We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“chutney indian food at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Ranked #48 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“chutney indian food at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

i visited the chutney restaurant in the metropolitan hotel and i must say that the food is excellent.I personally recommend the chicken starter and the butter chicken with the small size breads that were served was really tasty.
i would like to thank the manager of the restaurant as i was with my American friends and the manager suggested us all the correct dishes which were less spicy and extremely tasty..
I would recommend that all guests and people wanting to eat good , clean, authentic indian food to visit Chutney..

Anshuman Soni
New Delhi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anshumansoni11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic dining experience at our Chutney Bar + Tandoor restaurant. We also thank you for special mention about few of our most popular dishes alongwith your special thanks to our restaurant manager.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of quality, service & hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    554
    191
    50
    25
See reviews for
236
329
120
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while on a business trip in Delhi. The hotel's location was good, close to Janpath but nothing really else to do nearby.

The rooms are good size and clean, though it wasn't exactly "luxurious" as one would expect from a 5-star hotel, considering we were dating on the club floor already.

The services were slightly disappointing, especially the restaurant's, with slow service and missing egg order all the time... My boss ordered his eggs three times with nothing happening... He got frustrated and left his set plate back on the stack of clean plates, and it stayed there for 20 minutes...

More weirdly, the shower in the room wasn't working... The water pressure kept going on and off and the water kept switching the shower head on its own from the rainfall shower...

All in all, a good decent hotel but wouldn't expect anything about it to be luxurious...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkwkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel decent with good location, rooms of good size and clean. Regarding your experience at our coffee shop we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.We will surely work on the points mentioned by you in your review and assure you of an much high standards of services during your next visit with us.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tour company in Japan made reserve this hotel for us .and it is very comfortable clean everywhere and people are very kind and give us very good service. Room was very clean
bathroom too.break fast is very good .there are many menu.we ate very good food at SAKURA (japanese restaurent) .front staff is very kind .when my mother has feaver they gave us good service.especialy bell staff ravi.we want come back this hotel when I come india again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninjya31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating our hotel as comfortable & clean, room & bathroom very clean, staff very kind with very good service,breakfast very good, very good food at our authentic japanse restaurant Sakura .We also thank you for your special mention about one of my colleague.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in January 2013. The room was modern, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom (with is fantastic shower) was clean and inviting. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Location-wise, the hotel is a 10-15-minute walk to Connaught Place and the central Rajiv Chowk metro station, from where you can get to anywhere in Delhi. The food and service at the hotel's Japanese restaurant, Sakura, were excellent. Coming from New York, we can be picky about our cocktails; but Sakura's wasabi martinis were top-notch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank newyorker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating our room as modern, beds comfortable, bathroom with fantastic shower clean & inviting, staff friendly & helpful, hotel centrally located, food & service at our authentic japanse restaurant Sakura as excellent.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I come in Delhi for business every month since 5 years ago, sometime after hard days of traveling all around India.
Arriving at The Met is always a pleasure; staff is efficient and full of courtesy, NeoVeda SPA is one of the most relaxing I have found in hotels premises , the Zing restaurant always ready to serve excellent food.
But I repeat, for me, what really makes the difference is the people working here.
Everybody makes me fell like to be at home and help me in enjoying the few hours I can spend in hotel.
I really can’t expect a better service.

Room Tip: just choose a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Feel Like Home” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Met is a Euro standard hotel at Euro prices unless you get a deal. It is a great place to kick off a tour of India and their airport pick up is a good luxury option ater an overnight flight. We stayed both on our arrival and on departure.
When we arrived we thought it a bit below par but after 3 weeks in India we decided it was a very good hotel! Maybe our standards slipped a bit.
As others have said, the taxes add a fair bit to the bill. Have a look at the shop, it is great to be able to browse in peace and we wish we had bought a few mpre things there. The taxis arranged by the hotel are honest and good value so are great for excursions.

Room Tip: On our return we had a better room or maybe it just fealt that way, but in general in India if you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepperdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Oasis” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by my travel agent. I was going to be here by myself for one day before my husband arrived and I was arriving in the middle of the night, so I needed somewhere convenient. Transfer to the hotel was quick and easy and check in was immediate. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are very clean. I used the spa which was wonderful and relaxing. The breakfast buffet is sumptuous and fresh. All the staff are friendly and attentive. Pooja at Reception was very helpful with advice on where to go and what to see. The Chutney restaurant has excellent food and I would recommend the Chutney Bar for Happy Hour. I would definitely stay here again. Front office staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating our airport transfers quick & easy, check in immediate, Beds extremely comfortable, rooms very clean,spa wonderful & relaxing, Breakfast buffet sumptuous and fresh. .We also thank you for special mention about our Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant and about one of my colleague.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,725 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#53 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#27 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#12 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Property: The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan-Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met & all its Outlets Sakura, Zing, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, NeoVeda Spa have been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2015 by Tripadvisor, Highly Commended Spa Hotel India 2016 & Best Sustainable Hotel India 2016 by International Hotel Awards,Excellence in Hospitality Industry 2016 by International Quality Awards,Powering Global Travel Award 2015 by GTA, Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met's passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing