We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in New Dehli” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Meal Credit offer
Ranked #6 of 691 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in New Dehli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The room was really good, well appointed, clean and comfortable. The level of service was very high throughout the hotel. Eat at the hotels own curry house and you won't be disappointed. Room service was quick and the food was hot, which makes a pleasant change.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichieEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    398
    77
    31
    13
See reviews for
199
316
168
779
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently stayed on 3 separate occasions whilst on a tour round India. The rooms were all excellent - perhaps a swimming pool view is the best. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. The garden and pool were a joy away from the bustle of the city. We had excellent food in Wasabi (Japanese) and Varq (Indian). We did not try the Chinese restaurant. On all 3 visits we had an excellent time and would really recommend this hotel which seemlessly combines business and pleasure guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

An absolutely perfect hotel in every sense. It has the class of old money and all the amenities that new money so love. This is one of the truly historic hotels of Delhi and one can do worse than pick this hotel while in Delhi. It may be a little on the expensive end but even as a budget conscious traveller I can tell you that this is a brilliant choice to make. Pure class. Sheer elegance. And an old world refinement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InfiniteOceanFilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here three nights on two separate occasions at the Club Floor. Club is expensive but evening drinks and nibbles in the club lounge alone make it worthwhile and the staff there are really rather good. I am a fan of Taj Hotels and I only wish this one were a tad less expensive. The pool was pretty chilly and the weather was overcast so only took the plunge once. The gym is well equipped although certainly the cross trainer could do with a fan ! The rooms were lovely and the beds huge and very comfortable. So close to Khan Market which was just a hop, skip and jump away. The lift attendant surprised us with remembering my name on the second visit a week later ! Nice touch.

Room Tip: Club floor if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When I am next in Delhi I will definitely be coming back to stay here. Located in Lutyen's this hotel is an oasis tucked away in this busy city. When you enter through the front doors of the hotel you are greeted by this beautiful floral display and a guest service agent who whisked you straight to your room where you do the check in process. My entire check in process was quick and seamless.

While the hotel is fairly old it is extremely well cared for. The brass plaques labeling the floors are gleaming, the marble in the lobby is so shiny your face is reflected, and the guest room is well maintained and spotless. The service at this hotel is top notch. Your ever wish is attended to.

The hotel itself has seven restaurants you can choose to dine in. For me being a female traveler this is important. If I do not have a dinner engagement I usually do not go out to dine by myself as it is uncommon to do so in India and it is difficult and not safe to travel by public transportation. Therefore I usually eat in the hotel. With seven restaurants to choose from this gives me ample selection. The Emperor's Lounge is great if you are looking for something casual while the House of Ming offers excellent Chinese food. If you are in the mood for Japanese head to the basement to Wasabi. And if you don't want to leave your room the in room dining offers a great variety.

I also had a massage treatment in the spa which was heavenly and the perfect way to end a busy day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missynat1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is my second stay here and I absolutely LOVE it. There is not a single thing I can ask the hotel to improve on. Everything from the rooms, to facilities to location to food to service to staff is impeccable. The variety of restaurants and choice at breakfast is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here twice on my India trip. The second time around was like coming home. The service was pheomenal in every department. From arrival to departure, you are a very welcome guest. The rooms are well desgined with great reviews and a one-stop control panel that I envied. The dining choices are many, but the high tea off the lobby was beyond compare and well-priced at under 20USD per person. The spa was well-run and gracious, and the private yoga class on the pool lawn a great addition. This hotel definitely jumps to the top of my best hotel list (replacing the Four Seasons Hong Kong).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan.W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 691 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#10 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#21 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#24 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing