We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but has a bit of a damp problem” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but has a bit of a damp problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our Golden Triangle tour. Initially we were impressed with the lovely decor and very attentive service, and at the beginning of our stay the swimming pool and gardens beside it were open and really beautiful. Unfortunately we found our rooms to have a strong smell of damp, and even after having a dehumidifier installed they did not really improve and even our sheets felt slightly wet which was unpleasant. We moved rooms but the problem seemed even worse in the new rooms we were given (on the 6th floor). The hotel staff were extremely apologetic and did what they could to help us, explaining that the monsoon rain was the cause of the problem, but I think that they may need to strip out the carpets in the rooms and corridors to really address the root of the problem. Also we were disappointed to find the pool and gardens closed for maintenance when we returned to the hotel at the end of our trip (and will be closed until 27 August).

On a more positive note, the breakfast buffet was fantastic, and we also had a lovely lunch in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services. We are glad that you enjoyed the location, food and beverage at the restaurant and the health and wellness facilities.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding the guest room and pool closure. We do have an exhaustive dehumidification programme and facilities; however it seems that your stay was adversely affected on that particular day.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
242
473
129
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been staying here for the last many years whenever I visit Delhi and my last stay was a few days back. Like all oberoi hotels the hospitality here is always at its best. I always feel like at home here and everone make all efforts to deliver the very best. There has never been a problem even of a minor nature but its high time get the rooms renovated. Very highly recommended and I am of course coming here very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding the guest room. I apologize for any inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My return visit to the Oberoi was as wonderful as the first time. Staff are extremely attentive, rooms are nice, food is great. I really appreciate that the hotel discourages tips for individual service and asks for a bundled tip at the end to be shared among staff, along with the names of people who made special efforts. As an example of the kind of service you get at the Oberoi, I mentioned to one of the staff members that I had seen someone with an International Herald Tribune. He said you could order them the night before, but he would try to find me one. 20 minutes later he found me in the restaurant and proudly delivered me my morning paper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenFoodiesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Golf club facing rooms were very quiet. Airport transfer was very smooth. Used the dining room for breakfast twice in a row, staff were very efficient and generally friendly.

For those eating the buffet breakfast - ask for the menu. They won't give it to you unless you specifically ask for it.

The GM was somewhat visible, saw him around the property a couple of times.

Wifi prices are unnecessarily high, had 3G via cell phone, so did not need to use it. You would think they could build wifi into their room charge.

The property is very well located.

Room Tip: Golf Club facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinationSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our hotel, team and services; especially the threesixty degrees team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding offering the menu for breakfast and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. i have shared your feedback with the team and will ensure that we are more careful in future.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castagnito (cn)
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've been there once, the lobby and restaurant are very nice, the food offer and service is ok. The room is a little old and the air conditioning is not very good in keeping the umidity down. Good check in-out speed and staff kindness.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank giulong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding the guest room. I apologize for any inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the New Delhi Oberoi for 3 nights in July. Rooms are comfortable and well furnished. They only provide 30 min of free wifi everyday though. Mentioned that to them in their feedback request and was told that the infrastructure costs are high. Found that hard to believe.
Butler service was definitely very helpful. We visited the restaurant 360 for the included buffet breakfast which was extensive.
The best part of the stay was the service. Staff are extremely helpful and the travel concierge Mona was very resourceful. Hotel is centrally located and is close to Delhi gate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stilrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our hotel, team and services; especially for Mona, our Luxury Manager. The hotel as rightly pointed out by you is centrally located close to the shopping area and places of historic significance

I have also taken note of your comment on internet. We do have internet inclusive room packages and I will be happy to book you on the same if your travel brings you back into Delhi.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed on 2 seperate occasions when I recently visited Delhi and have to say how helpful and courteous all the staff were.
The hotel itself is in a very good central location just a stones throw from Kahn Market and a short drive from most of the main attractions like the Red Fort, India Gate and Connaught Place.
I would advise using one of the hotels yellow and black taxis and get them to wait as is cheaper and safer than trying to get other taxis.
The hotel rooms were fine with all the usual add-ons you would expect. The hotel pools were lovely and hardly used. I would also give the Chinese restaurant on the top floor a try as the view is worth it alone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf course side as you get a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our hotel, team and services especially the restaurant and the health and wellness facilities. The hotel as rightly pointed out by you, overlooks the golf course and is close to the shopping district and places of historic significance.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing