We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Business Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #3 of 695 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a blast from the past in colonial terms. The public areas have been refurbished and offer both beatiful modern decor and a step back in time to the colonial yesteryaer of style and elegance.
The staff as ever at an Oberoi are faultless and the food and service was just as good. If you are there on a Wednesday evening go to the wine tasting which is excellent value and very informative.

The roomms may need a little TLC and the bathroom was very small for the size of the suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PWF1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the facilities. The wine tasting session, which is conducted by the sommelier every wednesday and friday is a big hit with not only the hotel guests but also with the locals. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and encouragement

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    376
    78
    18
    11
See reviews for
243
473
129
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We did an Oberoi tour of northern India, so we were given an upgraid in this hotel, the suite was amazing with a view over the golf course.
The service was excellent, the food very good, and the deli too, had a very good selection of snacks and naughty treats.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here with my family earlier this month. The hotel offered wonderful hospitality. The Beatles also arrived here for a brief stay early during the morning on July 6, 1966, primarily for George Harrison to buy a sitar. We stayed on the 4th floor, a few doors down from Room 438, the suite where The Beatles stayed. I wonder if they also enjoyed their stay as much as we did.

The hotel is located centrally so that travel to and most places in Delhi is convenient. There's a well appointed gym which my wife and I used, and indoor and outdoor lap pools. The gym provides water and towels. Breakfast is in a nice restaurant called Threesixty which as an informal cafe during the day, serving a variety of cuisines. I recommend the high tea served in the restaurant in the afternoon. A single order of high tea, which consists of sweet and savory snacks, should suffice for a group of four with supplementary orders of coffee and tea. The service is excellent and hospitable with warm touches.

The hotel has obviously gone out of its way to train its staff in superior hospitality. There are touches of it everywhere. For instance, the laundry service is just that much more attentive, the maitre d at the restaurants is just that much more pleasant, and the turbaned doorman, of the type the Beatles also observed, is just that much more welcoming.

Besides, I loved the fragrance the hotel was infused with.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank My2CentsAndMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools, the breakfast and the high tea. The high tea as rightly pointed by you is very popular with our guests.

I am also glad that the team made you feel pampered. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

The hotel has been home away from home to celebrities and newsmakers since the mid 60"s and we are glad that you too enjoyed the "Oberoi Touch"

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Oberoi.. From the name itself i had in my mind that i will be getting something good at this. Apart from staying Marriott, Hyaatt, Leela etc. This was my first stay in Oberoi. Smooth Check-in Procedure with VERY Helpful Staff and good sized lobbies. They are well caraparted and they smell heaven. The rooms are of decent size and the buuffet breakfast makes you go Ummmmmm...! Same as marriott Hotels but in this you get a pich on indian tradition! so that makes your stay worth the price!

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms on the floor and enjoy the beauty of the Capital!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurangsehgal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding our hotel and services. We are glad that we could meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back

The Team at The Oberoi, New Delhi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my first hotel experience in India. I must say it was one of the best of a lot of great hotels we stayed in.
The weather in February was chilly and so I was not able to take advantage of some of the outdoor amenities the hotel has to offer, but inside was wonderful. Starting with tight security on arrival the staff was wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable and very well decorated.
Dining was in a first class, modern and lovely restaurant 360 in the hotel. There are others available but we loved 360.
I can't tell you how impressed I was with the staff. They really made us feel special. The Hotel IT guy arranged for a prepaid SIM card for our iPad that worked well throughout India. A charming and beautiful staff.
I can't think of a better introduction to India and it's best natural resource... it's people!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel and services. We are glad that you enjoyed the outdoor facility, restaurants and the room and our staff exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back

The team at The Oberoi, New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The building itself is somewhat old but the interior has been refurbished to a reasonable standard. It has a lovely Outside pool. Not as good as some of the other Oberoi hotels I have stayed in but still of a good standard. We were there for three days. it is a bit limited in restaurants and we went to some other hotels for variety. Easy enough together taxi to and from those. Delhi was a very nice city. We had an organised tour every day which was really good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool..at the back of the hotel. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback . I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities especially the outside pool.

In regards to your comment regarding limited dining options, we at the hotel have a fine dining Italian, Chinese and an All day dining restaurant serving sushi, yakitori, thai, western and Indian. Apart from these three restaurants we also have The Oberoi Patisserie and Delicatessen serving hourly bakes, pastries and chocolates. I regret that you were not properly briefed regarding the dining options

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was very impressed by the Oberoi New Delhi. The grounds were perfectly kept, staff was very friendly and the food was excellent. Only complaint was the hotel arranged for a car service from the airport which ended up being extremely overpriced. Consider alternatives for transportation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brock F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments regarding our hotel and services. We are glad that you enjoyed the food in our restaurants.

With regards to your comment regarding the airport pickup being expensive; I wish to inform you that we do have room rates which are inclusive of airport pickups. Please feel free to contact me directly should your plans bring you to Delhi, I shall ensure that we quote you the best room rate. I can be reached at reuben.kataria@oberoihotels.com.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 695 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 695 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 695 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#6 of 695 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 695 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#22 of 695 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing