We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the Taj experience”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly the Taj experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Taj is the epitome of luxury and the Taj palace is luxury personified.
Regret staying for a night only.
Location excellent, surprise surprise was upgraded to executive club room. staff were truly caring and warm to make our little leisure time special.
Bathrooms good with tub and seperate shower area, good to relax after a tiring day of meetings.
Restaurant is awesome no two thoughts about it, the Indian lunch is by far the best I have had anywhere in India.
Banquet facilities are appropriate for both small and big meetings. ours proceeded flawlessly.
Checkin and checkout was quick with thoughful staff offering packed breakfast for our early morning flights.
Keep it up Taj !

Room Tip: igher rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombaynomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for sparing your time and giving us your valuable feedback.

It is really heartening to get your acknowledgement about the hospitality and services extended to you during your stay at our hotel. It is certainly very encouraging to get this feedback from you, which indeed goes a long way to improve and exceed our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests. Your feedback has been communicated to all the concerned staff.

We thank you for your kind patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    639
    139
    40
    44
See reviews for
380
567
208
1,376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very good experience staying here, nice rooms, nice lobby, nice interior of the hotel, good service, a bit too strict in security checking, good options for restaurants inside hotel, all in all a good hotel but price is on the upper upper upper side, so if your budget permits then look no further.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishalrpanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your kind compliments for our hotel which is much appreciated

We have also noted your comments with regard to the security procedures at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the same. However, in view of the current environment and associated security risks it is of paramount importance that we do not compromise on security procedures. Though it would be a little inconvenient and cause a few more minutes delay, it will ensure absolute safety for all our guests. Hope you will understand a few minutes of delay and hardship caused to the guest goes a long way in ensuring safety and security.

Thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Staying at The Taj has been one of my best hotel experiences across the world. The service standard at The Taj Palace is unmatchable and to my mind one of the biggest reasons why everything else at the hotel seems the best too. From the doormen, to the bellboys, waiting staff, front desk, even to the cleaners going about their work, the hospitality is absolutely brilliant.

The rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable with lavish toilets/baths. The rooms have music systems for guests to sit back and relax and the housekeeping is like none I have seen before. They folded clothes better than I would iron them! The facilities at the hotel are excellent and well thought out. From the spa, to the putting greens, the hotel offers a lot for their guests to do.

The dining facilities too are excellent and one needn't step out of the hotel at all. All in all an excellent experience and definitely the hotel to choose if in New Delhi.

My only grouse was that the hotel did not have hand jets in the loo, which being an Indian hotel in India is absolutely unacceptable. Barring this minor glitch, this is probably one of the best star hotels in India.

Room Tip: Choose a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander5upertramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for sparing your time and giving us your valuable feedback.

It is really heartening to get your acknowledgement about the hospitality and services extended to you during your stay at our hotel. It is certainly very encouraging to get this feedback from you, which indeed goes a long way to improve and exceed our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

I have noted your comments with regard to hygiene faucets in the bath rooms. Unfortunately, it is not possible for us to retrofit the hygiene faucet as it will involve major work including breaking of the marble cladding or ceiling tiles in the bathroom. We have however, taken your feedback on board and for the next set of renovation planned for the remaining two floors in the hotel, we will definitely create the same in all or at least a few rooms with this bathroom amenity. This is likely to happen during the renovations planned to happen in the summer of 2014.

We thank you for your patience and for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in Dec 2013 for 3 nights and was very pleased with staff and service.rooms are spacious and clean and as ours was a Club rooms it was awesome !! Travel desk also were v helpful and they provide custom tours depending on the needs of the guests ..loved their free breakfast v much and was delightfully surprised to get South Indian breakfast daily -idli,dosa,vada made by their excellent Tamil cook Mani..
I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and to single ladies traveling as it's is v secure

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spnyc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback with regard to your stay with us in December, 2013. We have noted your kind words for our staff, service, Taj Club room, Travel desk and buffet breakfast and thank you for the same.

Thank you for your appreciation for Chef Mani which has been communicated to him.Needless to say, it is such comments from our esteemed guests that motivate us to perform better and exceed the expectations of our guests.

We thank you for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed at this property and cannot find anything to criticize. It is a beautiful hotel with all that one would expect. You can expect to pay accordingly. Food was excellent, service was gracious without being overbearing. We stayed during the Diwali Festival. The hotel decorations were lovely. Expect tight security-cars are routinely checked thoroughly with a dog and mirrors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace, New Delhi.

We thank you for your compliments for the hotel, food and services and are also pleased to note that you found our services to be gracious without being overbearing. We would like to let you know that friendliness combined with graciousness remain our key service philosophies.

We have also noted your comments with regard to the security procedures at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the same. However, in view of the current environment and associated security risks it is of paramount importance that we do not compromise on security procedures. Though it would be a little inconvenient and cause a few more minutes delay, it will ensure absolute safety for all our guests. Hope you will understand a few minutes of delay and hardship caused to the guest goes a long way in ensuring safety and security.

Thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel lives up to its 5 star billing - as does the bill. Luckily for me, the latter was taken care of by an organisation. The rooms are spacious and well designed, the breakfast sumptuous, with everything you'd expect from a European or N American style buffet (cereals, fruit, eggs, etc) plus plenty of Indian dishes. The service is very good, and not as obsequious as in some Indian hotels. I came back from an evening meeting to find a bubble bath with rose petals in it. All very nice, but perhaps a bit wasteful as I'd already had a shower before I had gone out. But a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I have also noted your feedback with regard to the bubble bath.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeod Ganj, India
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

For the most part, this is everything (sometimes more) than you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. Luxury and opulence abound. My previous stay was fantastic, but this time (despite my mentioning it was our honeymoon) the staff missed that opportunity.

We did, however, get given an upgrade to the Taj Club rooms, but we were (quite gruffly) told by one staff member on the checkin/out desk on the 6th floor Taj Club that the hotel had given us the upgrade at their expense and we couldn't use the Club facilities. Frankly, if you're given a Taj Club room, the facilities should be available to you, whether it's an 'upgrade' or you booked it outright. Thankfully, this staff member was only on one night. I think the upgrade was mostly given because the hotel was 3/4 empty (so it seemed and so the staff commented). That being said, we stayed here because my previous experience was lovely and because it was a special occasion - our honeymoon.

The pool was sadly closed for repairs our entire stay.

The rooms of the Taj Club and comfortable as are the beds and bathrooms. (Only trouble was with a leaking shower, a problem I've had there on my previous stay also. I think perhaps some renovation of the shower might be worth looking at.)

The buffet breakfast was good (though they always manage to overcook the bacon). The best part of our stay was the Blue Ginger restaurant meal (which I will review separately). The food was divine, Vietnamese.

All in all, 99% of the staff could not be more helpful and were very gracious. My husband was a little nervous having not stayed in such a luxurious hotel before, but they were very kind and helpful to him and myself.

I would recommend this hotel, but be sure you book carefully and book exactly what you want. Also, double check the actual hotel website, because the Xmas/New Year deals on there were not available on any other site and I missed a great opportunity.

Room Tip: Always choose poolside for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ascetylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback on our Guest Satisfaction Survey as well as on the Trip Advisor.

We thank you for your compliments for our hotel during your previous stays and particularly for Blue Ginger - our Vietnamese restaurant. The same has been communicated to the Blue Ginger team. We have also noted your feedback with respect to the shower in your room and thank you for bring this to our attention.

Regarding your recent stay with us, I completely agree with you that when guests are upgraded they should be entitled to use the facilities of the upgraded accommodation. In this case, our staff should have graciously explained and offered you facilities of the Taj Club which is also the normal practice that we follow at our hotel. The only facility which we cannot include in upgraded accommodation at Taj Club is the one way airport transfer, for obvious reasons. I have ensured that the concerned associate has been retrained on this aspect and that this briefing has also been given to all the staff concerned. Regrettably we missed the opportunity to make your honey moon stay special.

We have also found that your reservation was made through booking,com and our Christmas and New Year special rates were visible under the Special Promotions tab, which is the standardized manner in which booking.com displays their special offers.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and assure you of our best attention at all times. Look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,837 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,061 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,822 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,938 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing