We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Exceptional and The Extraordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #3 of 703 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Moradabad, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Exceptional and The Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Warm hospitality,friendly service and world-class fine cuisine,are some of many attributes of The Oberoi.They will pamper you with every worldly delight.
Getting to The Oberoi is easy but getting back from there is hard.Your search should end at The Oberoi.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Delhi Golf Club give peace to mind by exposing you to endless greens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dranuragbansall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    376
    78
    18
    11
See reviews for
243
473
129
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had the most fantastic 14 day tour of northern India. While terrific there are challenges. Thank you Oberoi for assisting one of our party and especially Assistant Manager Udhav. We too frequently chat about how good hotels are in terms of fixtures and F&B but the care extended to us was exceptional and for which we will be always grateful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BowyerOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the warm and caring service from Udhav.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I was fascinated by the unrivalled ambience of the hotel as soon as I drove in from the airport. I was visiting Delhi for the first time and had initially thought of going to stay in Halton, but the Nigerian High Commission had booked me and my colleagues into Oberoi. I personally had no regrets. The welcoming courtesies of the concierge and indeed the front desk were superlative, enough to serve as soothing balm for a jet lag and travel fatigue. The security is fantastic and left no room for assumptions. The room is well laid out for maximum comfort and relaxation. It's like a room away from one's own room back home, if not cossier. The housekeeping staff are prompt to requests and are always very happy to be of assistance. I will stay in Oberoi Delhi as many times as they are able to maintain their 5 star standard. It's surrounding atmosphere is serene enough for maximum relaxation and meditation. It is insulated from the hustle and bustle of Delhi. I recall my stay with so much nostalgia.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well laid and tastefully furnished. Everything needed in a room are available. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abayomi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the arrival experience, the concierge services and housekeeping team.
At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.


Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, location great for downtown and peripherals of New Delhi.
Safe, clean , efficient with a high standard of staff and service.Attentive but not intrusive.
Prices good for accommodation and facilities.
Restaurant for breakfast good, high choice of local and international foods.Bar in reception good for drinks and snacks.
Pool and spa looked nice , didn't use them on this trip.
Business centre and meeting rooms very good and efficient .
Rooms and decor a little dates and could do with a bit of refurb.
Wifi and technology good.
All in all to be recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 187069Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. We have also taken note of your comment regarding rooms and decor. We have spent a considerable amount of time and money continuously upgrading our rooms, the comfort of our guests being our sole focus.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Arriving in the late evening at New Delhi for our 2 weeks travel to North India, we were staying at this classic hotel.

For its age, this hotel is amazingly well maintained and upgraded the interior here and there with the latest design.

We were greeted with an Indian ceremony and they upgraded our room into suite. Since the construction is old, the suite has 2 standard rooms and convert one room into living and dining room, the bathroom is not as spacious but very clean and everything went very well. Cleanliness is great.

I must say about the hospitality and service. The staffs are very well trained and they are constantly good. Top notch.

One staff who was outstanding is Arjun at front office. He was extremely nice and helpful.

The food at the restaurant was really good. The breakfast has so many selections and my eggs benedict were always done perfectly. We were addicted to their waffles during breakfast and cant have enough of it. Excellent.

It was a great start to explore India.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suryo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the hotel food, the arrival experience and warm and caring service from Arjun at Front Office.
At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.


Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had two short stays in this hotel, at the beginning and end of a "Golden Triangle" tour. It was wonderful! The staff could not do enough for us, the food was terrific, we felt cared for and special. The rooms were excellent, with beautiful views over the treetops across Delhi; the pool was beautiful with great gym facilities. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed only for 2 nights, but loved the hospitality.
Good rooms, excellent staff, very centrally located, good food.
My daughter left her Apple headphones behind while checking out - housekeeping actually sent an email saying they have found it and would like to know how I wanted it back. Impressive!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mschats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel, team and services especially our housekeeping team. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are glad that you left with a positive impression of our product and services and we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly.

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 703 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#6 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#12 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#21 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing