We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, pretty average!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, pretty average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed at the Taj Palace for 2 nights. This was our first stop on our 11 day tour of India as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is in New Delhi and resides within a residential area. We felt very safe at the hotel, there are guards at the main gate and even security staff at the reception area. We were told that the hotel gets a lot of Government officials staying there.

The lobby is lovely and looks rather impressive with a large Chandelier. The rooms were pretty average and what you would expect from the standard hotel. We felt that the room we stayed in (3rd floor) was a little tired and could do with sprucing up. I am quite allergic and sneezed a lot in our room- my sure sign of dust lurking. They did give us a bunch of red roses and also a cake to congratulate us on our wedding- which was nice.

Service was good and the food in the restaurants was of a good standard- though as is the case in most Indian hotels you pay a lot for such standards.

Overall pleaseant stay- not bad a a stop over hotel.

  • Disliked — The dusty outdated room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SheilaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    591
    129
    36
    35
See reviews for
327
518
195
1,257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
india
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

Room Amenities: The hotel has round 100 villa rooms in Portuguese-Goanese design all air conditioned and set in beautifully landscaped gardens. All the villas are elegantly appointed, have international direct dial facility,music, cable TV, Room service and laundry service

Dining: For the foodie there is The Banyan Tree serving Thai and Chinese cuisine; The Beach House for Continental, Indian and Goan cuisine and Caravela the bar.

Hotel Facilities: Other facilities provided by the hotel includes a fitness centre, swimming pool, indoor and outdoor games, travel desk, car rental, shopping arcade, currency exchange, doctor-on-call and baby sitting. Meeting and banquet facilities are also available

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sam00789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

Took a club room, a very good buy. Newly renovated, beautyfull bathrooms, seperate shaower and tub, shower with rainforrest shower head. All in black marbel. Beds nice , duveets and pillows wonderfull. The butlerservice comes with the room, check in in the room, and fresh juice at arrival. The club lounge ok, free drinks and internet.
The service in the italian restaurant not always that good, but as clubbenefit, you can take breakfast in the lounge. But in the restaurant the service was sometimes grumpy, sometimes very sloppy- and at times very good. The food fine.
The poolarea ok, the beautysalon with good service.
If we hadn't had a club room , we had no reason to come back - but its closer to the airport than some of the others..

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DanishTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

You get exactly what you would expect from a hotel like this. Top service, impeccable room, high prices. Must be one of the better hotels in the city.

The level of service is in fact a bit over the top: someone to turn on the tap for you in the public washroom to wash your hands and hand you a fresh towel; staff do not give directions here, they take you all the way where you want to go; at receptions, you will be offered something to eat or drink about every thirty seconds, making it almost impossible to hold a conversation with anyone; everybody greets you, even the workers painting the halls, etc. After a few days, I could barely take it anymore. But I can hardly complain, I guess.

Bed sheets were wonderful; the room, impeccably clean. The main Indian restaurant had great food, highly recommended. The European restaurant is where breakfast is served. Always some Indian food available for breakfast which was great. The rest of the breakfast was fine, but not extraordinary.

Location is not that great. Hard to walk anywhere interesting. Taxis are cheap and readily available at any time, so that makes it easier to go somewhere.

No surprise on the price either: it is expensive.

My meetings where at the hotel for four days, so I did not have much choice. Not sure I would come back though if I were on my own though. I thought everything was a bit too much for my own taste. Something a little more casual might just feel a bit more real.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank foubrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

The taj palace at delhi is an exotic hotel with all the luxurious facilities one can even wonder of be it the spa, gym or swimming pool. the restaraunts offers a multi-cuisine buffet with all the delicious dishes from around the world. the attractive ambience of this place keeps you adhered to it and would surely make you stay more than you would ave expected to .

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank metallica16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed twice at the Taj Palace for two days each time in Nov 2008 . We were in the ordinary rooms on the third floor. The room was OK nothing special. The rate for this room was 19000 a night plus [ very considerable] taxes - thats expensive anywhere for what you get here.

The hotel is in the middle of the diplomatic enclave and armed troops and security guards are everywhere. Its a long way from other places to go or eat.

We found the service like other reviewers have a bit too attentive, it starts to get on your nerves after a while though most of the staff are very nice if a little "give me a tip" oriented.

The food is poor not to say terrible . We tried the Indian Restaurant and it was the worst and most expensive Indian meal we had in a month in India. No pappadums for example and dry tastless biryanni.

The buffet breakfast is average for this standard of hotel - no special touches as you find in other similarly priced hotels. They run out of everything [ grilled tomatoes for example] all the time and it takes forever and 10 requests before they fill the dishes back up. Best of luck if you want an egg with your breakfast - three staff stood in front of the egg chef filling in forms when I tried - it seems you have to get a member of the waiting staff to get an egg for you as you are just ignored if you stand there.

We tried the same restaurant at night for a buffet meal - but where they cook the main course to order for you. As at breakfast its completely chaotic. You have no idea who is supposed to be serving you. Knives and forks are nowhere to be seen and are mostly missing from the table . Our waiter "cleaned" the table by giving me a used a stained place mat and ignored the crumbs and bits of food laying on the surface. He and the myriad of layers of different kinds of waiters watching were completey unfazed when I took a cloth and cleaned up the table myself.

We ordered the main courses specifically to be mild. When they came they made the hottest mexican dish seem like milk shakes - they were mind blowingly spicy. The lamb dish came as straggly little bits of meat with lots of little bones in it - really truly awful food.
We were offered replacement dishes when we said we could not eat the main courses. I ordered a rissotto with prawns which was microwaved to the point of explosion making the prawns like bits of car tyre and my wifes so called French onion soup was thin and small.

The raita was the worst I tasted in India - there was no chutney at all for the over spicy pappadums.

All in all it was very poor l food and chaotic untrained service..

We had booked at the hotels flagship restaurant which is in a replica carriage of the Orient Express and so named. Its $100 a head minimum but our experience with the rest of the food over 6 meals was so bad that we cancelled the booking.

The bar service is equally bizarre and annoying. There is a nice seating area outside the reception.near the pool area. We sat there and asked if they had diet tonic for the G and T's as the full fat is too sweet and full of calories. No they did not have it. OK two Bacardis and diet cokes please. Five minutes later the waiter came back to say they could not serve that drink there. He offered us whisky or brandy or wine but claimed thay were not allowed to serve a bacardi and coke there - and we would have to move indoors to the Orient Express bar to obtain that drink. We did not want to drink in the inside bars as the ac is set to Alaska levels and its freezing cold and it was a pleasant evening to be outdoors. Why on earth the waiter could not go and get us the drinks and serve them where we sat was never explained. We spoke to one of the the hotels charming hostesses who greet you or arrival about this incident but she clearly had no idea why this was and she seemingly had no influence over the hordes of differently garbed bar staff most of whom appear to do nothing at all. We went inside for our drinks.


Stay somewhere else for this money. Our guides told us the Imperial has much better food. Or save money and stay at the Amber where we also stayed during this trip and which we have reviewed on here.

  • Liked — Hostess
  • Disliked — the food and chaotic service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DencUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
188 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

Stayed in a suite in a non-club floor. Room was spacious and well-appointed. Liked having a separate dressing area. The bathroom was not up to par for a luxury hotel. Although it is reasonably sized with separate tub & shower, it is lacking in several areas. First, it looks incredibly dated (70's style). The water temperature was very erratic: shower took 5-10 minutes to get warm, but tub was warm instantly. THe drain pipes are too small, so the shower fills up with several inches of standing water while your wait for hot water. The toilet makes gurgling sounds after flushing. The maintenance staff agreed that the drain pipes are insufficient.

Overall, service is generally attentive, but somewhat erratic. The breakfast buffet is fairly chaotic: just getting coffee is a 5-10 minute process & the rest of the food is okay. Had generally good service at the front desk until checkout. The credit card company required a call (as often happens when using your card for a large charge in a developing nation). The clerk said that nothing could be done & insisted that we call the credit company ourselves. Not exactly 5-star service. After some prodding he finally called the credit card company & everything went through.

I would probably not stay at this hotel again. Rooms are overpriced for what you get. However, I did become a convert of the Taj Group after staying at several of their palace hotels in Rajasthan. So, I would look for a smaller or newer property.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
#11 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing