We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad-Deccan, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is one hotel like all other Taj hotels which is a great place to stay. The breakfast spread includes Salmon fish which is rare thing served in hotels. I had salmon in Hotel Claridges as well and this is second hotel to do so, also rest spread is superb. The rooms are cozy and I was upgraded to club category which was a bonus. The service is awesome in all respects.

Room Tip: Facing pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84doctor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    624
    136
    40
    38
See reviews for
358
548
206
1,334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
210 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at taj palace and were upgraded to club suite.everything was excellent.
Except we were charged for the tea prepared by butler.
secondly very confusing we were billed higher rate than the agreed rate the club floor lady was not having a copy of our reservation rate. Don't understand than from where they got higher rates. I had to show the email received from the hotel to get the rate corrected still I was charged 1000rs more.
At The buffet breakfast, waiters were not up to the mark I asked for toast. He showed me the bread and toaster. I had to instruct him curtly to get the toast. My wife also asked why they were behaving like that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhashagarwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We have investigated your feedback and our explanation is as follows:

1.Tea prepared by butler was charged - We have a complimentary club lounge facility for our esteemed guests staying on the Club floors. However, any order placed from the room, to be delivered in the room is chargeable and hence the tea was charged. However, as a gesture only one tea was charged against the order for two teas.

2.Billed for a higher amount : I have investigated the billing and would like to clarify that the extra amount charged were the taxes and DVAT which is payable as per the Government rules. However, we agree that Rs.130 was erroneously charged by our associate for which we apologize and I have instructed my Finance to reverse the same on your credit card. We have also counseled the concerned associate to be more careful with regard to billing.

3.Service at the buffet breakfast : I apologize for service at the buffet breakfast which you found to be less than satisfactory and we will strive to improve our services in that area.

Please be assured that your feedback has been taken seriously and we will endeavour to live up to your expectations whenever you visit us next.

Thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed in this modern hotel in Delhi at the beginning and end of our holiday. The hotel is in the diplomatic enclave and therefore feels a bit isolated. The level of service is great. The rooms are very spacious and cannot be faulted. Make sure you use the Blue Bar during happy hour (2 drinks for the price of one - make sure you have the same drink). Breakfast was the best we had during our stay in India. There is a good choice of restaurants, some are pretty pricey. We had the buffet in the Kafe Fontana, which was very good value, only problem was the air conditioning was a bit fierce.

Room Tip: Our fourth floor room was much better than the fifth floor room we had first time round
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themoustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback dated 2nd Nov., 2013.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. While we thank you for your kind words for the Kafe Fontana, we have also noted your feedback with respect to the air conditioning which I have conveyed to our Chief Engineer who would be taking corrective steps to resolve the issue.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Taj Palace is a popular convention hotel in Delhi. After it's continuing makeover and up gradation, the property has become an attractive locale both for business and leisure visitors. We enjoyed the hospitality and service as much as the very elegant ambience and amenities at their newly refurbished suites. The food was also very good and in sync with a very fulfilling experience. When we got back from a workout at the fitness centre, there was a tray with lemon and honey water in the room with a note that the hotel wishes to match our enthusiasm for good health with a refreshing treat.

Room Tip: The suites and club rooms are outstanding. All rooms have a view of the greens or greens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we thank you for your kind feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is heartening to read your comments with respect to the hospitality, service, the ambience and amenities at the newly refurbished suites and also for the food.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Taj Palace during our business trip to India. This was my second stay at the Taj Palace and truly enjoyed it. As it was our first stop on the trip, it left all other hotels wanting. The food was excellent especially in the Orient Express where the quality of the food was only matched by the level of service. But it was our time in the executive lounge that really made our trip. The staff there, in particular Piyush, Shweta, Awanish, and Khushboo truly made our stay outstanding. Their professionalism, attentiveness, and friendliness made the start and end of each day pleasurable and relaxing. A special thank you to them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your kind feedback in the Trip Advisor.

We have noted your feedback and thank you for your kind compliments for our European restaurant - Orient Express and also for the services at the Executive Lounge particularly for Piyush, Shweta, Awanish and Khushboo. Please be assured that this feedback has been communicated to each one of them.

Thank you for choosing the Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This is undoubtedly the best hotel in delhi...have stayed here a lot of times...never did I write a review..so here it goes,Taj is known for its service..and that's what differentiates this place to others..stayed in executive club suite..nicely done up rooms..nobody in this planet can beat Taj when it comes to service period..have no other choice when I have an option of taj...god bless the brand and the people behind...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank anilmibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, thank you very much for taking time off from your schedule and giving us your feedback.

It is really heartening to get your acknowledgement about our product and services extended to you during your stay at our hotel. It is certainly very encouraging to get this feedback from you, which indeed goes a long way to improve and exceed our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

Thanking you once again and looking forward to your continued patronage of the Taj Palace.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went for a Conference to Taj Palace a week back.....The food no doubt was just mouth watering.......Taj has been my choice as always so luckily got a chance to visit there only...
As usual the staff was very polite, amazing service.....food just tooo good

Good job guys.

Room Tip: Well, Sleep Quality , SPA , Rooms will be Not Applicable as I went for a one day conference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yati1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback with regard to your experience at Taj Palace when you visited for a Conference.

I am pleased to note that you found the food and services of our staff to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,766 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 716 in New Delhi
3,653 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing