We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the best in Delhi?”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Probably. Yes it is.
I have stayed at most of the 5 stars in Delhi over the past 20 years (some claim to be 7 stars!) And certainly this hotel is top of the tree in many ways. What I most like is the colonial feel (not sure I should mention that!) and the subtle decor and service that marks it out from the many 4 star 'disney' locations that are easy to find in this fascinating capital city. If you want to guarantee a perfect stay in India's heart, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the magnificent property, décor & facilities. Its a pleasure to note that you had a perfect stay and consider us your prime choice in New Delhi.

Thank you once again for your patronage, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 3,103 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

I knew the Imperial several years ago for the amazing restaurants it housed. I thankfully had to stay there for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The pickup and drop off to/from the airport was great, the welcome from reception was friendly, the service overall in bars/ restaurants/spa/housekeeping was top notch. Really adored the buffet breakfast-its variety and quality (Indian, Western and gluten free items available); the beds were extremely comfortable, the toileteries are of good quality; and the 1911 and Spice Route restaurants are amazing restaurants (if you go to the Spice Route restaurant ask to get a tour of it as it is a beautiful establishment which took 7 years to complete). Also their spa was wonderful: please take time to go there and get a treatment. Being in the Imperial is like staying in a museum-take time to visit the hotel, look at the pictures and statues, and enjoy its rich history. Lastly, what is great about the place is also its location: just outside its gates you can find Tibetan and Janpath Lane markets and across it a State Emporium whi is great to do your last minute shopping in. You are also 5 minutes away from Connaught Place a New Delhi landmark.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay at The Imperial! I am glad that you found all the facilities and services to your liking and I would like to thank you for your generous description of the same. It is indeed a pleasure to note that this stay was all that you wished for and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you once again for your patronage, We look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have stayed here twice and the decor and service is very good. Nice pool and a small health club, with yoga room. Bar and restaurants are great also. There is a great emporium across the street to shop at also.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the décor & service at the Imperial. I'm glad to note your appreciation for the whole experience.

Thank you once again for patronizing us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a truly magnificent hotel and beautifully maintained! The spacious rooms are very clean and tastefully designed. Great pool area. The staff can't do enough for you, simply unbeatable service (and the concierge team is fantastic)! The food is amazing and Spice Route is must for dinner one night! The Imperial would have to be the best hotel in New Delhi in terms of luxury accommodation ... can't wait to stay there again some day, many thanks to you all!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gndk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the magnificent property, our facilities, the food & service! Your appreciation for the staff, especially the concierge team, will go a long way in keeping our motivations high!

Thank you once again for your patronage, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Beautifully remodeled. My wife went for breakfast and asked what kind of tea they had. The reply was "madam, we have everything" and they did. excellent restaurants. service superb. Room very well done although could maybe use better reading lights. Free yoga. Beautiful pool. well located. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the ambience, service & facilities at the Imperial. I'm glad to note your appreciation for the whole experience.

Thank you once again for patronizing us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

With its theme heavily based on the glories and excesses of the 'days of the Raj ' this is one of life's little luxury experiences not to be missed . Comparing to say Singapore's 'Raffles' it is just as good, maybe better and at something like 1/2 the price ! Beautifully appointed wide corridors and spacious rooms with antique furnishings and every detail carefully attended to . The elegant bars and restaurants both Indian and International. are a special feature and of the very highest quality. as is the very large outdoor pool. You are not really 'experiencing India ' when you stay here ... but if you like a few days of complete luxury and relaxation in a nostalgic oasis of style and elegance ... then this is the place to be !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DGM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I am glad to note that you had a memorable experience and enjoyed the service and facilities at The Imperial.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here in late July 2013 for a tradeshow. My first experience in India. What can I say the service was perfect. I had two massages while there . The best I have ever had. I was so relaxed and ready for our tradeshow. I can't recommend this place enough. Nothing was a problem and loved the extra touches you got.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad to note that you had a perfect experience and enjoyed the service and facilities at The Imperial.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,032 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,050 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 777 in New Delhi
4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#27 of 777 in New Delhi
2,931 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 777 in New Delhi
2,197 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $282 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing