We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmmmm”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hmmmm”
Reviewed October 8, 2007

It may have been because the President of the Phillipinnes was staying at the hotel but i did experience problems; safe didnt work, lights kept being switched on and off and no explanation until i complained (electrician repairing fault by messing around with fusebox) emergency exit opened mistakenly, setting alarm off which resulted in security men shouting outside my room, aIrline rang hotel to confirm flight; left messages on voicemail and with reception, neither me or my colleagues got a single message!!!
And finally, my room overlooked pool but the Filippino entourage hung out there to smoke late at night and crack of dawn talking very very loudly!
On the positive;large bedroom, extemely comfortable bed, quiet effective air con. Excellent food and cocktails in 360 restaurant bar. Good value and high standard hotel car.(Better than rip off ITC Sheraton)
Lobby area soulless, wouldnt recommend for single traveller

  • Liked — room size, bed
  • Disliked — service, slow lifts, small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSpade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
242
474
129
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenleigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Had opportunity to stay at this very nice hotel on 3 seperate occasions in the space of 2 weeks and always found it to be a real haven in the bustle of Delhi. Location is great but get a room on the golf course side to avoid road noise (car horns). Rooms lovely, cool and well appointed. We were holidaying and not there on business and made good use of the pool, cafe, restaurants - especially Threesixty which has great contemporary food and ambience, and the designer shops. The staff were very helpful with all our arrangements. The location is great, close to Khan Market which is a great shopping area. Hotel organised a taxi for us so we didn't need to use hotel car and three hours cost around 300Rs! Nice to have the taxi waiting for you and willing to take you anywhere. Really liked this hotel and would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, restaurants.
  • Disliked — Can get busy in foyer if large delegation arriving/leaving.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelswithfirstborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

This hotel has none of the boutique feel of the Oberoi chain's other properties, and is very much a business hotel, with a lobby that is permanently full of suited Australians to drive home the point. However, as business hotels go, this is one of the better ones I have stayed in. The rooms themselves are indistinguishable from those of any other large corporate hotel, but they are clean, adequately proportioned and supplied with all the usual ameneties. Views are either of the golf course or of a busy road with Humayun's tomb in the (far) distance, and are nothing to write home about. The restaurants are all very good, and the pool is generally neat and clean, and large enough to easily absorb a large number of guests and still leave room for a proper swim.
The hotel's really standout quality, however, is its staff, who suffer from none of the aloof surliness that I have come to associate with this class of hotel. A more charming and helpful group of people it would be hard to find, which is all the more surprising given the hotel's policy of actively discouraging tipping.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AreAnyNamesNotTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

Oberoi is one of the best properties in Delhi and which is why we decided to stay there this time. In the past, we have stayed at newer properties likes Hilton, Le-Meridien and Shangri-La.

Oberoi is a happening place compared to some of the other comparable hotels. Despite its poor entrace approach, it is a bustling place. Service is good but more business like - you are served well but it lacks the warmth of eastern hospitality. Restaurants are good but not exceptional as you would expect at a place like this. Coffe shop is extremely over-rated - quality is average but the service is poor - they don't even have decent coffee cups to cary your drinks. Chines restaurant, Taipen, is good.

ah - also watch out of breakfast charges that show-up on your bill when you checkout even when the breakfast was complimentry.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JunkTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

I have very high standards and am easily disappointed by most so called 5 star hotels . This I happily have to say is the exception , you won't find one flaw in Oberoi's product , from the bloke at the door to the lady who takes your room service order excellent five star service . The views are wonderful over Delhi's parkland , the pool area is spacious and clean and staff are always on hand to ensure you enjoy your stay .

Although in a modern building there is no getting away from the fact you are in the capital city of India , tasteful decoration and aterfacts from around the country add to the ambience of the hotel .

We tried three of the four restaurants and the choice and food quality is excellent .

I highly recommend staying here on you Business or Pleasure visits to Delhi .

  • Liked — The excellent service from all the staff
  • Disliked — Having to go home !
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wobross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We arrived here after traveling from NZ via KL before starting our journey on the Palace on Wheels tour (different review). Staff in the Oberoi were attentive and went the extra mile. And no tipping allowed!

The buffet breakfast was fantastic. We also ate here on the evening and I ate a la carte and my husband had a buffet. Both were excellent.

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and they had put huge bouquets of flowers and a cake in our room. It was a lovely surprise.

We always stay in 5 star hotels and this is an excellent hotel. Definitely 5 star plus.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank expats05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

The Oberoi Hotel in New Delhi is located in a very pleasant and quite area of the city. Have stayed here a few times and this time I found the hotel somewhat expensive, especially for food (Chinese restaurant on top is very overpriced for very average food). The bar was also expensive even by European standards(USD 10 equiv for a pint of draft local beer). The fitness center and outdoor pool are excellent - among the best. Rooms are nicely furnished and very comfortable. And the staff service is exceptional.

  • Liked — pool and fitness center, room comfort
  • Disliked — food and bar
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank billgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing