We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, modern hotel with a great rain shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Ranked #48 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, modern hotel with a great rain shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel offered a break from the hustle and bustle of New Delhi. It's definitely more modern and Western style. If you had just plunked me down in the hotel and told me I was in any major city in the U.S. I would have believed you. Which may not be a good thing for everyone who is visiting India and may be looking for a more authentic experience. One huge bonus: every day they supplied a free, large bottle water and provided me with additional bottles free of charge. Also, the rain shower head was amazing! Only down side, they charge you to use the computers with Internet in the business center. They were also really slow. So I would recommend bringing your own computer and just paying for the wifi.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaP1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    554
    191
    50
    25
See reviews for
236
329
120
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and then returned for a weekend on the trip. Good clean spacious rooms, attention to detail. Nice breakfast, and attentive staff. Very helpful travel desk and front desk allowed an early check in (which was great considering we arrived at 7am after an exhausting 10hour flight!). Its a close walk to Connaught place and on a quiet street off the main road. The Chutney Restaurant was good but small portions.
I would rate this more a 4 star hotel with boutique like quality of stay rather than the advertised 5star rating.
Club room was comfortable and the access to the business center and free wifii and hotel transfers were worth the price

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location is a bit shady, but it's quite close to everything. Very clean and staff is incredibly friendly (they even helped call the phone company for us since I totally couldn't understand their english over the phone). breakfast every morning is basically the same, no surprises, but i would say no surprises is india, is a good thing..
Once you head out of the hotel, everything changes..only the hotel itself is legit. Take a taxi to go out, don't just wander/walk out. the streets are a bit scary..

Room is VERY clean, pretty decent size.


tip: when you get out of the airport, don't go for the taxis in front of the main door (where ppl will come and ask you to get on their car and talk about the price afterwards)
GO ACROSS THE STREET to the booth in the middle (thru a tunnel). the booth says something like "prepaid taxi". tell the guy in the booth which hotel you're heading to, and PAY AT THE BOOTH. they will give you a ticket/receipt and then you get on the taxi.

Or else....u'll get ripped off =]

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent one night in the Metropolitan which is modern. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the service in the Chutney restaurant was very good as was the food (although we felt it was overpriced but you could always eat in the Zing restaurant as an alternative).

The breakfast in Zing was excellent and served probably the best omelette I had in India; they were all good! A special thanks goes to Sameer Behl who without us asking very kindly packed us a lunch for the journey to Jaipur and did not want a tip.

I can't really comment on the location as we didn't leave the hotel.

Thank you for making our first night in India such a good one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniVidiDormivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,IL
Level Contributor
575 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently visited India for 21 days. Started the trip in India at the Met-- great way to start. Fine rooms and the staff was excellent. Need to put a plug in for the hotel restaurant was fine food, and the morning buffet had a wonderful selection. The manager Sameer Behl was always checking to make sure the food was well prepared and tasty. Attention to detail with a friendly smile. Got your day off to a good start.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on back side near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We used this hotel as our base for a recent holiday in India and stayed there on 3 separate occasions.

Each of the stays , much to our delight was wonderful. The staff in all the areas.eg.restaurants, front desk, travel desk as well as room maintenance took great pride in their work and were keen to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. Particular recognition goes to Rubina, Deepak and Imran who made our stay a memorable one.
The hotel is well located for the airport and is in a lovely part of New delhi, close to a number of shopping malls and places of Interest, such as India Gate.

The rooms are well appointed and well maintained.
The food, particularly breakfast is excellent ,with a wide range of choices.
I would happily return to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Good things: well locates near Conaught Place (shopping, food, etc) the room is very new western standards. Very clean. Bad things: wifi is VERY expensive. There is a japanese restaurant looks nice but also expensive but looks really nice. There is a bar but i did not like the food. They have a tour desk with trust drivers and very new cars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,726 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#53 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#27 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#11 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Property: The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#31 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan-Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met & all its Outlets Sakura, Zing, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, NeoVeda Spa have been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2015 by Tripadvisor, Highly Commended Spa Hotel India 2016 & Best Sustainable Hotel India 2016 by International Hotel Awards,Excellence in Hospitality Industry 2016 by International Quality Awards,Powering Global Travel Award 2015 by GTA, Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met's passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing