We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You guys pampered us !!!”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You guys pampered us !!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

When we checked in to Taj Palace , we were informed that they were also hosting the visit of the Prime Minister of Japan, traffic was obviously crazy. By the end of our week long stay - it was more relaxed . We were treated like royals - be it the warm welcome or the palatial decor, excellent room service, courteous staff or the amenities offered at the hotel - it was truly very TAJ style. We dined at Blue Ginger, the sea bass was cooked so tastefully. I remember requesting for Vietnamese Pho though it wasn't included in the room service menu - the receptionist (Ankita) was able to get the chef to make it for us. That was sweet , I was quite impressed.
I'd like to take a minute to specially thank the Manager, Mr Vinay for delighting us with his hospitality and entertaining conversations. Mr Ravi Bhatia, Sous Chef at Kafe Fontana and his colleagues Mani and Bhuwan made sure we had a power packed tastefully made breakfast each morning.
Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend at the hotel. But we will come back soon. Thanks for the warm hospitality !

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area are quite serene and peacful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancinaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

We have noted your feedback in the Trip Advisor and thank you for sparing your time and sharing with us your valuable feedback.

We thank you for all your kind words of appreciation for the warm welcome, the room service, courtesy of the staff and your satisfaction with the amenities offered in the room. You have also mentioned that you dined at our Vietnamese restaurant - Blue Ginger and thank you for your feedback about the sea bass which has been communicated to our Chefs at the Blue Ginger.

We have noted your compliments for Ankita at the reception and for our Kafe Fontana team - Vinay, Chef Ravi Bhatia, Chef Mani and Chef Bhuwan and thank you very much for the same. These words have been communicated to all the associates.

Thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,872
    624
    136
    40
    38
See reviews for
359
548
206
1,334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
377 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

First of all, this is a truly 5 star hotel, in the outskirts of Delhi, so a bit less smog then in the city centre. 20 minutes from the airport, pick up by nice hotel car with driver in uniform. We were upgraded and had amazing rooms at the executive floor. Check in was also at that floor, everything was alrready prepared before we arrived. Lots of complementary stuff, such as high tea, cocktails. Room was good, great shower, large tv, nicely decorated. Breakfast was good, not that extensive at the executive floor but maybe the one at the groundfloor had more options. Complementary internet was slow and room had two beds instead of king one. Large pool, 9 hole putting green, 4 restaurants and a great bar with good, loud music, maybe because it was Saturday, but we liked it.

The downside: immense numbers of staff that all have theor own task, instead of taking care of a requestand it goes slow. Example, at the pool, where there was nearly no other quests. We ordered a coke and a beer. The guy overseeing the pool could not take our order, went to call his colleague, who took our order, after 15 minutes the drinks came, but not the bill. Took another 15 minutes for that. Very inefficient and not client friendly. Lots of other examples in this two days.

Next to that, very expensive because of all the unexpected taxes that are added.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Golfandtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback in the Trip Advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

I am glad to get your acknowledgement about the hospitality and services extended to you during your stay at our hotel. It is certainly very encouraging to get this feedback from you, which indeed goes a long way to improve and exceed our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

At the same time we are concerned regarding the shortcomings during your stay with respect to the speed of internet and also the service at the poolside which was not up to the Taj standards.

While we deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and wish to state that we will take all measures to rectify the shortcomings, which are being taken up with the concerned departments. Hope you will forgive us these lapses and give us another chance to make amends.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

From the airport transfer in the vintage Jaguar, to the in-room checkin, to the fantastic club room, to the relaxing spa, everything was 5 star at the Taj Palace. The service was faultless and they went above and beyond to make us feel relaxed and welcome.

The stand out had to be dessert and drinks in the beautiful Orient Express restaurant. My mouth is watering just thinking about it now.

Room Tip: The Club Room is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMT_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

We have noted your satisfaction with respect to our services and facilities and are delighted to know that you felt relaxed and welcome and your special appreciation for our European restaurant – Orient Express has also been noted.

These comments are highly encouraging and have been communicated to all the concerned.

Thank you for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Most solicitous, respectful, helpful staff anyone could ask for. In both hotel and restaurants. They anticipate every need and execute every service in the friendliest of manner. Physical facilities and location are beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel201022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your feedback complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhansi, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is one of the finest properties of the Taj group, beautifully furnished with marble flooring, rich carpets and brass fittings.

The room turned out to be somewhat small, but it was elegantly furnished – as you can see from my photo. The bed was soft and fluffy with snow white sheets and a variety of pillows. The bathroom – though small – was well equipped and brightly lit.

There was a wide variety of dishes – both Indian and Western – at the buffet breakfast. I found the staff to be polite and attentive, living up to the Taj pedigree.

A special word of appreciation for Khazana, the gift shop: there was an excellent range of products and the prices were quite reasonable. The salespeople were helpful, but unobtrusive – allowing one to browse at leisure without feeling compelled to buy something.

My only regret is that I could not stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note your appreciation for the furnishings in the room and the bathroom, your compliments for the buffet breakfast and also for our gift shop - Taj Khazana has been noted . Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here for office meeting and work purposes, Good hotel, Good rooms, good restaurant, choices are also good, food is nice, service is good. crowd is of course good and on the flip side it is on the extreme costly side. so if your budget permits then you can go for this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArvindJMorbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We have noted your kind compliments for the hotel, room and restaurants and thank you for the same.

We have also noted your comments with respect to pricing. May I also take this opportunity to introduce to you our three highly successful value meal options specifically designed for single diners:

At the Kafe Fontana under this section you can have a pre set three course meal at an all inclusive rate of INR 1975, which includes full bottle of house wine for four guests and half bottle of wine for two guests. Taxes extra.

At Masala Art, you can order a tiffin meal- Veg Tiffin – INR 1400 Non- Veg Tiffin -INR 1600 and Seafood Tiffin - INR 1900. Taxes extra

At Blue Ginger, Business meal at an all inclusive rate of INR 1600 with a glass Indian Red or White wine or a glass of beer. Taxes would be applicable on all the rates .I assure you that this is something which no other Luxury Hotel in Delhi is doing at the moment and would be grateful if you can spread the word.

We have always endeavored to create trust in our guests rather than look at the short term aspect of just money making and I hope that with the above examples you will agree with me.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Taj is always quite royal and this one is no exception too. As the name suggest, there is a little bit of a palacial touch to this hotel. This is an old hotel and quite visible while looking at some of the lifts and rooms. But very well maintained. Some of the rooms are renovated. Staff at Taj, as usual, are always best and provides excellent service with a personal touch. Very well located hotel. The Bar has a Happy hour till 8PM and that's a good offer. The Oriental Express is great, bit expensive though. Looking at the name I thought of getting Indian/Moghali food. But its continental.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

While we thank you for your kind compliments for the hotel, the same has been communicated to our team members. We have noted your comments with regard to the hotel looking old and would like to inform you that 85% of the rooms have been renovated and the remaining rooms are slated to be renovated in the summer of 2014.

We have also noted your comments with regard to your perception of the Orient Express being expensive. However, for the pricing of the Orient Express, we have kept the following conditions in mind:

1.Quality of ambience, style is unparalleled in India which has also resulted in Orient Express receiving numerous awards and accolades globally.

2.As a result of our endeavour to keep the highest quality, there is absolutely no compromise of ingredients and hence each ingredient is imported, fresh from it’s origin. Understandably, this is an expensive affair though we do also recognize the impact of the carbon foot print this entails. Unfortunately, the repertoire of the European dishes of the menu cannot simply be made to the highest quality with ingredients sourced locally. This in turn pushes our input cost.

3.Though Michelin stars have not come to India yet, we have been praised by many discerning global travelers for having a Michelin quality restaurant in our establishment. If we therefore compare the prices of some Michelin restaurants in London, then three course offering there could easily be priced upwards of 90 – 120 pounds per person and is not uncommon. We are considerably cheaper than that average check.

Nevertheless, we take your feedback and critique on board whole heartedly and will endeavour to always ensure that the pricing is not unreasonable in comparison to the quality and ambience that we provide as compared to anywhere else in the world.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,770 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,660 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing