We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospital employees, excellent and Clean rooms, superb service and very polite front desk people”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hospital employees, excellent and Clean rooms, superb service and very polite front desk people”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was an amazing experience to stay in this hotel. The rooms were superbly clean and luxuriously furnished and house keeping staff were unbelievably efficient and wonderful . The front desk people were unbelievably courteous, polite and helpful. They folllowed up with my demands with unbelivable efficiency. The food was excellent in all the restaurants. The location is unbeleivably charming and many rooms face the swimming pooland garden area which is so refreshing. The restaurant staff were very courteous, polite and wonderful to interact with. The only petty thing this hotel does is to charge approx $10 per day for internet service even for people like me who are in the inner circle membership.

Room Tip: request rooms facing the swimming pool areas on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suraj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    625
    136
    40
    38
See reviews for
360
550
206
1,335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really OLD "5*" hotel!
Club rooms on top club floor are poorly furnished. Central conditioning system makes such a noise you can't sleep.
NO alco license in 24HR coffee-shop in 5* hotel is NONSENSE!
Food:
Young Indian boy - Chef of "Authentic Vietnamese" restaurant Blue Ginher - as a result - "Traditional Vietnamese prawns" but with 100% tandoori taste, etc... Vietnamese food - taste INDIAN! DO NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL!!!
Breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Never sure about a city Taj property, after staying at both the Coromandel (Chennai) and Taj's other Delhi property, the Mansingh, both junk properties. But this hotel came as a really pleasant surprise. Got a room on the Club floor, with a lovely view of green expanses and a Gurudwara. The check-in was flawlessly quick, efficient and very polite. I needed a reservation at the Blue Bar, which was promptly arranged for me. ( F&B Tips - The Blue Bar next to the lawns of the hotel is one of the nicer Delhi nightspots, and worth a visit. The Orient Express is a lovely Haute cuisine restaurant set in an old-style paneled train-car, and perfect if you have time for a leisurely dinner. Masala Art serves good North Indian food). Rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The odd glass partition between the bathroom and room, actually works alright if you are a single business traveller. I asked for my suit and shirts to be pressed and they had it done in less than an hour. The gym/spa area in the hotel is a bit of a disappointment as it looks like it hasn't been renovated in over 15 years, and rightfully doesn't carry a 'Jiva' branding. The gym equipment is very usable but looks more like an 'exercise room' than a '5* hotel gym'. Beds are very very comfortable. The breakfast on the club floor is good for a hurried bite in a beautiful atmosphere, but get to the main breakfast for a proper meal. Stay at the Taj Palace when on business in Delhi - you can't go wrong. For a sight-seeing, leisure trip, it's probably as good, but a little further away from places like Red Fort, Humayun's Tomb, Qutb Minar, Lotus Temple than other options.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room instead of a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BombayBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Taj was an amazing experience...Comfortable luxurious rooms , amazing attentive service ... We had checked in early with our kids. There was only one room available however they swiftly provided us with a temporary room ensuring that we were comfortable ....What was remarkable was that there were presidents at the hotel owing to some conference yet the staff still assisted us ensuring that our stay was relaxing. The location of the hotel was convenient. Undoubtedly a superlative hotel....The spa and gym were conveniently placed with guests receiving amazing service at the spa. The restaurants provided a huge selection to suit all palates.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxmiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Tripadvisor truly does not allow enough stars to rate this hotel!! We stayed at the Taj Palace as a treat for the end of a spectacular holiday in India. The stay was truly a highlight for us, and a great way to end our trip. There are three brands of the Taj chain (Taj, Vivanit, and Gateway). I have stayed in several 5 star hotels, and I can honestly say this is about the best hotel I have stayed in. Of course, it was expensive, but that is to be expected and given the quality and service it was outstanding value. The service was incredible. Every member of staff was friendly and extremely attentive. One of the 'butlers' walked us down from our room to the restaurant in the evening; in the morning, another walked us down from our room to check-out. The manager came up as we were checking out to make sure everything was fine. The rooms were fabulous, spacious and very comfortable. Wonderful amenities and nice little touches throughout. The bathroom was amazing - large, elegant. We ate in the Indian restaurant, which was fantastic. Expensive, but to be expected. I commented to the waiter on how I liked a couple of the dishes we had, and he offered to send me the recipes (they were in my inbox when I returned from holiday!). The breakfast buffet was excellent - good quality and huge variety. We were upgraded to the Business Centre floor, which gave us access to the lounge (free drinks and snacks), which was a great treat. Hotel is located in the embassy area, so there is not much around. It is about 20 minute taxi ride to airport.

Room Tip: If you can stay on one of the Business floors, would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We originally stayed at the ITC Muraya in Delhi, but we were so put off by the lack of service and professional standards we cancelled our second leg booking and stayed a night at the Taj Palace Hotel instead. This is what 5 star quality should be about. Staff was courteous, helpful and straight to the point. We felt special as guests, and even food in the various restaurants were excellent. I headed to the gym and came back to my room with a nice surprise - a concoction of lime water, salt and honey to recover the nice old way. Best I ever had in India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved every minute we spent here. Service was outstanding and the hotel is just beautiful. We weren't big fans of Indian food but that is just a personal taste. We can't say enough about how the service was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybtraveller_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,772 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,006 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 715 in New Delhi
3,665 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,669 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing