We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Royal Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Royal Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Taj is always quite royal and this one is no exception too. As the name suggest, there is a little bit of a palacial touch to this hotel. This is an old hotel and quite visible while looking at some of the lifts and rooms. But very well maintained. Some of the rooms are renovated. Staff at Taj, as usual, are always best and provides excellent service with a personal touch. Very well located hotel. The Bar has a Happy hour till 8PM and that's a good offer. The Oriental Express is great, bit expensive though. Looking at the name I thought of getting Indian/Moghali food. But its continental.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

While we thank you for your kind compliments for the hotel, the same has been communicated to our team members. We have noted your comments with regard to the hotel looking old and would like to inform you that 85% of the rooms have been renovated and the remaining rooms are slated to be renovated in the summer of 2014.

We have also noted your comments with regard to your perception of the Orient Express being expensive. However, for the pricing of the Orient Express, we have kept the following conditions in mind:

1.Quality of ambience, style is unparalleled in India which has also resulted in Orient Express receiving numerous awards and accolades globally.

2.As a result of our endeavour to keep the highest quality, there is absolutely no compromise of ingredients and hence each ingredient is imported, fresh from it’s origin. Understandably, this is an expensive affair though we do also recognize the impact of the carbon foot print this entails. Unfortunately, the repertoire of the European dishes of the menu cannot simply be made to the highest quality with ingredients sourced locally. This in turn pushes our input cost.

3.Though Michelin stars have not come to India yet, we have been praised by many discerning global travelers for having a Michelin quality restaurant in our establishment. If we therefore compare the prices of some Michelin restaurants in London, then three course offering there could easily be priced upwards of 90 – 120 pounds per person and is not uncommon. We are considerably cheaper than that average check.

Nevertheless, we take your feedback and critique on board whole heartedly and will endeavour to always ensure that the pricing is not unreasonable in comparison to the quality and ambience that we provide as compared to anywhere else in the world.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    601
    132
    38
    35
See reviews for
341
536
197
1,281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Amazing hotel. perfect view from hotel room........... value for money!! hotel has good food and perfect menu. it is good option if you are in Delhi and want to have a perfect stay, be it business or personal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSOLANKI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We have noted your appreciation for the hotel and I am glad to know that you had a perfect stay. While we thank you for your kind compliments the same has been communicated to all the concerned.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Well when it comes to hotels the name " Taj" by itself says a lot. So when we planned our North India trip we traveled to many places and stayed in hotels like sheraton & Le Meridian . In delhi we had booked The Taj vivanta . We were a group of 6 and had 2 rooms for 4 nights . When we checked in we were extremely disappointed by the lobby and the service. The rooms were outdated and the elevator and the corridors smelled of moth balls. We couldn't stay there for a minute . We spoke to the front desk manager and asked him to change our booking to another property since this property did not meet the standards of a TAJ. He shifted us to the Taj Palace . The lobby was grand clean and the service was excellent. The staff was courteous. But the rooms given to us were terrible. They were very small and outdated. The bathroom was old and small. It didn't have an exhaust system and also there wasn't a shower . It was having a tub which looked like from the 70"s
The TAJ was a big disappointment . I would rather stay at a Radisson. So next time don't just go for the name.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsonam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

I have noted your comments and have passed on the same to my colleague - the General Manager of Vivanta by Taj, Ambassador to respond to your experience during your stay there.

While I thank you for your appreciation of the Lobby public areas and staff of Taj Palace, please allow me to respond to your concerns of quality of room. As per our records, you had booked a base category room which is located on the first floor of the hotel which are refurbished, but not renovated. This is slated to be renovated this summer. You therefore found this design to be a bit outdated and an opinion that we respect. However, kindly note that the remaining 85% of the hotels’ room inventory are only a couple of years old with a cutting edge design and fit. To experience this you would need to book our Luxury or Taj Club accommodations.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon

With best regards

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

my last stay at Taj palace was quite a very good desigion !!
The rooms are excellent and very clein.
exelent staff !!
fill like a king - evrebody tring to make you happy !!!
the brekfast was emaizing !!

Room Tip: take a pool side and high floor room - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1riel1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor with respect to your recent stay with us. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We are delighted to note your feedback with regard the rooms, service and the breakfast and have communicated the same to all the concerned.

We thank you for your kind patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

No one can beat TAJ when it comes to hospitality. The staff at taj palace is so good and warm from the moment you enter the hotel. The rooms are excellent i was in taj club room the bose music system is cherry on the top. On the whole it was nice experience to stay at taj palace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pratiek786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, thank you very much for taking time off from your schedule and giving us your feedback.

It is really heartening to get your acknowledgement about the hospitality and services extended to you during your stay at our hotel and especially that of the Taj Club rooms and the Bose music system. It is certainly very encouraging to get this feedback from you, which indeed goes a long way to improve and exceed our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests

Thanking you once again and looking forward to your continued patronage of the Taj Palace Hotel.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Well when it comes to hospitality, I guess no one can beat TAJ!!

Normally I used to avoid Taj properties for the sheer reason that what lacked was modern amenities... But my last stay at Taj palace was quite a good surprise, upgraded and modernized rooms. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Try and get the upgraded rooms, the entry level rooms are not quite that good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coonal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your last stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction during your last stay with us. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Taj Palace Hotel staff welcomes with so much warmth that you are sold to their service right at the entrance. They make sure that you properly attended without wasting any time. I arrived on pre-booking and all my documents had been kept ready. The rooms had interesting letters waiting for me with information about Delhi and some help notes for going around the place. Every fine detail in the room is well thought of. The excessive use of marble leaves you mesmerised. Overall, a wonderful experience of staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdhishAlawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing with us your kind feedback in the Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read your positive feedback with regard to our service, pre booking formalities, the information on Delhi pre placed in your rooms etc and would like to thank you for the same. I have communicated the same to all the concerned.

Thank you too, for your encouragement which will make us strive harder for exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage of the Taj Palace and to the opportunity to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
#11 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing