We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oberoi is a class apart..”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Ajmer, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“oberoi is a class apart..”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in oberoi, delhi in september 2013..it was indeed a pleasure for 2 nights and 3 days..staff is very cooperative and whatever the minute problems in the room, was quickly sorted out. Bychance, i reached there a few hours earlier than my actual booking time, done by my company, but they made me comfortable and gave me the room as early they could. The restaurent, gym , pool were good enough..room was decent..One thing i say that bathroom should be more spacious, as it was not, but cleanliness was good..the view from the room was quite ordinary..overall a must stay if coming to delhi..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
243
472
129
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very nice quality rooms, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom could be a bit larger, but perfectly sufficient. Good quality toiletries provided and a menu of pillow choices you can order. Room Service is extremely fast and provided by the most courteous of staff. Everyone staff member I've encountered has a smile on their face and truly makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the in room dining service.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed 5 times since April 2013 till September raging from 1 to 3 days. Pickup at airport starts with great courtesy and comfort of wet napkin and cool water and information as you travel of places on the way and time to reach the hotel. Arrival is nothing great except for some candy. Check-in is efficient and accompanied by staff that you do not expect to pay tips. Tips policy is spelt out well. Rooms are well equipped with excellent view of Delhi public school ? ,and at distance Baha'i temple on a clear day. 360 restaurant is excellent for people like me who choose veg. Of course non veg must be great by the crowds expression. Majority of staff are under 25? Looks like and they recognize you and your tastes on second visit. One such boy is Aditya. Fruit platter in room is copourful. Not so great is the problem that there is no walking path. Gym is the only option. Overall you will love the simple style and old carpets in lobby. There are alarm clocks given which invariably had dead batteries. They also could not provide oberoi advantage card. Always out of stock and the staff is never there when you are likely to be in the hotel. Never understood why. Few negatives but many positives.

Room Tip: I stayed in several rooms. All were great. Chose with the view I mentioned. That will be good as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

I have also taken note of your comment on the alarm clocks and the Oberoi Advantage card. We regret the inconvenience. Your feedback has been taken up with the respective department heads and the same has been addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was very disappointed with this Oberoi hotel in many aspects.
When I first booked, 4 months in advance, they asked for my check-in time, and when I said 7.30 AM, they responded that they would gladly have the room ready so that we could check-in immediately, in order to rest from our long plane trip. One week before our arrival, as soon as our cancellation date had expired, they wrote us saying that they had just noticed that we were arriving early so we would have to pay for an extra day, giving us no choice to book elsewhere.
Another thing that was upsetting was that they couldn’t give us 2 hours for a late check-out as they were allegedly fully book, although the place seemed quite empty.
The hotel looks nice and the photos of the room I’m posting look great, as one cannot smell in photos; but there was this awful smell of mildew everywhere especially in the halls and our room. When I complained about it, they said they were aware of the problem, and explained that it was due to the past rainy season and they were trying to solve the problem. I guess they tried by burning incense that penetrated our nostrils and made our eyes teary.(They have the monsoon season every year, mind you).
The restaurant was very good and we ate some excellent curry.
If I happen to return to Delhi some day, I’ll stay at the Leela Palace Hotel, where some Mexican acquaintances, who also arrived early, said they didn’t need to pay extra, and that the hotel was new, smelled of fresh air and had great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. At the onset I will like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the late intimation of the charges for an early arrival, I must confess I am a bit confused as the room was indeed offered to you for an early check in at no extra charge. I have copies of your invoice that I shall be happy to scan and email to you. With regards to the musty smell, we do have an exhaustive dehumidification programme and facilities; however it seems that your stay was adversely affected on that particular day. We sincerely regret the inconvenience.

I do hope you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Kind regards
Jay Rathore
VP & General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel service is excellent. The staff cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable.

My room was upgraded to an executive suite. The room had a magnificent view of the golf course and was huge. The bed was really comfy. Butler service was available and she was amazing. She noticed I used more hair conditioner than shampoo so there was extra conditioner in my room. Additional electrical outlets were added when she noticed that I had too many electrical devices that needed charging.

The chef in the restaurant also went above and beyond. When I showed an interest in the Indian breakfast, the chef offered to prepare a southern Indian breakfast one day and a Northern Indian breakfast the following day.

The hotel package I had included airport transfers. The hotel had clearly google imaged me since as I exited the airport, the coordinator called me by name. The driver was one of the most knowledgable drivers that I have had and could easily be a tour guide. The cars varied from an Audi to a BMW to a Mercedes despite my paying for an Indigo.

Staying at Oberoi Delhi was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the butler service, the chefs in the restaurant and the team at the airport

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Beautiful property but what sets it apart is the staff. We popped in just for a drink after taking the shuttle from the Indian Handicraft Fair. I have to confess we were not even staying at the hotel but I felt compelled to write this review because of the kindness of the staff in the bar and how they went way above and beyond.

Upon sitting down in the bar, I realized that I left my phone at the Fair. Panic set in and the wait staff saw it on my face. There is no wifi in the lobby except for hotel guests so the maitre d' offered me his own personal phone to try and call the vendor at the Fair. Thanks to his generosity all my fears of losing my phone disappeared and I made contact with the vendor and made arrangements to pick up the phone the following morning.

Now with that mini crisis over, we had a cocktail or two. Since this was our first day in Delhi, we asked for dining and shopping tips from the wait staff. Well instead of just suggesting we go ask the Concierge, they pulled out the Delhi map and made a list for us. If that wasnt enough they then brought us a taste treat from the restaurant along with the cocktails of our choice (one of the best gimlets Ive ever had in a very elegant martini glass and my friend had a wonderful ginger ale made with fresh ginger).

Finally we decided that it was time to go and when we asked for the bill, they said it was complements of the house. After trying to insist that we pay, they said that the manager wanted to treat us because of my stressful experience losing the phone. Now let me remind you I lost my own phone and created the stressful situation - they did not. And remember we were not even guests of the hotel and they knew that. If this is how they treat guests in the bar, I can only imagine the hoops they will jump through for guest of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our team at the bar.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

From the moment I was greeted at the airport by their delightful staff until I was dropped off to head home my experience with the Oberoi staff, accommodations and service was top-notch. My room was well appointed, quite large and the black out curtains and quiet were perfect to combat my jet lag. The staff were friendly, professional and were always a step ahead of me from wrapping my stray computer cords with velcro to putting my business cards in a simple plastic case vs. the ziplock baggie that I brought them in.

Overall the food was outstanding and I was totally shocked getting a great pasta dish outside of Italy or NYC in their restaurant 360 right there in New Delhi!

The pool and fitness center were terrific but unfortunately I did not make it to the spa which was open 24 hours.

The neighborhood was not a place I would head out on my own for a stroll but, the grounds were large with the connecting Trident hotel so I felt like I could get a breath of incense filled air and not feel caged in.

I look forward to visiting other Oberoi properties!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our sister hotel, The Oberoi Gurgaon. We are glad that you felt pampered.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi group and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#7 of 716 in New Delhi
2,745 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,697 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing