We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience in this Japoindian Hotel with Many +ves but few critical -ves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Ranked #59 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Experience in this Japoindian Hotel with Many +ves but few critical -ves”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked thru Internet after investing great deal of time on trip advisor. My recommendation is that please do not over read the tripadvisor else you will not be able to make a clear selection.

For me, Convenience and comfort of family was more important than Price tag so wanted to balance somehow.

this was going to be longest hotel in India (my home country) so had to be good.

Metropolitan just did that. Though I may not entirely agree with 5STAR rating but it is had everything that we needed.

Mr. Ashok Lal at main restaurant was like Alladin's Jin. Everytime we were looking for something, he appeared from nowhere. he took personal interest in ensuring that we got what we wanted.

Another BIG BIG BIG and pleasant surprise was at the Breakfast Menu. My family brougt lot of ready to eat stuff as we thought we will end up eating continental stuff in a star rated hotel. BUT?? IDLY, DOSA, PURI BHAJI, PAROTHA, ETC, ETC. My God, breakfast for 9 days became a treat in itself. PLUS MASALA CHAI completed it with iceing on a cake.

On the Problem side,

1. Booking website mentioned a separate sitting area. This was not available for 90% of the rooms in the hotel.
2. Bathroom with glass walls. Now this may sound good and romantic for couples and solo travellers, its akward for families. Shutting all lights to take shower is not possible. Possibly they should put curtains against shower wall so it allows required privacy under shower.
3. Travel Desk: Travel desk appear as if its part of the hotel. however its an independent company operating with this hotel and hotel bears no direct responsibilities of their services. We dont have major complains other than higher fares for all the services we used. The drivers provided were professional and good. The cars were good though surprisingly without any music system. not even a radio????

I recommend this hotel to every family who want to be in safe place, get good service, who enjoy Indian cusine & want to be stay in the Centre of the City.

Thanks Metropolitan Team and hope you will pay attention to some of my points.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JigarJShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    659
    229
    65
    34
See reviews for
300
398
141
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

What I like about this hotel is its connectivity to all parts of town, its walking distance (about 1 KM) from Connaught Place and about 45 mins from the Airport. The property itself is a typical business hotel, with all amenities and excellent service. Breakfast although is quite average, however room service food was good (although heavy on the pocket).
You wont find more cost effective nice hotels (still expensive) in CP area, the other big hotels are quite expensive.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor with pool facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankitg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I was there for 3 nights and had a great time. They have great food , location and great service. I had 3 meals there and all the restaurants were 5 star. I will defiantly stay here again on my next trip to India .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajbhatiamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was attending a 4 day conference at ND, with family. Central location, close to Connaught Place. Clean, good amenities as you would expect from such a hotel. Food was excellent, breakfast was sumptuous. Staff was polite and efficient, especially at Zing. Chutney Bar has really good Indian food. They also have a spa (didn't use it). The pool could do with some privacy and room ACU is a bit noisy. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sau_pandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here three nights in January, 2014. The hotel is exactly what you would expect: large, clean, and well-located. Our room was well-appointed and clean, and the windows kept out the noise of the city. The food in the main restaurant, Chutney bar offered a good selection and was very tasty. The Only Drawback was that Buffet was terrible .No taste at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekLanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel served as a base. We went on tour to Kashmir and returned to the Met. We then wen to Haridwar and returned to the Met before going on to other destinations. We left some of our luggage in storage because we only traveled with what was needed for a particular destination.

The staff were extremely helpful with regards to all our needs.. we were traveling with 2 children aged 4 and 8.

The breakfast was plentiful and was included in our stay. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and neat. The location of the hotel was perfect as it central but also on a quiet street.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool and are at least 3 doors away from the lifts are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was here only for a day but i totally enjoyed my stay. Buffet breakfast had lot of variety to chose from. Hotel staff was very polite and courteous. They even made an urgent courier picked up from reception within half an hour of our arrival. The overall ambience was peaceful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivanigaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#54 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#72 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Property: The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#39 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan-Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met & all its Outlets Sakura, Zing, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, NeoVeda Spa have been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2015 by Tripadvisor, Highly Commended Spa Hotel India 2016 & Best Sustainable Hotel India 2016 by International Hotel Awards,Excellence in Hospitality Industry 2016 by International Quality Awards,Powering Global Travel Award 2015 by GTA, Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met's passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing