We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gorgeous colonial 'home' in the middle of Delhi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous colonial 'home' in the middle of Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Imperial is a gorgeous colonial style hotel in the middle of New Delhi. The rooms were big and spacious and comfortable (general air conditioning was freezing though - we didn't even turn on our room air con because it was constantly in sub-zero temperatures already).

We stayed as a large group in the hotel for a wedding and we loved how everytime you came back to the hotel after a day trip etc, the staff would have a big smile waiting for you and say "Welcome Home". It really did feel like home after going out on a hectic day to Old Delhi, sightseeing or shopping.

One complaint I do have is that despite us having stayed an entire week as a large group, the hotel has the audacity to ask me to pay when I requested 3 bottles of water to take with us in the car on the way to the airport. Considering the amount of money that we had spent over the course of the week at the hotel, I would think that they would be able to offer this up to us for free. It was a little bit of a disappointing end to an amazing week that we had in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team. I have noted your feedback regarding being charged for the water bottles after check out and I do apologize for the inconvenience. I assure you that we will look into the policy and make necessary and feasible changes.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,850
    493
    175
    74
    36
See reviews for
371
987
200
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stayed here for a number of days when on business in New Delhi.
From the very opening of the entrance lobby you are looked after. The hotel was built (started 1911)
when Delhi became the capital of India.
All and I mean ALL the management staff were superb.
The room I was allocated had the original furniture from when the hotel was completed on 1912, but had of course been decorated and plumbing had been brought right ip to date.
The restaurant, bar, food and drink all exemplary. Service as 'old India' used to be.
I would suggest anyone to stay at The Imperial.
Note the VC and other medals of a relative of the present owner in the showcase as you approach the Bar.

Room Tip: any room is a first class room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Wonderful hotel with marble floors, mahogany panels and period furniture. Staff are excellent and rates very reasonable. Don't forget to pack your bathers! The pool area is very pleasant even though renovations were being completed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

This is a great hotel. You know it's going to deliver from the moment you arrive up the driveway to the entrance. The foyer is cool and welcoming and the staff helpful.

The room was spotless, comfortable and had all of the facilities that I required for my business stay. The rooms were all kept at exactly the right temperature. The bed was lovely as was the shower (the two most important things in any stay away from home).

You can wander down the road to the nearest subway station if you choose to, OK if the temperature is below 35, not such a good idea if it's above 40. Of course, there are always plenty of taxi's ready to transport you to wherever you wish to go.

I had a lovely time at this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

If you plan to stay in Delhi, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbpawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We first stayed here many years ago after the nightmare long haul flight from the UK and loved our room and the superb breakfast on the terrace next morning before we caught a train to Agra. since then we have stayed often, only once being slightly let down by being given a room next to one of their function rooms where a loud wedding threatened to keep us awake all night; just a word with reception and they happily moved us to a quitter one. Since those days we have family living in the city with whom we stay but post flight breakfast at the Imperial is still our tradition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colsislay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you and am delighted by your feedback. Its a pleasure to welcome you back for breakfast when you are in Delhi. I do hope that you are able to visit our other restaurants also sometime and it will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

The Imperial Hotel i have stayed ever.Best hospitality.The staff of the hotel is very helpful.We stayed der for 3 nights and it was an awsom experience.Food quality was good and the staff was very helpful and courtious.I suggest everyone to stay here once.
We highly recommended this hotel

Room Tip: all room are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is the finest hotel I have stayed in period. Everything from the courtesy of the, cleanliness, efficiency, the quality of the food was otherworldly. If you want to be treated like royalty then this is the place to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles2gob4Vsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 704 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#6 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing