We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good classic hotel. But the rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 692 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good classic hotel. But the rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I like grand hotels and the Taj is such a hotel. One arrives and the whole place has the feel of a well worn item of quality bespoke clothing. Supremely comfortable, well run in and yet timelessly elegant. The service on arrival is very good and well versed, or was when I last arrived. The public areas of the hotel are reasonably grand and the staff very courteous and conscientious. The formal Indian restaurant was good and felt more authentic than much of the Indian buffet cuisine nonsense that is served up at most of the global chains in India and overseas (with apologies for any exceptions and to the experts if I have got this wrong). The grounds are well kept and suitably in keeping with the hotel.

But the rooms..... A disgrace. These must have been renovated 20 years ago. They are functional, clean but not of a standard that is acceptable for the flagship hotel of a major brand in its own capital. I hope this is not representative of the Taj globally but I have experienced exactly the same in Mumbai in the past and this has put me off staying at Taj as a brand. When I compare this to the experience one enjoys at similar "Grand Dames" of Asia such as the Metropol in Hanoi, the Oriental in Bangkok or even the Oberoi at Agra (the latter not strictly comparable), I felt the latter were in a different universe on this not unimportant aspect.

Taj needs to fix this. Otherwise the hotel is good but would not be my first choice in Delhi for this reason.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    399
    77
    31
    13
See reviews for
199
316
170
783
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Taj is Taj, nothing like that in India. Their service is outstanding and you feel really comfortable there. The food there is excellent as well and they care for your well being. I checked in last week for three nights and had a pool-facing 11th floor room. The room was clean and the amenities were all there. The air conditioning was chilling and the new HD LED TV was a pleasure. I would have given an excellent rating, but for the fact that the drain at the faucet was horribly slow. I had failed to alert the hotel crew about it as I was always on a rush in the morning. In fact, I had a similar experience at the Taj in Mumbai as well, and I had said then too that most of the Taj do need something more than a fresh coat of paint. I had food at the restaurant several times, Machchan and also at Varq. Once they served me a dal that had lots and lots of salt, and I couldn't even have a spoon of it. They immediately took that off the bill. At Varq, food is just amazing. They wow you with some fantastic gimmick with some dry ice and stuff like that. YOu got to see it to believe it. Loved it. Nice food, great ambience at Varq.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANANDKMOORTHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Taj Mahal Mansingh is just beautiful! the lobby is beautifully decorated and decadent, the service is exceptional from the check-in to the lift assistant and the Butler/Housekeeping staff. The rooms are very modern contemporary, comfortable bed with pillow choice, lovely lounge area and desk. The bathrooms are on the small side but lovely non the less. The view from the hotel room window is stunning, the beauty of the greenery and trees with the Houses of Parliament buildings and India Gate were lovely to wake up to each morning. Varq restaurant is a must! the contemporary Indian food is absolutely delicious and our waiter adjusted some of the menu choice so that we could have a taster of several different dishes. The location of the hotel is great, very close to shopping areas and tourist sights. I look forward to returning to the Taj Mahal Hotel.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the view from our room of the Houses of Parliament buildings, India Gate and Trees and Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyAtoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed in a couple more Taj hotels, and actually the Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi was a little disappointing. Our main gripe with the hotel is the staff attitude. We understand that working for the Taj group of hotels is cool, but too much attitude is annoying. Staying here is about us, the guests, and not about them!

One of the few locations where we felt that this hotel was about guests being pleased is at the pool. The guys here really tried to make us comfortable, getting us our water, drinks and lunch.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel and the range of services is really good, but what usually sets the Taj hotels apart from the competition is the staff and how the staff treats the guests. This seems to have gotten lost somehow in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coloko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hey i would like to annunciate you guys that tj is the best hotel i ever seen in my whole life. i m just 25 years old and till now i haven't seen this kind of fabulous hotel.
out of box services.
I have booked a room in this hotel in advance and after getting the approval of booking i confirmed bout the checkin dates.We have booked a flight to there and we flew for our destination. After reaching there we have decided to checkin the hotel and then to enjoy the city.
we went to our hotel and then we were surprised to see the beauty of the surrounding.
It was an awesome trip just because of Taj hotel.
Hotel Taj Rocks

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArjunA409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love Taj Mansingh. long before ricks existed, machan used to be our favorite hangout. I had my first cold coffee at Machan with my parents- My dad met my mom at Machan- it dates back years and has managed retaining its original charm. I love the Ricks, the restaurants esp wasabi, the house of ming. But besides the great food and the ambiance, taj mansingh has the most classic ambiance, their rooms are plusher than the plushest, the service is fabulous. the staff gives you no time to complain-they are always waiting there, ready to resolve. I stayed here recently for a day on work and couldn't be happier. besides the spot on location- right next to khan market, middle of delhi. it has all the right boxes checked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princessofspice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The room was really good, well appointed, clean and comfortable. The level of service was very high throughout the hotel. Eat at the hotels own curry house and you won't be disappointed. Room service was quick and the food was hot, which makes a pleasant change.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichieEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 692 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,052 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 692 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#10 of 692 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 692 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,478 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#20 of 692 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#22 of 692 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing