We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely but not perfect”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“lovely but not perfect”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Taj Palace during our second trip to New Delhi. The hotel is lovely but seemed just a tiny bit tired. The staff was very pleasant and very helpful when we asked but the service was short of what we experienced during our previous stay (at another chain) where the staff had the uncanny ability to anticipate our needs. An exception, however, was the staff at the Jiva Spa within the hotel. My husband and I both had massages, each with a different masseuse and we both thought the experience was the best we ever had--anywhere in the world. I sat and read for an hour next to the pool a few mornings and the staff there was also outstanding. Overall, the Taj Palace was really very nice, especially for the price, but not quite 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    624
    136
    40
    38
See reviews for
358
548
206
1,334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
296 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

....quite perfect. We stayed a total of 4 nights spread over three visits here on a recent holiday trip to Delhi. The rooms were assigned as part of the tour and we experienced 2 different grades, both were excellent. Some silly details irritated (eg crazy sliding doors on executive rooms, cumbersome drinks cabinets and high priced internet access) but the beds were amazing and the quality of the rooms was very good. So why not an overall excellent rating? The big let down was the dire level of restaurant service which was hard to believe. Let's be clear, the food was great, but the staff in the restaurants were poorly trained and managed. They had little idea of good manners or appropriate service. Plates were not cleared, coffee was cold, meals were served erratically; overall very poor for the kind of hotel. An exception was the Vietnamese restaurant and the poolside service, both great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited this hotel on three one-night occasions during our Great Rail Journey Tour of the Golden Triangle. Each time we were given a different room. On all three occasions the rooms were spotless, quiet, comfortable and well appointed. We went to a different restaurant each night and were not disappointed. The choices were well cooked and very tasty. Buffet style did mean occasionally having to queue or having to wait for a new serving of a particular choice. In one restaurant we ate a Vietnamese meal whilst in another it was traditional Indian. Both were excellent and the service matched. Buffet breakfast had vast choices of Indian and European foods with cereals, hot and cold choices and fruit.
What did surprise in a low-cost country was the prices being charged for local drinks. The normal for a small Kingfisher Beer was 600 Rupees which at approx 80/£ was exhorbitent - but we were 5 star!
We did thinkl that whilst all of the staff were very helpful, (even down to the lad that turned on the tap and pressed the soap dispenser in the toilets), we did find the place seemed deserted particularly when we found that the basement of the hotel houses not one but two conference centres. Where were all the people?
Throughout the hotel everything was pristine, and so it should be when it was the hotel of choice for tthe President of France (on our second visit) and on our last morning our own Prime Minister arrived (which made our departure rather hasty to avoid the extra security.)
Our opinion is for general travellers it is too far away from the real Delhi being in the 'Embassy Quarter' of New Delhi.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view- these rooms seem slightly larger. try to be situated away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlpendula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip. Very pleasant and luxurious stay. Rent I would say a bit costly but overall very good experience. Rooms were in immaculate condition. Service is very good. TV has got a good choice of channels. Indian food is very good. Did not try other cuisines.

From customers' side this is an advantage but from the hotel's point of view this may be a room for cost reduction - I feel there are 10 to 15% more staff than what is required.

Location wise, very conveniently located - just 15 to 20 minutes drive from the airport and close to tourist attractions.

For those of the visitors who want to leave early in the morning either for a trip to Agra or other tourist locations or want to leave for Airport, decent cold breakfast is available even at 5 AM .

For those of you, who want to catch up with their jogging, very close to one of the recommended jogging routes.

Would not recommend this hotel if you are cost conscious or on the look out for value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool side are quite picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our tour had booked us into a different hotel but we were changed to the Taj Palace when the original hotel became unavailable. It is in a respectable if slightly dull diplomatic part of Delhi, with a long view of empty land and roads. Security is taken very seriously- vehicles and luggage are checked at the entrance to the drive. It's a luxurious place, with lots of staff standing about ready to be helpful. Our room was well appointed, with a big and comfortable bed. Although it was a room for two, there was only one easy chair and a sort of pouffe. The bathroom also had glass walls, which seemed a pointless design feature and potentially rather disturbing until we discovered the electric blinds. Meals were fine- we were on the tour menu, so didn't have much choice of food beside the buffet, but the small selection was satisfactory and one evening we had some excellent lamb cutlets. Puddings were attractive and varied. The dining rooms were rather dark and sometimes cold- this was February. Drinks were heavily overpriced. All in all, it was comfortable and looked palatial but I felt it lacked charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseabunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been a regular at this hotel and it's always been a very good experience. This hotel has one of the biggest facility for hosting conferences and they conduct it also in a very appropriate manner. Sometimes back I'd seen it displayed there that this hotel ranked amongst the top 50 in the world and I would say very deservedly. The property has been recently renovated and it was indeed very refreshing. The staff is very courteous and prompt. The highpoint which I always enjoy is the breakfast which has all the varieties. The pool is very well maintained; only I couldn't use it because of the weather. Would always like to return back here.

Room Tip: The room which I always prefer is the one facing the pool. You also have a view of the road, metro a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjaymehta503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Taj Palace is a wonderful hotel for anyone visiting Delhi. It has superb service, comfortable rooms, and excellent restaurants. What makes this hotel so wonderful to me is the India charm that is captured in the lobby/tea room/lounge. Unlike many high end hotels, the Taj Palace has managed to maintain a peaceful lobby/lounge area in a hotel that is large and full of services. The spa and pool area are beautiful and the staff cannot be more helpful and kind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,766 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 716 in New Delhi
3,653 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing