We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for some goof ups and a rather haughty GM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Ranked #6 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have been staying at Taj Palace for quite some time and always prefer to stay in any Taj hotel in any city while travelling,and choose to stay at Palace over Mansingh in Delhi this time but surprisingly the staff goofed up on almost everything right from the confirmed garden luxury suite which they confirmed but didnt give ,to the very high speed elevator in which my wife and me got stuck as it woudnt open on our floor and zoomed right to the top level which really scared us, to the eerie lights and aircon which came on and off in our suite!every 10seconds by itself from 2am-430am possibly due to a faulty room access key card holder but inspite of paying so much we coudnt get a decent nights sleep!
When i asked to meet the GM-Mr Taljinder Singh on checking in and on checking out the staff didnt let me and murmered that he is busy in pressing personal matters!!No call/message/note or communication was received by me from the GM which was surprising and quite rude as he was there on a Sunday to welcome a VVIP guest but coudnt meet me at all during my entire stay of 3days!! Not done at Taj and in any service oriented establishment as i feel nobody is bigger than a hotel guest.
But i woudnt stay anywhere else as my first choice will always be the Taj.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the higher floors as the elevators are old and their spped is too fast which caus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rrg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,235 - 2,241 of 2,960 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have recently, restarted staying at Taj Palace Hotel in Delhi, over the past few months. Very well located, for travels in Delhi city, it is amongst the best 5 star hotels in Delhi. I especially like the hotel for it ambience, food and the comfortable rooms.
The breakfast menu is also very good. On my last visit, I also had a chance to use the gym, and found it really well equipped and has good trained staff. The reception desk is also very helpful, and one of the few places, very I dint have to wait too long to check-in or check-out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhijeetK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Taj palace is in the Diplomat circle in New Delhi. Secluded from the Hustle of delhi, this hotel is surrounded by embassies of US, UK and a dozen others. Nice location and about the hotel - Good. Rooms are neat and clean. Comfortable bed and nice service. Loved their Buffet spread in "The Cafe Lounge". Lunch buffet here comes with Martini. So if budget is not a constraint, this is definitely one of the top 5 choices in New Delhi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nandu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in Dec 2011. Would recommend ITC Maurya up the road, where we also spent a night.

The check in process was a pain, thanks to lack of organization around a banquet going on at the same time.

Rooms are small. Service was good. Especially appreciated the re-arranged ride to the airport in a bigger vehicle due to a departure goof up. On the house.

In short, exhibits all the signs of the illustrious name in service, but organization is poor and the property is not what one would expect of a Taj. So go for the Maurya or Oberoi or try the Mansingh if bent on Taj.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UniqueCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest hotels in India. It has a unique style and quality. There are plenty of staff but they are not always totally coordinated. The staff do try very hard but as a business traveler the hotel is not a perfect location. Having said that I believe for tourists or the leisure traveler this is an absolute must. The little extras are all there. I enjoyed my stay but I was frustrated with a few small issues.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lechiffre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall: great Taj property in a great location.

Room: we were on one of their recently upgraded floor and the room with a great view of the wooded area (Central Ridge Reserve Forest). Great beds, remote controlled blinds and a great luxurious bathroom.

Service: very attentive. Quick check-in and checkout. They okayed our request for a late checkout (3pm!-wonder if our Taj Inner circle Gold status helped us?). A refreshing welcome drink on arrival.

Food: tried the breakfast buffet, which was a tremendous spread. However the full restaurant on a warm day needed better cooling, Otherwise great bfast buffet with multiple live stations, warm breads from the oven and an amazing choice.

Other amenities: try the putting green and the amazing pool.

Room Tip: Believe all rooms overlook the pool and the wooded area. Cant go wrong. Check if the floor has been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikramAndJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was nice to receive such a pleasant welcome at this hotel at 3o'clock in the morning. The room was a delightful place to crash into bed at that time.
The breakfast was sumptuous too.
Everything was 5 star, even the ride in their limo to the airport as a concession!

Room Tip: Just leave it to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bennyvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,035 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 777 in New Delhi
2,199 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#28 of 777 in New Delhi
2,935 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi

Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India (Formerly Taj Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $132 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, is spread out over six acres of lush gardens in the heart of India’s capital city. It is an oasis of calm while still being right in the middle of the city’s action. Not surprisingly, then that our 403 rooms and suites have played gracious host to princes, heads of state, corporate czars and high-powered conferences and the grandest of weddings for close to four decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing