We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full Service Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Full Service Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Oberoi for 5 nights at the beginning and end of our Easy Tours of India trip. The staff knew our names the first day and treated us like royalty. The rooms are very comfortable with all the amenities. At one point while we were out touring a leak developed in a room above us-they called to ask permission to move our things and gave us a suite for our inconvenience. Three staff members escorted us to our room to make sure everything was as it should be. The restaurant (360) is excellent. The breakfast brunch is fresh, delicious (try the yogurt) and plentiful. At the pool they bring you towels, set up your chair and then provide you with frozen grapes and water. If you need a respite from the busyness of Delhi I would highly recommend the Oberoi.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have more of a view and are considered luxury vs. deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RITA E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging review. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

I would also like to apologize for the inconvenience you had to face in the room.

My team and I very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, New Delhi once again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
242
473
129
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

After arriving at Delhi airport, driving through rush hour,this haven appears up a long drive, edged with manicured edges and trees. There before you a beautifully designed modern building. Stepping into the foyer you are greeted with a smile with bowl of roses and a light above it. The foyer itself stark white marble and a beautiful bright red ball of carnations. Stunning. The staff were the best I have ever struck. So polite, obliging and obviously took pride in their tasks. Our room, enormous. Like a small flat, the bathroom was superb, spacious double hand basins. The outlook was over the reflection pool, bright blue, which reflect the silver and glass building that contained the restaurants and the foyer on the 5th floor. At the other end was a similar building that also reflected. Breakfast next morning, fruit I had never seen, dragon fruit and rambutan - try them, everything presented superbly. All in all everything anyone could wish for in a Hotel, gym, swimming and spa. Good food, very good service. .

Room Tip: Looking over the reflection pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel at The Oberoi Gurgaon. We are glad that you left with a positive impression of the product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having come from an hotel in Mumbai with a view of the slums from the bedroom window, this was like going into another world. New Delhi was a world away from Mumbai as far as cleanliness and roads and traffic. This is definately how the other half live and we just lapped it up! The service was out of this world, the decor was modern and fantastic, the food was exceptional and the security - a guard on every floor - perfect.
Nothing was too much trouble - although selecting a pillow from the choice of seven was a brain strain!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EeahPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel. We are glad that you left with a positive impression of our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is really expensive. It is nice, but probably not nice enough to merit the cost. And the extras are a real rip-off - 10 dollars for a beer, 25 dollars a day for internet.... Wifi should be free in this day and age. The Indian food is fantastic though.

Room Tip: Don't face the street - it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our Indian food, we’re glad you enjoyed it.

We have taken note of your comment on beer and Internet pricing. I regret you found them expensive. Taxes in India are excessive on all alcoholic beverages, therefore, prices tend to be higher than other countries. However, we have a range of beers where you will find varied pricing. With regards to the internet, we’ve confirmed with other luxury properties in the city and our pricing is in line with them. However, we do have room rates which are inclusive of internet. Please feel free to contact me directly should your plans bring you to Delhi, I shall ensure that we quote you the best internet inclusive room rate. I can be reached at jay.rathore@oberoihotels.com.

Warm regards

Jay Rathore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Welcome to India, being our first trip to this amazing country. I think we where in for a treat.
The Oberoi New Delhi was a great first stop in our tour of in India staying in all the Oberoi group of Hotels. The beautiful greeting we received was perfect. The concierge she was so lovely and helpful and interested in your journey in India. Our room was amazing a suite with plenty of room. over looking the golf course and yes there is a golf course next to the hotel. Breakfast was perfect to with great choice friendly staff. We also had dinner in the restaurant too that was wonderful too. I think the staff make your stay enjoyable. So if this was the beginning I am looking forward to our next stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

I am delighted to note that we have met your expectations during your stay with us. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Team, The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel - the staff, the location, the service, the food, the attention to individual preference...the hotel staff were generous, thoughtful, they surprised and delighted. We woudl go back in a heart beat.

If you've ever dreamed of five star luxury in India, if you love indian food, if you like being pampered, if you like being taken care of you've simply got save up and go here!

Room Tip: we had the fortune of being upgraded to the 3rd largest suite with dual aspect...totally recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t-cuddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your kind words of praise.

We are delighted to note that we have met your expectations. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
The Team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

On 27 October 2012 on a business trip to Delhi combined with the F1 India Grand Prix. The Oberoi is all about exceptional customer service with a smile. The Rooms are classic and very clean, the bed very comfortable room 510 on the 5th floor overlooked the Pool and golf course. Within minutes of arriving a knock at the door and a Butler arrived with drinks and a wish to serve my every need at any hour. Great buffet breakfasts, beautiful spa and a very comfortable lounge bar.

Room Tip: 5th floor good quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel rooms, the breakfast spread, spa facilities and the lounge.

We are glad that you left with a positive impression of our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing