We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretentious and absurdely over priced”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pretentious and absurdely over priced”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We had heard about the Taj and as it was just across the road from our Hotel ITC Maurya, we decided to go across for a change of scenery. First impressions are it is a very ornate and grand hotel with lots of white marble. We went to the bar to get a drink only to find a bottle of 'imported' beer which costs £2 in London costs INR 880 (£11). So we asked about the local Kingfisher beer which we know costs INR 50 (it is printed on the bottle) and were blown over to find it costs INR 750 (1,500% mark-up)....

The service was non-existent other than trying to get us to buy another bottle - which we very definitely declined. We will not be going back - I did enquire about how much rooms were and although higher than our they were not horrific, but I believe they run these as loss leaders enticing you in - then getting you with the indefensible price hikes on drinks et al.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,837
    614
    135
    40
    36
See reviews for
348
545
201
1,309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Riding up to the hotel, my first impression was that of a tragic 1970's honeycombed concrete monstrocity. Going through the ample security and into the main lobby, I was relieved to find that the grounds were well manicured and that the inside public areas had been updated. There were fresh flowers with lots of marble and mirrors and some atmospheric Indian furnishings. We had a double room overlooking the pool and putting green on the third floor. The beds were small and uncomfortble but the linens and towels were of high quality. This room clearly had not been updated or refurbished in many, many years but was quite clean. Others in our group reported that their rooms were spacious and beautiful, ours was neither. So I'm sure that at least SOME of the rooms must be updated and tasteful. The view from the room was actually quite lovely giving the impression that you are overlooking a park and green area rather than downtown Delhi. We had lunch and dinner in the ballroom downstairs. Both were buffets with Indian and Western selections. The food was unremarkable and the service was generally attentive. I did enjoy my massage at the spa, which was tucked away in the basement in a small but relatively empty space. 'Adequate' is the word that best describes my experience at the Taj Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a refurbished room. Many of the standard doubles have not recently been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The public rooms of the Hotel are lovely but our room was 'tired' and there was evidence of remedial work in the bathroom. Some refurb of the bedrooms is required. Others in our party were on the club floor and said the suites were very nice. The room was adequate and comfortable but not 5 star standard.

However public rooms, restaurants and bars were beautiful and service was very good.

We had dinner in the Vietnamese restaurant and had one of the best meals we have ever had.

The sites were quite a distance away and traveling was time consuming because of the Delhi traffic.

For airport transfer, there is a metro station a couple of minutes taxi away where you can check in a ride the train to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

First of all the best and worst bits of this hotel are its location. Only 20 minutes from the airport is a good start, but then you're miles away from anywhere or anything.

But the hotel is excellent, everything you'd expect from a luxury hotel including a putting green......class. There's plenty of staff all of whom have a modicum of usefulness with enough at check in and check out to make it as pain free as possible, something that Indian hotel in general like to make as ridiculously tough as possible.

The bar and food are mega expensive especially for the less wealthy guest, £8-10 for a beer is steep unless you're in the Alps.

But it's a good choice; more than acceptable Delhi hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. When we were walking towards the entrance we were warmly greeted, doors were opened for us and we stepped into the beautiful lobby.
Our room was spotless, beautiful, red roses in a vase. I cannot say enough about this hotel. The breakfasts were buffets and they had everything on them for us.
We really enjoyed our stay so much and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NATHEER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old bridge, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is unbelievably clean, up to date, superb rooms, unbelievable service, excellent food , extremely courteous hotel personnel. The 24 hour food cafeteria is a blessing especially since overseas guests arrive late at night. You are treated like special customers right from the time you enter the hotel enterance where a front desk person is waiting to greet you and guide you to your room. The buffet breakfast is unbelievable with every thing a guest wishes to eat prepared in your presence and the outside area next to the pool is just refreshing to have breakfast or lunch or dinner out. The entire staff is unbelievably helpful and courteous which included the restaurant managers, servers and even the chef. It is a visit every one coming to new delhi needs to experience once in a life time.

Room Tip: all rooms are superb but request rooms facing the pool area and no other requirement is needed to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biopharm34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the moment you arrive and are picked up at the airport the staff at the entrance give a great welcome - every time! The smell of jasmine hits your senses as you walk into the lobby. We stayed on the club floor, which was excellent and the club lounge was super. The Orient expos restaurant was incredible, as was the food. Blue Ginger is apparently 'the' lace to be in Delhi and can get crowded with the in crowd, but was super during the day or at night when the candles are lit. Masala Art restaurant was also great, as was the tea lounge. The only not so good areas was the decor and service in Kafe Fontana, albeit the food was fine, and the unhelpful staff in the shop! The spa facilities need a revamp, but the pool and pitch and put areas were excellent. If you are running a big event - wedding or conference - the hotel knows how to pull the stops out!

Room Tip: Go for the Executive Floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
#13 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing