We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 696 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I was pick up at the airport which happened to be complimentary. The driver called as we approached the hotel and there was a women there to greet me as soon as I stepped out of the car. She brought me right to my room. The room was wonderful. I wish that before I was taken to the room she would have explained where things were in the hotel. But I did go down and explored on my own and like every other hotel that I had been in on my trip, the lobby was spectacular, but had the same heavy perfume smell.

My first night there I just wanted to relax in my room. I ordered room service and it was the best meal that I had during my week trip to India. I was also able to arrange a driver and guide for the next day even though it was last minute.

The room was clean and the towels weren't grey. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank lor13149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    449
    84
    36
    15
See reviews for
225
360
181
884
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Taj Mansingh, New Delhi for 3 days in August 2012 - the service was superb and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The proximity to major tourist locations is unbeatable -it is at walking distance to India Gate. Breakfast at the in house restaurant was v good and they had both Indian and Continental breakfast items. This hotel has a very pleasing decor. The service -right from the bell boys to the lady who checked us in and the restaurant staff was impressive. They have a good security system that checks everyone prior to entering the hotel(using metal detector etc). Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaMomofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at the Taj Mahal in Delhi for two nights at the start of our trip to India - it was memorable in so many ways. The service as everyone mentions is first class and at such a high standard, it is now the bar that I use to compare others. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed - the bathrooms are a little dated but it is not a big issue. The restaurants are all fantastic - Varq being the highlight. We had two people in our group having birthdays - so we ended up getting a cake at every meal as well as in the room for no charge. The gym is excellent and again the staff are most attentive. Overall, one word to wrap it up - Excellent!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Recently stayed at the Taj Mahal Hotel and I must say that it was the best service in India. Fantastic location and Wasabi was terrific. The staff is very attentive to all of the guests needs. The only downside was that the pool was being renovated and they were sending guests to the Taj Palace. We were told that it was a heated pool but once at the Taj Palace the pool was at a temperature that wasn't fit for swimming.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the Club Floor if possible. Great way to unwind with a cocktail during happy hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashpar1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel exceeded expectations in all aspects - especially service. I think we paid about $300 a night including breakfast - great value. Location is in the government area of Dehli - security is very tight. They check all cars at the gait and luggage upon check-in.

Check In: Smooth + Efficient up to our room in minutes. Warm greeting from everyone on the way.

Bedroom: Probably about 350 sq. ft - 2 beds and room for a desk, small sitting area. The room has a classic look with darker wood trim, however, the electronics are all updated => lighting, drapes, heat/AC are all controlled from a bedside console. The sheets are comforter were excellent quality. Maid service was really excellent.

Bathroom. Great water pressure and tempurature + super thick towels + ample shampoo, conditioner, soaps etc. Dryer in the drawer by the sink.

Restaurants: We tried the Indian (modern), Japanese and Chinese restaurants - all had fresh, high quality food and great service. Even when we odered only a few options, the chef would always send out extra surprises - many of the dishes were innovative. Breakfast buffet was massive - choices of Indian and American/European foods - you can also order off a menu - whatever you want.

Spa /Gym: Impressive gym/workout area - treadmills, elipticals, weights - the most modern equipment. Had a 90 minute massage at the spa for about $100 - very reasonable compared to NY, LA or European rates and high quality. It had a steam room, hot tub as well.

Concierges: Fantastic service. I had a jacket made by a local tailor (reccomendey by our guide/ not the hotel) and it didn't fit quite right - the Head Concierge (Lakshay Nirule - spelling?) insisted on taking it back to the tailor himself to have corrected - and it wasn't even a store they recommended - really put my mind at ease. Take the concierges' recommendations for shops and restaurants outside the hotel before you venture on your own. The local guides (non-hotel guides) always try to take you to shops/resaurants where they get kickbacks - common in India - but annoying.

Tech Assistance: My I-phone couldn't hook up with the hotel's wifi - the hotel tech guy fixed it in a second - and then gave me free wi-fi for the day because it took a whole 5 mintues to fix.

Hotel Shop: Large selection of Sari's, Artwork, Gifts, Jewelery - at reasonable prices.

Overall: The Taj hotels rock - on par or better than Four Seasons in terms of service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Almost everything about this hotel was perfect. The public areas are beautiful, the rooms very comfortable, and the food excellent. The staff were all friendly, competent and helpful, without overdoing it and becoming obsequious. The food and drinks are expensive, but they are very good quality. The nibbles provided free with drinks in the coffee bar were delicious. We only had one evening meal at the hotel, which was not in one of the standard restaurants, but in the 'club' at the top of the hotel, with a view over the city. We were the only dinner guests there that evening and had a fantastic meal with excellent service - including a fan heater provided when the staff noticed that I was shivering. (We had the misfortune to visit Delhi during the coldest time for 40 years, apparently).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been to the Taj Mahal in December 2012. Excellent hotel with a good central location in the middle of New Delhi, a walking distance from Khan Market (good restaurants), an amazing service (they brought complementary pop corn and drinks when we asked for movies). We tried one restaurant, Varcq, which was very good despite being extremely spicy. Don't try to book a cab through the hotel (e.g. to go to Agra) as it is extremely expensive compared to what you would get outside the hotel or online. Spa is unisex. The breakfast was lacking a little bit of choice (only three kinds of cheese) and the juices, despite being fresh, didn't had much taste. Finally, rooms are a little bit old. Keep in mind you will be charged a heavy luxury tax on your room price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaCeBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 696 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#21 of 696 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing