We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most central place for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #58 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was at The Met, Delhi with my staff for a weekend visit. Loved the ambience, the staff discipline and comfort we all enjoyed. The hotel is a close drive from all the important Delhi places due to its central location just outside the Connaught Place. The surroundings are quiet unlike other places in the city. The historic Gurudwara bangla sahib is a short 3 minutes walk away. However the food was expensive. Will go back again though .

Room Tip: The higher you go in India, the better it looks.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tejinderbhatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,645)
There are newer reviews for The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights on our trip to India and whilst it is not a "luxury" hotel in the mould of the genuine 5 star hotels in Delhi such as the Imperial and Claridges we found it to be a comfortable hotel (the bed was very comfortable indeed). The staff are also very helpful.

However, the rooms are not very well sound-proofed so we were woken up in the mornings by the sounds of people in the rooms around us. The restaurants also weren't very busy so we ended up heading out to restaurants elsewhere which had a bit more atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was fairly excited about this place after checking out other reviews and the photos. Overall though, the experience was just ok.

The good: restaurant and housekeeping staff were a-one. Good location close to Connaught Place and India Gate. Had a great driver, Raj, arranged through the hotel for a day trip to The Taj Mahal. Highly recommend him. Very clean, comfortable rooms.

The bad: While the room was small the window was so incredibly dirty we couldn't even see out. It was like a glass that had gone into a dishwasher too many times--very cloudy. Too bad as it probably would have been a nice view. The worst was the following though: 1. When I went to confirm our Agra day trip they couldn't find the reservation I'd made, even though I showed them the email chain. So had to go through the hassle of getting that set up again. 2.There's an elevator to the lower-level shop. My mom was on this trip and has problems navigating stairs. We were shown the stairs to that shop and were told that the elevator was broken. So she had to carefully navigate stairs. I tried the elevator and it worked, no problem 3. The night before leaving we arranged a car to take us to the airport the next day at 5 AM. On coming down with our luggage we were asked if we were expecting a car. It turns out the guest relations person did NOT reserve our car, so we had to rush around at the last minute getting that arranged. There was also a lot of late-night construction going on outside the hotel, that interrupted our sleep.

Overall it was the small things that the hotel was lacking for me. I don't think I'd stay here again, even though I'm in New Delhi a few times a year. My whole family was left unimpressed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ii had a very comfy stay. Hotel may lack razzmatazz as you enter but it more than makes up for it in comfortable clean rooms that are very well lit.room service and cleaning. Services were superb. I did miss any drawers for parking vests,socks etc. Entry key well magnetised.never faded during my 9 nights stay. I would like to make a special mention of mr sameer behl in zing cafe incharge of breakfast service who was so caring and pandered to any need with super enthusiasm. Billing system can be a bit confusing and one has to have an accountancy background to unravel reception staff's explanations. Chutney restaurant has a big choice.staff extremely friendly but temperature wise food was not warm enough .If only kitchen staff paid more attention. Spa services were very good but they could do with new bright towels. Beware of loads of govt luxury taxes /service charges that bump up the bill by app 30%.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naresh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I had a great three days at this hotel.

All staff were very friendly and went that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. Whilst most staff in Delhi hotels have been nice to us, it seemed every single member of staff in this hotel did their upmost to make us feel welcome.

We both used the spa facilities which were very good and not overly expensive for a large hotel. Both restaurants were of a high standard and worth a visit even if not staying in the hotel.

We were happy with our room which was large and clean

Only niggles were minor such as not being allowed to have beer on the pool terrace, and the pool terrace itself seemed like an area of unfulfilled potential. It would have been nice if the hotel had more outdoor table seating, rather than just the two tables on offer and more green plants too, it's rather barren.

Also, make sure you agree a price with the Met taxi drivers before you embark on a day trip or one way journey with them. Whilst this applies to all taxis in the city, we thought the affiliated hotel taxi drivers would a bit more transparent with their pricing.

Our final minor grievance was that they don't a gratuity policy like the Leela Palace does (ie where you can leave all tips at the end and staff share them), so it means the bell boys/room service staff hover in the room in the hope of getting a tip, which can be uncomfortable.

We would definately stay here again, whilst it's not cheap it offers a great alternative between budget accomodation and very expensive luxury accomodation.

Room Tip: Club Floors 6+7 are best
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for only a couple of nights when visiting Delhi. I was expecting a radison/marriott style hotel, but this was definitely a step up. The hotel is spotless and lofty - a welcome change from small bed and breakfasts. The rooms were clean and luxurious. The staff was incredibly helpful, spoke flawless English, and gave us an extra late check out. It's also really nice that the hotel offers multiple restaurants (we tried three, and were happy at all) and a beautiful pool, in case you feel like relaxing instead of facing Delhi's busy streets. The location was convenient for everything we did. The spa was ok, not the highlight of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank User201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating our hotel as spotless & lofty, rooms very clean & luxurious, staff incredibly helpful,beautiful swimming pool, location as convenient, good choice of three restaurants- Indian restaurant Chutney Bar + Tandoor, World cuisine restaurant Zing and authentic Japanese restaurant Sakura.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My spouse and myself stayed at the hotel for one month. Staff very well trained and always helpful
Clean room and well serviced. Good location as not far from Airport, 5 minutes from Connaught Place by Richshaw and can even reach there by foot. Security check very strict at entrance which gives a feeling of security while on Hotel premises. The breakfast buffet which is complimentary is well set everyday with a variety of food to meet the expectation of everyone. For anyone staying at the hotel do know that at buffet there are food items that are on request also. The personnel is very helpful. Usually we have to wait some time before the tea arrives; this is an item which should be served readily. However we believe that the dinner buffet or any food item on the menu card is not value for money. could not enjoy the pool as it was not a heated one. On the overall we would recommend this hotel. Please convey our special thanks to Mr Kapil from the Zing , Miss Rubeena and Mr Rakesh of the reception desk who have been very helpful and generous in their attitude towards my spouse on the two occasions that she stayed alone at the hotel while i was on business trips.

Room Tip: choose a room which gives on the main road.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HemantJivanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.We also thank you for special mention about few of my colleagues.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#38 of 712 in New Delhi
3,900 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 712 in New Delhi
2,989 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 712 in New Delhi
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 712 in New Delhi
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 712 in New Delhi
2,776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#39 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $90 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan-Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met & all its Outlets Sakura, Zing, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, NeoVeda Spa have been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2015 by Tripadvisor, Highly Commended Spa Hotel India 2016 & Best Sustainable Hotel India 2016 by International Hotel Awards,Excellence in Hospitality Industry 2016 by International Quality Awards,Powering Global Travel Award 2015 by GTA, Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met's passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing