rooms are large and very clean. The breakfast that came along with the room was ample although not terribly exciting. The hotel staff was very helpful and the backyard of the hotel often has a wedding going on which is quite fun to watch. You cannot walk anywhere from the hotel but taxis are easy to get and there is a subway stop somewhere not too faw away.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank guilford104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

A colonial hotel, a little frayed at the edges, near old Delhi. Huge rooms (without a view, but light enough) and even more huge dressing area and bathroom. Needed a lick of paint, but for character, service and charm, was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judef66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Arrived late at night from UK - long transfer across Delhi to get to the hotel. The public areas are ok - but the rooms are very poor - no air conditioning - just a vent in the top of the ceiling. Our room smelt of damp and had cockroaches! Not a great welcome to India! Also most of the standard rooms have no windows - just a frosted window to the hallway.

We then had a series of hotel staff knocking at the door at 1am trying to show us round the room etc all wanting a tip! It is really annoying when all you want to do is shower, unpack and go to bed.

The breakfast room and food offering were below average and the staff were barely interested in helping.

We were really disappointed as we expected a smart colonial style hotel that would be clean and friendly. We were only in Delhi for 2 nights and out sightseeing during the days but dreaded returning to the hotel.

This really is nothing like the rest of the Oberoi hotels which are all amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

There's a lot to like about this hotel. We stayed in one of the suites (no smaller rooms were available), which was simply and attractively furnished and very spacious. There was a little noise from the road, but this is inevitable in Delhi.

The disappointments came with other features. Breakfast was notably poor - not enough seats in the small breakfast room, and the worst choice of food we had anywhere in India. The bar was also disappointing.

We visited some friends at the Imperial which seemed like a very impressive hotel all round, and I think we would stay there next time.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank McBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,905 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,961 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 715 in New Delhi
3,002 reviews
10.7 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 715 in New Delhi
372 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 715 in New Delhi
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $133 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Hotel Maidens
Maidens Hotels
Maidens Delhi
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing