We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and an amazing upgrade”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and an amazing upgrade”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

End of our trip in India and had already stayed at the Hyatt and Oberoi Agra (reviews already posted). Had read all the positive reviews so was looking forward to this property. It did not disappoint.

Check-in was quick and efficient and were told that we had received a nice upgrade to a suite. I am sometimes dubious about upgrades (don't get me wrong, I love them) but this time it did not disappoint. We were escorted to room 650 which was right at the end of the corridor. Proudly in brass at the door were the words "The Kipling Suite" and sweet it was!

This is a very large room and from what I understand, one of their largest. To the left of the entry hall is the lounge room and dining room (seats six) where we were welcomed by our butler with iced tea and a bottle of wine. Just off the dining room is a kitchenette which honestly seems to be a bit of a waste.

There were two complete bathrooms with the master having a spa and beutifully tiled in marble or granite. The main bedroom had a grand four poster bed and a large dressing area. I liked the fact that the TV in the main bedroom could spin depending on which side of the room you were on.

As the room is at the end of the hotel you have views from both sides which is terrific.

Air conditioning worked well and there was great water pressure in the shower. It has a curtain rather than glass doors which is a bit of a shame but really a small quibble.

We had dinner at the Chinese restaurant and I have to say that at the beginning the service was lacklustre. We were not met with a smile and felt ignored for a while. Thankfully this picked up with one of our waiters (who was a delight) and also the Assistant F&B Manager. It was a wonderful touch that they specially made the deep fried ice cream for dessert (not very traditional but delicious) even when they had run out. And at their suggestion we finished our wine and dessert on the terrace which was great.

The Assistant F&B manager also indicated that he would arrange a lovely Indian breakfast the next morning and he did not let us down. What a treat to receive this added attention.

The only issue we had was that my partner had organised a birthday cake for me and he had an incredible battle getting it delivered. This should not have happened and was a real let down. It was delivered during breakfast which was less than ideal.

On the up side they ended up not charging us for the car to the airport which was a nice treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

I am delighted to note that we have met your expectations during your stay with us. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

I have also taken note of your comments about the arrival experience at Taipan, and the inconvenience you had to face for the birthday cake. I would like to apologize for the same.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
242
474
129
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived at the hotel around 7.30 am and they very kindly allowed us into our room immediately even though check in time was 2pm, They also gave us breakfast. This type of treatment gives a very good impression of Oberoi hotels and this one in particular bearing in mind we were only due to stay one night. Our room was excellent. We had a superb meal in the Chinese restaurant in the evening , where they had very chatty and attentive staff. Clearly this is primarily a business hotel, but we were more than happy with every aspect - service was immaculate. .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our hotel and services, especially at our speciality chinese restaurant, Taipan.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi, New Delhi

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A bit pricey but then all 5 star hotels in India are expensive. restaurants and food is very good. Service excellent specially for western tourists. A bit old compared to the newer hotels but has the colonial charm to it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVAhluwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments regarding our hotel and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back

The team at The Oberoi, New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The New Delhi Oberoi exceeded our expections. We had booked an executive suite and the rooms were amazing, beautiful antique furnishings and lovely art work on the walls .
The staff were truly the most attentive and polite ! Nothing was to much trouble for them.
It took us a day to relize the pool you look at from the lobby is the old one and not in use , the new outdoor pool and an indoor pool are at the back of the spa .
The breakfasts were delicious and late one afternoon we had drinks at 360 with bar snacks, their I version of street food, All was very nice.

Unfortunately there was a mixup with our booking on the last night of our tour of India , when we returned to the Oberoi for just one night . Instead of the executive suite we had paid our agent for the hotel had us booked into a premier room. The premier rooms are for the working person and in my opinion ar not suitable for the tourist. If you can upgrade to an executive suite, it is well worth it. ,

Room Tip: The higher level gives a good view of Delhi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our Executive suite, our restaurants, spa and the team. Your feedback is valuable and encourage us to do better.

I also apologize for not being able to upgrade you to the executive suite on your return visit as the hotel was fully booked.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

warm regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our five-city tour of India, staying in Oberoi hotels throughout. The food in the 360 Restaurant is very good, with the best breakfast buffet choices we saw in any of the five hotels we stayed in. Mona was extremely helpful and friendly and gave us a very useful information sheet on things to see in her home town of Udaipur which we were to visit in a few days’ time. It was a pleasure to see her again on the morning of our departure two weeks later. We used the indoor swimming pool, which is more of an exercise pool (long and thin) with nowhere to sit after your swim. But the outdoor pool is large with loungers freely available. We were given a beautiful duplex suite on our last night, but unfortunately our stay was too brief to really enjoy it.

As I have written on my reviews of all the Oberoi hotels - my only criticism is why they have to charge for wi-fi – it’s only £9.00 per day, but it’s still annoying when you’ve paid quite a lot for the room in the first place. Or if a charge has to be made, there should be a cheaper package for guests staying for two weeks in different Oberoi hotels? But isn’t it time ALL hotels stopped charging extra?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review and recognizing Mona, our Luxury Manager. We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities and Mona was able to assist you with your onward journey to Udaipur.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding Internet. We do understand that although it is a small amount, it is very annoying. Unfortunately the infrastructure costs involved with providing the services is very high, hence the nominal charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antionio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were treated like royalty at this beautiful property by Ms. Mona Pancholi Singh, the Assistant Manager. Though our stay was very brief she made every effort possible to make the visit exceptional.

Ms. Singh created a truly Luxury Experience and we can not thank her enough.Though some may think of this as a business property, thanks to her our anniversary was truly special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inlovewithafrica_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous comments. We are glad that Mona exceeded your expectations and you had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi New Delhi

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel stands out with the excellence of the staff. Friendly, interesting and interested people who work hard to make a difference and without exception provide an outstanding service.
The restaurants provide a good variety of food from around the world and the chefs are very happy to show off their expertise, especially with Indian food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_Rafferty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments for our team, especially the chefs. Your feedback will be an inspiration for us to do better.

We look forward to welcoming you back

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,637 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing