We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best hotel in Delhi”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Easily the best hotel in Delhi”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Absolutely fantastic hotel. Arrival was a great treat, with the hotel going out of their way to make me feel special and welcome. Escorted to the room to check in directly, which is always a nice touch. With it's location it has a fantastic outlook of open space - something not common in India.

The pool is absolutely huge, and provides a great place to relax, with lovely complimentary touches like water and fresh juice.

Rooms have been freshened up, but are not exactly modern. Not a big issue though, with plenty of space.

Food and drinks in the hotel are fantastic - and the bar is extremely popular late at night and on weekends.

Overall though it's the service and attention to detail that set this hotel apart. Knowing we had a day trip early in the morning, the restaurant staff packed us a fantastic pack to take along for the day - a great example of their thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    624
    136
    40
    38
See reviews for
358
548
206
1,334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at the Taj Palace are "incredible". Within a couple of days they addressed us by name, they knew and anticipated our habits and were overall extremely attentive. We were impressed by their attention to detail and the level of hygiene was extreme - housekeeping wore hair nets when cleaning your room. When we were away for a few days staff welcome us back and asked about our trip to Goa. They expect only the highest standard for themselves.

The hotel has a very good layout with two wings straddling a courtyard with a pool surrounded by palm trees. Sitting at the pool, we felt that we could been in a beachside resort - only the distant sound of honking cars reminded us that we were in downtown New Delhi . In general the restaurants are excellent - breakfast at Cafe Fontana served from Masala Dosa to French Cheese and Fresh Bread, the tasting menu at the Masala Art is a must and the Blue Ginger (Vietnamese) was good for a break from Indian spices.

When in Delhi, I know where I will stay.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms that face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubiSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved this property, which is well located in Delhi for sightseeing. Large rooms with awesome facilities. The breakfast buffet had a huge range to choose from and the coffee was fabulous! Fantastic spa! Would recommend and stay again!

Room Tip: My room was located at the end of the hallway, on a corner overlooking the city and hotel entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CB1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A truly beautiful hotel, with (it seems) more staff than guests, all of whom could hardly be more attentive. Delightful small touches, too: whilst I was in the fitness room a member of staff was dispatched to deliver a cocktail of fruit juices to rehydrate me on my return to the room (no charge). Our disappointment was the cuisine, which was dearer but no better than other hotels we sampled in India. (And there's not much choice nearby). Also, despite the number of staff, the service was quite slow. But nonetheless a really luxurious experience.

Room Tip: Handy for airport - about 20 - 30 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaxterNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Away from the usual tourist area and in an area that is wall to wall government ministries and embassies, so maybe not the first choice if you're a tourist with too little time and too much to see.

If you do decide to stay here, the hotel is newly refurbished and top notch. Excellent, warm and genuinely friendly service, staff that are eager too please and anticipate your every need (and this is something I haven't seen in other Taj hotels before, or in all that many hotels that I can think of)

I just finished a three day stay for a conference - and this hotel is easily capable of hosting a medium to large one, and ensuring that the logistics from the hotel's side just don't slip up.

Excellent food, especially in Blue Ginger, the vietnamese restaurant which has excellent plating and presentation, though the Pho was a little less flavorful than I have had at a street stall in hanoi (which is the real thing, and very hard to beat, so well played there, chef @ blue ginger)

The breakfast spread at Cafe Fontana is extensive, and ample, with made to order waffles, omelets, parathas and puris (oh, and a rather larger selection of cereal and cheeses than I've seen in some other hotels, I counted five or six of each). A good supply of Yakult probiotic milk, and handmade yogurt in little earthenware pots along with the Nestle yogurt in the cold section makes it excellent. Stewed fig juice along with the usual three or four fruit juices, all fresh and nothing out of a carton.

The room I was in, on the 4th floor, was large and had a great poolside view. Big flatscreen TV and a comfortable bed (and an extremely warm duvet, which I kicked off as the aircon set to 21 degrees C made it quite unnecessary)

The usual security check at the hotel gate, with friendly dogs. The hotel security staff seems to rotate between a black lab and a shepherd cross, both very eager to lick you and sniff for cookies, I must say. I am not sure how good they'd be at detecting a bomb, unless of course it happened to smell like a cookie :) Well, no matter ..

All in all, an excellent stay - and well worth it if you want a superb business hotel about 20 minutes from the domestic airport. Very kid friendly so if you're a family touring Delhi and don't mind a slightly longer ride to all the tourist stuff / the main shopping areas you might consider this too.

Room Tip: take a poolside room, rather quieter and less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hserus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here on 3 seperate occasions during our tour.The hotel is a haven in a country of hustle bustle.Rooms are excellent.The higher the floor the better,but not much difference between 4th and 6th except you get a personal manager on 4th and a green bag.The breakfast food is very good ,but as with the evening meal at the same dining area the service is very erratic.The buffet is very good ,but the a la carte is very limited.
The vietnamese has a lovely setting with very good service.food ok depending on choice.
Be aware the price you see is not the price you pay as taxes can another 30%to the bill.All in all a great hotel but expensive as you would expect from a 5 star hotel,also no alternative but to eat at the hotel because of the location.Staff excellent.

Room Tip: fourth floor upwards are slightly better but all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irvSkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

not expected of a five star hotel. If you are planning a stay here on your own dime, definitely recommend considering other options.
First of all, if you are planning to stay here, PLEASE request a renovated room. It will make a whole lot of difference.
Front desk staff was below par. We had requested adjoining rooms preferably on a higher floor - called when the booking was made, and then 2 days before checking in to confirm. When we checked in, were told adjoining rooms are not available, and only rooms available are on the 2nd floor. We spoke with the floor manager, Santosh - who basically told us they can't do anything, no rooms available unless we pay Rs 15000 extra for rooms on the club floor, we decided against it. Went to the rooms - outdated rooms with poor lighting. Husband called the duty manager, and surprisingly, within 10 mins, two rooms were available on the 4th floor, and adjoining as well. Still trying to figure out what the duty manager found that Santosh could not - and wish Santosh had taken the initiative to find us the rooms when we first checked in.
While checking in AND the day we checked out, we told front desk we wanted to pay in cash and not to use the credit card. We were told they would not charge the cc until we authorized it. And then, we got the notification our cc was charged anyway. Front desk apologized for doing it and offered to cancel the transaction, said it would take 10 days to refund the money - we asked them not to bother.
We had 2 rooms, but it was going to be one bill. One party checked out a day early. The day of the first check out, we told front desk that the bill needs to be transferred to the other remaining room, especially since we are letting Room 1 go that morning. Around 9am, we let the front desk know to move our luggage from Room 1 to Room 2 and that we are now checked out of Room 1. Around 5:15pm, we asked for concierge to take the luggage down. At 5:40 we were still waiting for our luggage to be put in the car, it had not showed up. Saw it sitting with the bell captain, when asked were told they were waiting to get authorization we had paid our bill!!! We told him we need to leave, and that he should call the front desk - he sends a bellman over who saunters over casually to check this. This whole incident put us back 30 mins.
This complete breakdown of communication, the total lack of service by the front desk is not expected of a five star hotel. My rating of this hotel would have been higher if front desk consistently did not mess up. The food was good, service everywhere except for front desk was attentive, and the renovated rooms beautiful. Would I stay there again - NO - where more than one error is made by a hotel of this level in the same department, I would rather stay somewhere else which guarantees me a good experience.
Another concern - does management monitor these reviews? If there are no responses to the reviews on this hotel, do they really care about what guests are telling them?

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Desirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,766 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 716 in New Delhi
3,648 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing