We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditionally Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Ranked #7 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The white sparkling marble flooring ,ethnic indian decor and staff dressed in Indian attire, all together gives you the royal experience. Although rooms (at least where i stayed) on second floor are old and needs renovation.

Food is superbly amazing,tried the Indian restaurant Masala Art. food is awesome specially the fresh sugar cane juice. It some some nice open pool.

Room Tip: I was allocated the room near to service entry at 2nd floor the room has lots of noises, please avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,067 - 2,073 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stay here quite often as part of my business trips here. Initially used to hate it because I found the butlers on the executive floors acting high handed and boorish. But over the years, I have discovered that staff at other levels are very friendly and that's waht distinguishes it as a Taj property.
The hotel's grand entrance is a wonderful sight and the choice of restraunts is quite good here. If you are not staying in the executive floors, ask for rooms on 4th and 5th floors. They are renovated and look just like the ones on the 6th to 8th floor minus the butler service. The 1st and 3rd floor rooms are the oldest and need renovation. You can still see old unadjustable shower heads and cracked tiles in the bathroom.
For a regular guest, I find that the in room dining menu has been the same over the past 5 years. It's time they change it according to the season. The vietnamese food they have here is great!!!

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor if you are put up in the standard rooms, 4th and 5th floors for deluxe rooms and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When you book in at the Taj you expect excellent service and excellent quality
that exactly what you get from the time you get out of your car or taxi to the memento you leave.
We had two fantastic days at the Taj and it was a super way to finish a budget holiday as we stayed at some great 3 and 4 start hotels in India for half the price but here we got the super luxury that you can get only in India for what in the price in UK you would only get average service .

Keep up your standard Taj and keep your staff they were all superb in providing helpful advice when it was needed.
The VIP lounge staff on the 7th floor also need a special mention as they were also super

Room Tip: try the VIP lounge and ask if you need help as to how to travel in Delhi and which shops to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Whilst the building structure reflects the architecture of the seventies, this is exceptionally well appointed inside and out, with a superb garden and pool. The interior decorative standards are particularly high. Guests enter via steps into a tea lounge decorated with local art and overlooking the garden. Rooms are pleasantly laid out and many overlook the garden.

The hotel offers 4 separate restaurant areas each with its own focus and budget level. The quality in the three I tried was exceptional, though on the days I was only a little peckish it proved challenging to find a small dish, though the tea lounge did make sandwiches and rolls.

Staff were always helpful and the hotel was efficiently run. The concierge service was helpful and supportive, particularly in arranging transport. Transport is essential because the hotel is situated some way from New Delhi and public transport is either unavailable or unsuitable. The metro line near the hotel was closed for refurbishment.

The overall experience of two weeks was very pleasant.

Room Tip: A higher floor facing the garden was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller25351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Taj Palace in Jan 2013 and found it to be an excellent accommodation. This was our first trip to India and we appreciated a fine hotel as our first night. It exceeded a four star in my opinion, but not quite a five star by US standards. The room was excellent for us, especially after we figured out how to close the blind on the glass wall of the bathroom!
We ate a number of meals at their buffet and found them to be good. I'm not crazy about Indian food, but found enough European food to keep me alive.
The property is part of the Taj chain across India, apparently owned by the Tata Group. We mostly stayed in them during our Odysseys Unlimited tour.
We would definitely stay there if we go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devarbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel was a part of our UCLA Alumni/Odyssey Tour. We knew we would be staying in five-star hotels, but did not really know how to interpret that. Even though we arrived after 4:00 in the morning, a full staff was ready and available to serve us. The lobby is spacious and impressive, with a giant marble staircase, brass chandeliers and hundreds of colorful flower arrangements. Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable with a modern glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom. We were a bit put off by the lack of privacy, until we noticed the remote control for a rolled shade. The breakfast buffet satisfied our American palates, and the Masala Art Restaurant serving Indian cuisine was excellent. We really enjoyed the view of the pool, although the weather did not encourage its use. We were quite comfortable here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is a very nice property in a nice and safe surrounding. The bar is very good and the staff is very friendly and helpful! Nevertheless it is not a new property, so for example the pool is not the newest standard, but it is still a huge and nice pool. I would absolutely go there again!
Just opposite the hotel is a beauty spa, where we went for getting our hair done, because we had to attend a wedding. this place is also very nice and much cheaper than the hair spa in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anique1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,907 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,118 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,962 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#27 of 715 in New Delhi
2,807 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 715 in New Delhi
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi

Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India (Formerly Taj Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $165 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, is spread out over six acres of lush gardens in the heart of India’s capital city. It is an oasis of calm while still being right in the middle of the city’s action. Not surprisingly, then that our 403 rooms and suites have played gracious host to princes, heads of state, corporate czars and high-powered conferences and the grandest of weddings for close to four decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing