We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien New Delhi
Ranked #18 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bombay, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
Reviewed September 30, 2006

We had booked two rooms at this hotel for four nights. We were overcharged for the rooms from the rate quoted at the time of booking.

Then later on the charged us more stating that the rate given at the time of checking in was for single occupancy and there were two of us stating in the room.

Well when four people are standing in front of you it is amply clear that there are going to be two people staying the room!

The breakfast is nothing to talk about, and i can say the same about food there in general.

This hotel is a text book case of how you can't make a hotel good by having just a good location, modern rooms and newly renovated lobby. The people who manage is what makes the great.

Overall the attituted of the staff was of being uninterested to down right ignorant and arrogant.

  • Liked — Recently renovated rooms with wide screen plasma TV
  • Disliked — The arrogant and ignorant attitued of the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sunay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    913
    248
    64
    44
See reviews for
456
568
178
991
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Nice hotel. However, for USD300/night for a club room, it is not very value for money. The brekkie on the club floor is not much to crow about. The room is quite nice though, although the design is a tad too modern for my liking. The flooring could have been carpeted for better effect.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank foost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

Depressing, gloomy, and dirty. We stayed there for 3 nights and it was just awful. I wouldn’t stay there ever again, and to be honest I don’t think I’ll ever go to Delhi ever again either.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank birdette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

Where to begin? I booked a $170 club level, non-smoking room. When I arrived, I was informed that there were no non-smoking club level rooms available. So I was placed in a regular room ... at the club level price. No negotiation.

Then there was the construction. Currently, the hotel is undergoing renovation, and construction lasts until 9 or 9:30 depending upon who you ask. Regardless, if you like listening to drill and hammers until 9:30 at night, this is the hotel for you. When I complained, the staff offered to move me to a room that is out of earshot of the construction. When I complained to the duty manager, then the manager, I received no reply. Customer comfort is not important to the staff here.

Finally, I was appalled to find the the hotel gym is smaller than my room. Three running machines, an exercise bike, and a weight set. That's it. Oh, and the pool was closed.

STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! I have visited 29 countries, and this is the worst so-called "luxury hotel" experience that I have ever had. THE WORST.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank alandogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We were booked into stay at one of the 2 bedroom suites - my brother, his wife, my wife and I - for USD750per night (brekkie included) it was extremely average - huge! but straight out of the 80's. Was also cold!! - no heating. When I asked reception and the hotel manager they claimed that none of the 5 star hotels in New Delhi were centrally heated - I found this very surprising!

In any case after complaining about how disappointed we were they moved us to the recently renovated wing in the hotel but into two separate suites - very nice club suites indeed - plasma screens, polished floorboards, sep lounge, huge bathroom. But again no heating! - but for some reason the rooms seemed warmer - I figured probably because they were on the side of the hotel that got the sun! - they did give us a couple of small electric heaters!

The bathroom - first shower my wife had the drain got clogged and I had to call maintenance!

Overall - quite disappointed given what we were paying!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2006

spent two nights in Le Mer, New Delhi, then away for five days and back for two more nights. Lobby is very stark, simplistic, New Age. rooms are spartan, but nice: hardwood floors, shimmery tile in baths, sparse furniture, good electronic outputs/inputs (42 inch flat screen TV for World Cup games !!)

breakfast buffet (in fact all meals in 24-hour coffee shop) was very nice. a little NON-western....where's my crisp bacon ? ... but excellent service and variety. staff was superb. had a burnt out light bulb....called downstairs, replaced in 10 minutes.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

This is a modern, comfortable large hotel. It is very well situated. The lobby is huge, very contemporary, always busy. The rooms are very well designed, with all the mod cons. The service is excellent. The breakfast is fine - not amazing.
The Indian restaurant is absolutely brilliant. Much, much better than the ridiculously touristic, over priced, hugely over rated Sehraton's Bukhara. And much cheaper, too!

We loved the light wooden floors, the comfy slippers, the central control console next to the bed, the large plasma TV and the well equipped mini bar. There is no bath yub, just a shower, but a very nice one!
One complaint would be, that it ws not possible to change the room temperature, which, albeit airconditioned, was not as cool as we like it. Having said that - it was quite pleasant.

Thr Business Club is nicely done but too dark for our liking. Some more lights there would be nice.

If you like character and old world feel, and price is no issue, choose the Oriental. If you like contemporary "business like" hotel - choose Le Meridien.

Helpful?
2 Thank mel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien New Delhi

Property: Le Meridien New Delhi
Address: Windsor Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien Delhi
New Delhi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing