We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service 10 out 10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
407 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Service 10 out 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

As soon as we landed they had a car at the airport to pick up. When we landed ms Kirti was waiting and ascorted us to our suite on the 8 th floor. Check in less than one minute. Wow. The room was just superb. They had a gift and welcome drink. Two night stay was worth it. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    416
    77
    32
    14
See reviews for
207
329
175
827
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I got in to Indira Gandhi close to midnight on Christmas day. A car from the hotel was waiting. I was whisked away to the property and, after the requisite security checks (that you have to suffer every time you enter any decent hotel in New Delhi, yes every time!), was escorted straight to my Taj Club room.

Everything was quality (even the Christmas cake, chocolates, bottle of Dutch jam ...). Great bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Excellent service. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Exquisite tea service in the Club lounge. And eating in the Varq was quite an experience as well.

Wifi was reliable, though you have to pay extra for it (as you will wherever you stay in India).

This was a delightful stay. Certainly worth a return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My third time to Delhi and first time at Taj mansingh and I regret not staying here on all the previous occasions.
The hospitality and service of the hotel is what makes it worth staying. From door man to security to front desk to concierge, everyone greets you with a genuine smile and helps you out in whatever way possible.
My husband and i spent five days in the hotel and were upgraded to club room. The room is of a very comfortable size with fantastic view of the city and its magnificent trees in all shades of green and red too. The bathroom is slightly small, but the extra toiletries especially the way my personal items were placed on a crisp white mat with three rose petals made up for the size of the bathroom.
The buffet breakfastat machan is a good spread, though the tea needs to be improved as it wasnt strong enough for my taste.
the gym is very well equipped though the music needs to be gym specific, not the one they play at their bar. The salon services are worth a try and reasonable.
A highly recommended hotel to stay, with perfect location and fantastic people helping us round the clock.
special thanks to Lakshay, Promod, Narinder, Surrender, Ajith, Aayush and Bhawna and above all to the GM Mr. Krishnan.

Room Tip: opt for the club room, and do have a evening tea at their coffee shop, you ll love the crockery if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amoKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here on business before and eaten in Varq (the Specialist Indian cuisine restaurant) and met friends in Rick's bar when staying in sister hotel the Taj Palace, in Chanakyapuri. So this obviously isn't going to be a bad review as I chose to stay this time. For spotters of Indian politicians it's a must, but the staff never let you feel you're second best. It has a real feel of being at the centre of things, which it is, geographically as well as in terms of it clientele. The public space is striking, the staff well trained and restaurants, pool etc up to the expected standard. The door staff look at you with wonder if you leave the hotel on foot and with pity when you come back a bit bedraggled. Despite a huge amount of affection for the place, it's probably time to freshen up the pool and changing facilities a bit (the Palace shows them up as rather tired) and possibly the rooms are nearing that point to. Ask for one on the North side, looking over the heart of Lutyens Delhi - you'l be amazed at the sheer greenness of it. I wasn't sure how they'd treat the kids. They were great with them. Not quite my favourite hotel in India, but on balance, my favourite in New Delhi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TonyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently visited Hotel Taj Mansingh to conduct a training session of 7 hours. Of-course the location was definitely selected after prior review. we decided to conduct the session in one of their banquet halls Diwan-I-Khas.

The hotel took care of the complete setup for us, right from arranging the sound and the visual needs to helping out the delegates with find their way to the training room.

The food was just amazing, though i can go on and on about how the cheese just melted inside the mouth and how delicious and heavenly the dessert was.. But what I would like to do here is really appreciate how they took care of all my needs so I could run the session as smoothly as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princessjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Check in was easy and the rooms were nice, the staff was very helpful and pleasant. It was only a short walk to the market, to find shops and restaurant. One problem we did have was with the internet connection, but when we talked to them at checkout they removed the charge with no hassle. Mid morning there were some loud construction noises that were a bit bothersome, but did not last long. Extra services are over overpriced,I have stayed at much cheaper hotels with newer rooms and offer many of the same extras at half the cost.

Room Tip: Watch out for added fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltlwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was really an absolutetly amazing stay. The hotel is very well situated near the Presidential Palace, the Parliament and Indian Gate .
It is magnificent ,extremely well decorated with a magnificent lobby.
The staff can't be better . They are always present and ready to attend any desire you may express.
The rooms and bathrooms are very confortable, spacious and very well appointed.All toiletries you may need are there and if you need something else just ask.
Concierge service is perfect .They organize all my visits in delhi with a hotel car with driver and guide and my car trip to Agra also with a hotel car.
There are several bars and restaurants ,all of very good quality. I especially enjoyed Varq ,an indian gourmet with fabulous Karachi prawns and delicious scallops and Wasabi by Morimoto that i don't think needs any introduction ( evebody knows it ) ,with marvelous sushi and sake and a nice Teppanyaki station.
At the lobby level there is a fantastic shop,Khazana, with many indian products like silver,rugs even clothes .Very good price and very good quality.Don't expect to find the same products cheaper outside the hotel .
A special word for the pool and the pool staff . Very nice pool with crystal clear water with outstanding service.
Price : expensive but really worth it
I'll always stay at this hotel if back to delhi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isabel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,174 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 704 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#12 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,540 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#27 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,118 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#24 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing