We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Oberoi !”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at The Oberio in Mumbai & Kolkata in the past, so when I was meant to stay at the Oberio in New Delhi, obviously expectation went soring high and didn’t exactly live up to the same.

The Oberio in Delhi is a very old property and in some places it comes evidently in its ambiance and décor. The service however, is up to the mark and at par with the best in the industry. I would also like to comment that the spa at the Oberio Delhi is quite interesting close to a open pool, one can enjoy a good steam and shower there.

The food is nice, I tried the buffet and was quite satisfied with the offerings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid-Nyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for your kind words of praise for hotel and services

I have taken careful note of your comment on the rooms. I apologize for the incovenience. We have a small inventory of rooms which have been renovated and I would be pleased to offer you the same in your next visit.

We will do our best to delight you, should you give us the opportunity in future.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I visited the Oberoi in October 2012. I've traveled around the world. This was, by far, the best hotel stay I've experienced. They have mastered the meaning of customer service. From the perfectly-scented interiors (signature jasmine scent) to unparalleled care, I was in love. The rooms are gorgeous and perfectly kept. The hotel is immaculate. The food is "to die for." The hands on service should be shared with other luxury hotels throughout the world. Bravo Oberoi. You give me another reason to return India.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the trees and pool are best. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Be sure to pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traypeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

I am delighted to note that we have met your expectations during your stay with us. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

On Oct 19, I checked in at The Oberoi, New Delhi around 10:30am. I was warmly received at the main door, whisked away to Room 542, where the check in formalities were completed. No hassles about waiting in the lobby with the excuse, " your room is not ready....check in from 2pm etc,etc " ! The room was spacious, immaculately clean and facing the golf course. Bathroom was very clean and of good size. A continental breakfast was served immediately ( on the house ) with a smile. What touched me most was the prayer rug & Islamic compass (Qibla indicator) on the table. I have stayed in many hotels in my four+ decades business trips all over the world, but have never experienced this kind of thoughtful & warm gesture !
Buffet breakfast was lavish. The bar was comfortable & well stocked but the prices were very high ! Dinner at the Chinese restaurant was satisfactory....the taste too indianised ( spicy & oily ) for me !
For me : Always Oberoi Hotels in India.

Room Tip: Top floors facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SyedDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the appreciative comments about our team and our hotel. We are glad to note that you have left with a positive impression of our product and services.

I have also taken careful note of your comment regarding the mini bar pricing and the food at Taipan not exceeding your expectations. I assure you that our pricing is at par with the other hotels in our competition set. With regards to your meal at Taipan, I have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef and will ensure that we work on the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently stayed here for one night on business and had a fantastic experience. I arrived into DEL very early in the morning and there was the hotel driver waiting to greet me, right on time out front. There was also an Oberoi staff member there at the Airport to check that all was okay before sending me on my way with the driver. The car was very clean and the driver was appropriately talkative as needed.
What first surprised me was the fact that at six in the morning they had a room cleaned and ready for me. The front desk staff escorting me to my room and handling the entire check-in process there at the time.
The rest of my day consisted of working out in the fitness center, eating the buffet breakfast and generally relaxing before my next day trip to Agra and a full week of work ahead.
Overall I really have no complaints, the service was very good the property is nice and clean. And the rooms while dated in their style (In my opinion) were well maintained and not worn at all.
One final note on the exceptional guest service. I left some shirts in the closet and the staff contacted me and had my shirts personally delivered to my next hotel the same day, which made for a successful first impression on Monday morning. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

I am delighted to note that we have met your expectations during your stay with us. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Team, The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here on business. Excellent hotel in all respects, especially for business facilities, etc. One of the top Delhi hotels, you can't go wrong. Usual exceptional levels of service one is accustomed to with Indian hotels. I've also stayed at the Leela Delhi and The Imperial Delhi. There is very little that sets apart these 3 hotels, service, amenities, infrastructure etc is top notch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R-man7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you found our hotel and services to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent hotel in central Delhi. The service at the Oberoi was exceptional, with the staff continuously trying to be attentive and anticipate our needs. The location in central Delhi is perfect. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you found our hotel rooms crisp and comfortable and the staff reliable, efficient and courteous.

We look forward to welcoming you back

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel since 1998 for a reason - staff are always reliably courteous, rooms are crisp and comfortable, and restaurant and bar just what is required after a long flight or a working day in Delhi.
Oberoi staff - five star across the board.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you found our hotel and services to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 728 in New Delhi
2,964 reviews
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 728 in New Delhi
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 728 in New Delhi
2,943 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 728 in New Delhi
2,143 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $271 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oberoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked amongst the best city hotels in Asia by the readers of Travel + Leisure, USA in 2011, The Oberoi, New Delhi is an iconic luxury 5 star hotel located in the heart of India's cosmopolitan capital. The interiors of the hotel have been designed in a contemporary interpretation of Sir Edwin Lutyens New Delhi architecture. The Oberoi New Delhi is situated close to the business and shopping districts of the city and is just a 30 minute drive from the airport Equipped with new, clean air technology, the hotel promises its guests the cleanest air in the city at par with global standards. All rooms and suites feature large picture windows which frame unmatched views of the Delhi Golf Course on one side and the historical Humayun's Tomb on the other.Business Centre, Butler service and in room dining will be available 24 hours a day, apart from an array of restaurant options. Wellness facilities include temperature controlled indoor and outdoor swimming pools,The Oberoi Spa and a 24 h ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing