We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Truly a 5 star experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Ranked #7 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

From the airport transfer in the vintage Jaguar, to the in-room checkin, to the fantastic club room, to the relaxing spa, everything was 5 star at the Taj Palace. The service was faultless and they went above and beyond to make us feel relaxed and welcome.

The stand out had to be dessert and drinks in the beautiful Orient Express restaurant. My mouth is watering just thinking about it now.

Room Tip: The Club Room is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMT_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

We have noted your satisfaction with respect to our services and facilities and are delighted to know that you felt relaxed and welcome and your special appreciation for our European restaurant – Orient Express has also been noted.

These comments are highly encouraging and have been communicated to all the concerned.

Thank you for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,877 - 1,883 of 2,927 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Most solicitous, respectful, helpful staff anyone could ask for. In both hotel and restaurants. They anticipate every need and execute every service in the friendliest of manner. Physical facilities and location are beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel201022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your feedback complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is one of the finest properties of the Taj group, beautifully furnished with marble flooring, rich carpets and brass fittings.

The room turned out to be somewhat small, but it was elegantly furnished – as you can see from my photo. The bed was soft and fluffy with snow white sheets and a variety of pillows. The bathroom – though small – was well equipped and brightly lit.

There was a wide variety of dishes – both Indian and Western – at the buffet breakfast. I found the staff to be polite and attentive, living up to the Taj pedigree.

A special word of appreciation for Khazana, the gift shop: there was an excellent range of products and the prices were quite reasonable. The salespeople were helpful, but unobtrusive – allowing one to browse at leisure without feeling compelled to buy something.

My only regret is that I could not stay longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note your appreciation for the furnishings in the room and the bathroom, your compliments for the buffet breakfast and also for our gift shop - Taj Khazana has been noted . Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here for office meeting and work purposes, Good hotel, Good rooms, good restaurant, choices are also good, food is nice, service is good. crowd is of course good and on the flip side it is on the extreme costly side. so if your budget permits then you can go for this one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArvindJMorbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We have noted your kind compliments for the hotel, room and restaurants and thank you for the same.

We have also noted your comments with respect to pricing. May I also take this opportunity to introduce to you our three highly successful value meal options specifically designed for single diners:

At the Kafe Fontana under this section you can have a pre set three course meal at an all inclusive rate of INR 1975, which includes full bottle of house wine for four guests and half bottle of wine for two guests. Taxes extra.

At Masala Art, you can order a tiffin meal- Veg Tiffin – INR 1400 Non- Veg Tiffin -INR 1600 and Seafood Tiffin - INR 1900. Taxes extra

At Blue Ginger, Business meal at an all inclusive rate of INR 1600 with a glass Indian Red or White wine or a glass of beer. Taxes would be applicable on all the rates .I assure you that this is something which no other Luxury Hotel in Delhi is doing at the moment and would be grateful if you can spread the word.

We have always endeavored to create trust in our guests rather than look at the short term aspect of just money making and I hope that with the above examples you will agree with me.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Taj is always quite royal and this one is no exception too. As the name suggest, there is a little bit of a palacial touch to this hotel. This is an old hotel and quite visible while looking at some of the lifts and rooms. But very well maintained. Some of the rooms are renovated. Staff at Taj, as usual, are always best and provides excellent service with a personal touch. Very well located hotel. The Bar has a Happy hour till 8PM and that's a good offer. The Oriental Express is great, bit expensive though. Looking at the name I thought of getting Indian/Moghali food. But its continental.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

While we thank you for your kind compliments for the hotel, the same has been communicated to our team members. We have noted your comments with regard to the hotel looking old and would like to inform you that 85% of the rooms have been renovated and the remaining rooms are slated to be renovated in the summer of 2014.

We have also noted your comments with regard to your perception of the Orient Express being expensive. However, for the pricing of the Orient Express, we have kept the following conditions in mind:

1.Quality of ambience, style is unparalleled in India which has also resulted in Orient Express receiving numerous awards and accolades globally.

2.As a result of our endeavour to keep the highest quality, there is absolutely no compromise of ingredients and hence each ingredient is imported, fresh from it’s origin. Understandably, this is an expensive affair though we do also recognize the impact of the carbon foot print this entails. Unfortunately, the repertoire of the European dishes of the menu cannot simply be made to the highest quality with ingredients sourced locally. This in turn pushes our input cost.

3.Though Michelin stars have not come to India yet, we have been praised by many discerning global travelers for having a Michelin quality restaurant in our establishment. If we therefore compare the prices of some Michelin restaurants in London, then three course offering there could easily be priced upwards of 90 – 120 pounds per person and is not uncommon. We are considerably cheaper than that average check.

Nevertheless, we take your feedback and critique on board whole heartedly and will endeavour to always ensure that the pricing is not unreasonable in comparison to the quality and ambience that we provide as compared to anywhere else in the world.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Amazing hotel. perfect view from hotel room........... value for money!! hotel has good food and perfect menu. it is good option if you are in Delhi and want to have a perfect stay, be it business or personal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSOLANKI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We have noted your appreciation for the hotel and I am glad to know that you had a perfect stay. While we thank you for your kind compliments the same has been communicated to all the concerned.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Well when it comes to hotels the name " Taj" by itself says a lot. So when we planned our North India trip we traveled to many places and stayed in hotels like sheraton & Le Meridian . In delhi we had booked The Taj vivanta . We were a group of 6 and had 2 rooms for 4 nights . When we checked in we were extremely disappointed by the lobby and the service. The rooms were outdated and the elevator and the corridors smelled of moth balls. We couldn't stay there for a minute . We spoke to the front desk manager and asked him to change our booking to another property since this property did not meet the standards of a TAJ. He shifted us to the Taj Palace . The lobby was grand clean and the service was excellent. The staff was courteous. But the rooms given to us were terrible. They were very small and outdated. The bathroom was old and small. It didn't have an exhaust system and also there wasn't a shower . It was having a tub which looked like from the 70"s
The TAJ was a big disappointment . I would rather stay at a Radisson. So next time don't just go for the name.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lsonam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

I have noted your comments and have passed on the same to my colleague - the General Manager of Vivanta by Taj, Ambassador to respond to your experience during your stay there.

While I thank you for your appreciation of the Lobby public areas and staff of Taj Palace, please allow me to respond to your concerns of quality of room. As per our records, you had booked a base category room which is located on the first floor of the hotel which are refurbished, but not renovated. This is slated to be renovated this summer. You therefore found this design to be a bit outdated and an opinion that we respect. However, kindly note that the remaining 85% of the hotels’ room inventory are only a couple of years old with a cutting edge design and fit. To experience this you would need to book our Luxury or Taj Club accommodations.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon

With best regards

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 736 in New Delhi
2,993 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 736 in New Delhi
2,979 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 736 in New Delhi
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 736 in New Delhi
2,882 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 736 in New Delhi
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi

Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India (Formerly Taj Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $172 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, is spread out over six acres of lush gardens in the heart of India’s capital city. It is an oasis of calm while still being right in the middle of the city’s action. Not surprisingly, then that our 403 rooms and suites have played gracious host to princes, heads of state, corporate czars and high-powered conferences and the grandest of weddings for close to four decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing