We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay and great location”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay and great location”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived very late in New Delhi Airport, 2 chauffeurs have been assigned to 2 of us (it also happens to our 2 friends in the same trip)! We eventually told them we only need one car. The check-in process is very personal, the staff do all the check in formality in our room. The room is on 2/F, have view of the Rajpath and the NE of the town, it is quite magical sometimes after a foggy morning that you suddenly see those buildings among the lush tropical surroundings. The room is very comfortable, there is a limit on the number of devices (2) that can be registered to the wireless internet, it doesn't bother me but you need to connect more than 1 device, you may need to call for technical help which my friends did.

The exterior of the hotel is un-appealing but inside is nicely decorated and of high quality in the furnishings, all the staff are very helpful and always smiling. The swimming pool is great, it is very relaxing.

The 24-hour restaurant provides a great selection of food and beverages for the buffet breakfast and we also had other meals there and all are very tasty and the service is great.

We use the hotel chauffeur driven car a lot and it is so convenient and the service is excellent. The hotel is of equal distance to the Indian Gate, Khan Market, Gandhi Smriti, Lodi Garden (around 15-20 min gentle walk), the surrounding areas are one of the nice suburbs in Delhi because it is a diplomatic area.

We booked the Sound & Light show at Purana Qila via the Concierge and we fully enjoyed it, the Concierge even sent a taxi to get the tickets for us (at a charge, but we are happy to pay).

There is a little problem in trying to book a table at Bukhara using the Concierge, the Concierge told us it doesn't take bookings but will call Bukhara to leave our names there and is very confident we will get a table by waiting for around 10min; to our horror, when we arrived at Bukhara, our names are not on the list and the whole restaurant is full that there is no way we will get a table for the night; we feedback it to the Concierge and they apologised and said will investigate why it happened and on the following day the Concierge Manager came up to my room and apologised again and gave me a bunch of red roses, apology accepted but need him to make sure it won't happen again for future hotel guests.

This is a very nice hotel, good location, very comfortable and has maintained the high Taj standard of hospitality. The chauffeur airport pickup confusion and the booking error at Bukhara are the main reasons I cannot give it an 'Excellent' rating. However, I am happy to come back to the hotel next time and give it another go again.

Room Tip: City facing rooms above 1/F.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunmansyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    491
    98
    42
    18
See reviews for
256
395
191
953
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well located, excellent service, good for lawyers (close to all the main courts), close to Lodhi Gardens, Khan Market - overall, a fantastic location and excellent service.
The restaurants are well appointed and the breakfast is excellent. This is an important flagship property of the Taj Group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadwarriorS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I went to India for the first time this spring and stayed at the Taj Mahal. Excellent rooms, very good service, four good restaurants, nice location. Altogether a very pleasant experience and a nice introduction to New Delhi, which can their wise be quite daunting. Ask the hotel to arrange a car to pick you up at the airport on arrival.

Room Tip: Ask or a view across towards the city centre on a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurozoner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
305 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is an older Taj hotel which in it's prime must have been outstanding. Hotel lobby is well kept and has a luxurious feel but disappointment comes when in the rooms it's obviously in need of reburbishment or renovations. Bathroom is well kept but very small, and amenities are basic. There are cracks and small portion of the tiles at the corners have gaps and holes which in a "luxury" segment hotel like Taj is really not quite acceptable. I had a fruit plate in my room upon arrival but found the knife and napkin is actually soiled, and fruit skin folded in the napkin and must have been used by the previous occupant. For 4 days which I stayed there, housekeeping never noticed or replaced the soiled cutlery which says something about their attentiveness to standards. I was given a room on the 1st floor which is disappointing as there is hardly any view to look out to.

Otherwise staff is always polite, and eager to assist especially in the public areas and restaurants. Food is ok - the cafe for breakfast serves a decent selection and the japanese restaurant is also just ok but the staff certainly go out of the way to ensure a pleasant dining experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Positives This is a classic old Taj in a wonderful (if very quiet) upscale part of New Delhi The public areas are beautiful and the staff goes out of its way to be helpful and provide a great level of service The in house eateries are very good, particularly the Wasabi which is an amazing Japanese restaurant The bar has an indoor smoking area in a nod to those who still dare to smoke cigar once in a while!

Negatives The rooms are sadly, tragically in need of an upgrade Nothing screams " I'm 20 years old" more than the old faded yellow infuriating touch-pad "one control" for everything from lights to drapes and temperature control Mine didn't background illuminate at night so to turn on a light is just pure guesswork - keep pushing buttons in the dark until something happens And again, installing a huge flat screen TV does NOT constitute an upgrade Just highlights the old and the new in fact The Club Lounge needs help in the food area They put out tiny portions of fruits, cheeses etc that has the staff running backwards and forwards from the kitchen all the time Not somewhere where the hotel needs to be trying to cut corners !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

loved each and every corner of hotel....it was like dream for me to stay in this hotel.....the stafff was good ....felt like true luxury... the bar is well stocked and the best part is location.. 1 maan singh road the most central part of delhi ...one issue is that u want to come back to this place again and again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarsem s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was traveling alone for my business trip and wanted to squeeze in a trip to see the Taj Mahal. Since I didn't want to compromise on safety as I was traveling alone (female) to India for my first time, I was looking for something that was established and could book a car service to the Taj. I had a very comfortable stay, the hotel staff upon booking over the phone reserved my car service ready for my arrival. Service was excellent, room was clean, and quiet. The car service charge for ~12 hours (round trip to Taj Mahal, 1 bathroom stop, 1 stop for lunch, 1 stop for nearby shopping) was 11,500 INR which was a bit on the high side. The stop for shopping seemed a bit fixed since it was probably the most priciest store in the area and they are very persistent for you to make multiple purchases - be cautious. Overall the hotel stay was good and fairly close to the airport to hop to your next destination.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing