We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another winner in the great OBEROI group”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“another winner in the great OBEROI group”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Four days at the oberoi in new delhi weren't nearly enough.
excellent hotel, service and value.
This hotel was our first on our 2 week journey in India—a wonderful introduction to this great countrly.
We'll be back!
Jacqueline and Barry Panter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
243
472
129
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is my favourite hotel now. Frequent visitors are still treated well and not routinely. Its service standards are really good and I hold them as the standard to measure hotels worldwide.
The rooms though not large are well furnished and very comfortable and practical.
The breakfast is one of the best and the table service to augment the buffet makes your day start very well.
Keep it up!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services, especially the room comfort and the wholesome breakfast buffet at threesixty.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,199 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a work meeting here on the top floor meeting room last week---including breaks, lunch and dinner at 360o restaurant that evening. The hotel is magnificent, and their service extends to the meeting rooms. All was well organized, efficient, and very helpful. The snacks/drinks were well done, good quality, nice diversity of choice, and well displayed. A great location for a business meeting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services especially the meeting room facilities and the variety of food and beverage served. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back..

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Regulars love it , new money finds it old glory only. One stay made me realise what this hotel is all about. It's Hospitality with a big H , no , what it should ought to be, No,what every hotel needs to do, NO not even this , then What? It's Oberoi Hospitality which is not in the face , and it's there. You have yo experience it only. Hotel has a central location in Delhi , near India Gate, President 's House, Old Fort , etc . Markets like Khan market, south ex , CP all are near. Bar is well stocked, 360 the restaurant has very good food. Gym excellent , business center beyond expectation and the indoor warm pool was just enough to relax you with Delhi temperature's dipping to 4 degrees . New rooms are very good, though the old ones a bit disappointing . If you want night life it's not here. This place is quiet and upmarket type, not young and bustling. Over all brickes and mortar apart this place is about the staff... They indulge you, but don't show it, they make u feel comfortable as home yet don't let you feel as if you are not in a 5 Star. They are courteous yet professional. That's the beauty of this place.

Room Tip: New decor ones, avoid old floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team. and services. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back..

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Oberoi New Delhi for three nights in January. It was our first visit to India and The Oberoi was the perfect start to our trip.

We spent the first two nights in a Premier Room and we got a surprise upgrade to the Presidential Suite for the last night of our stay.

The hotel itself is located in a quiet area of New Delhi that's within a 10-minute drive of all the major tourist sights. The hotel is right next to a golf course, so the rooms have views with lots of greenery. It's blissfully quiet at night with no traffic noise.

The hotel has several good restaurants on-site. We had a delicious dim sum lunch at the Chinese restaurant on the top floor. The pasta at the Italian restaurant on-site was some of the best we tasted on our 2-week trip. And the hotel also offers guests an expansive breakfast buffet with both Western and Indian food options, including eggs to order.

The service is really what set the Oberoi apart. Everywhere we went, hotel staff greeted us by name and asked how they could assist us.

What was truly special is that in addition to being attentive and expedient, the staff were genuinely friendly. For example, one of the servers at breakfast took it upon himself to bring us a different Indian dish each morning that he'd enjoyed eating as a boy. [All complimentary, of course] He told us stories about how the dish was made and what region it was popular in to help us appreciate what we were eating.

Overall, we were blown away by the service at The Oberoi and really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The Premiere Room was spacious and comfortable. The Presidential Suite was absolutely enormous! Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel's loctaion, comfortable rooms, the food and service at our all day dining restaurant threesixty degrees, Italian restaurant Travertino and Taipan, our roof top chinese restaurant. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Granted our expectations were set too high as our travel agent booked us into the wrong Oberoi - we were expecting to stay at the Oberoi in Gurgaon which i understand is significantly better than this. The rooms here are fairly average, especially for a supposedly top-quality 5-star hotel, and an Oberoi at that. Dated and faded, and the bathrooms were actually not good - i preferred to shower in the spa instead. The lobby is also dated and faded, and the outdoor pool is rather soulless and unimpressive. On the plus-side, the service is absolutely top-quality and just what you would expect of a hotel of this repute. The concierge was of the highest international standards, and the overall customer service was quite excellent. The spa is small but very slick, and the indoor pool is pretty cool (although too small to be of any real use, especially if you want to swim and are not alone). The 360 restaurant was also very sleek and very good. Breakfast was superb - loads of choice and very high-quality food.

Overall this hotel is let down by the rooms which as stated above are dated and even a little dusty. Could do better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

I am glad that you found the concierge service of the highest international standards, and the overall customer service excellent. I have also noted your compliments for the threesixty degree restaurant and the health and wellness facilities. With regards to your comment regarding the outdoor pool, we have a nice, heated outdoor lap pool and the one which you are referring to is actually just a water feature.

With regards to the room, I regret that it did not meet your expectations. While all our rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable, we also have a small inventory of more contemporary styled rooms and I will be happy to personally show them to you on your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights during official meeting. It was an wonderful experience to stay here from both technical and tourism aspects. Room was excellently decorated and two times room service with various fruits, juice, cookies and other amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and service.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back..

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#7 of 716 in New Delhi
2,745 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,697 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing