We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's the little things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 694 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's the little things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at the Taj Palace for 8 days and it's the little things that make it stand out. An older hotel but one that has been recently refurbished and kept in immaculate order throughout. Check in was very fast, greeted with flower garland and red Bindi spot, reception staff were exceptionally friendly and courteous, escorted to our rooms and offered a complimentary welcome drink and fresh fruit. Cases turned up within minutes whereupon I found I'd not packed my shaving razor, a quick call to guest services produced a complimentary shaving kit within minutes.

The rooms were very well appointed, excellent Tea and Coffee making facilities with a well stocked, albeit pricey, mini bar. Comfortable firm beds facing a Large Flat screen TV with lots of channels and a DVD player with a large library of films available from guest services. LED lighting with control panels by the bed(s) to control the various lights and window blinds. The trend of putting a glass partition between bathroom and bedroom in a twin room always puzzles me. It's fine if you are travelling with your partner but it's not something I really want when travelling with friends and occupying a twin room. Thankfully there's an electrically operated screen in the bathroom. Beds are turned down each evening with a flower and mat and slippers placed by your bed, all nice little touches.

The staff throughout our stay were, without exception, exceptionally courteous and friendly, always willing to take the time to chat, answer questions, nothing ever seemed too much trouble, always greeting you with the time of day and a big smile.

The food was excellent throughout and the Orient Express has to be experienced. Not cheap but it tries to recreate the elegance and ambiance of the famous train dining carriage. There are 4 main restaurants in total with the main one operating 24 hours. There are two main bars and they do operate a dress code so no shorts, even outside the Blue bar on the terrace.

We were aware that WiFi was available for an extra charge but felt it was quite expensive. We weren't aware and only found out on the second to last day that you could have a half-hour complimentary use of a PC in the business center each day to check emails, check in for flights, etc. It's just a little thing but it would have made a lot of difference to us if we'd have been told at check-in. Similarly, the main Blue Bar operates a happy hour between 6pm and 8pm, buy one drink and get one free, again this wasn't mentioned, it just happened to turn up in conversation with the bar staff.

The hotel has a large pool and 9-hole mini golf course at the rear, surrounded by the bar and restaurant terraces. The hotel is situated next to the main ring road so there is always the constant sound of traffic horns to shatter what would be a very tranquil and relaxing area. That said the noise isn't at all oppressive and you tend to forget about it after a while.

Having stayed at a good number of 5* hotels I can say that this was one of my best experiences. The excellent decoration, overall cleanliness and attentive service make for a very enjoyable experience and one I wouldn't hesitate to repeat if I return to Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cerbera_4point5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    507
    109
    30
    32
See reviews for
264
430
168
1,049
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I enjoyed staying here. The service and food is very good. The location is a little away from major attractions and near embassies. Also there aren't any shopping arcades which would have been helpful given the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
347 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Unfortunately we only got to stay one night as we were on a tour. The staff could not be more helpful. The food was very good. Rooms are comfortable. The glass walled bathrooms are "interesting" with both a tub and rainfall shower. The electric shades are neat. I cannot rate value, as we were on tour and room was included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very good staff, professional and friendly. The rooms are a nice fit out. The whole place s clean. The food is very good as well, both room service and restaurant .
I have stayed at this hotel several times, but every time I nearly go out of my find with the doors slamming up & down the hall. Most of the time it is the maid going in and out of the rooms in the morning.
At the end of the day if you are getting woken up all the time by doors slamming every few minutes none of the other "nice" stuff at the hotel matters one bit.

Room Tip: Get a room right at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harp46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I landed in DElhi late night in november,
I reached Taj palace hotel very drowsy.The welcome and the friendly nature of the staff woke me up.The lobby leads into a nice widening staircase ,very welcoming.
The checkin was fast and smooth,the staff even led me to my room and were ready to aqaint me with the facilities even t this late hour.
The bed was was comfy and I had a very peaceful sleep.
The breakfast spread is really awesome and so are the staff including the chef,infact I overate!
The antiques displayed at the lobby and the artifacts ,asthetically dusplayed all over the hotel are a treat to watch and photograph as well.
Also the TV channel on the history of Taj as in all their properties is wortth watching for the lovely history that is so well narrated.
My stay was for just one night ,i has been a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank govindbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

You are well taken care of by the steward and gives u the feel that u are in the train - traveling.

My choice of food served the way i like it.

Gives a MAHARAJA feel.

A must visit place for all who come as tourist to Delhi as this place gives the feel of TRUE Indian hang out - obviously POSH...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourism24June292012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I arrived at the hotel at 5 am in the morning after a long flight from Europe. Not only was I checked in and given a room right away, I was also served freshly brewed complementary coffee in my room. The hotel staff are among the friendliest I have ever seen. Every door is being opened for you with a smile and you cannot spend more than 5 minutes at the large pool without being served complementary water and sweets. The quality of the food is just outstanding. There are several restaurants within the hotel serving everything from Vietnamese to continental food. There is a very nice bar area outside, where you can spend your evening listening to music and having a drink in the most compfortable sofas. The hotel organises everything for you, from cars to laundry. When I requested a late check-out, I could decide myself when I wanted to leave. The interior of the hotel is of the finest and most impressive quality, using local art and furniture throughout. I would recommend this hotel pretty much to anybody. Even if you usually don't stay in luxury hotels or spend a lot of money on hotels, you should definitely not miss this experience. I would not stay at any other hotel in New Delhi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 694 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,173 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#6 of 694 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#11 of 694 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 694 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#1 of 694 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing