We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
$280
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
ITC Maurya, New Delhi(New Delhi)
$176
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$131
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,249)
Filter reviews
3,249 results
Traveler rating
2,287
614
206
92
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,287
614
206
92
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice routeheritage roombeautiful hoteldaniell's tavernwelcome homecolonial stylean oasismarble floorsconnaught placeluxury hotelbreakfast buffetbusiness centerindian restaurantspadelhirajatrium
Filter
Updating list...
1,499 - 1,504 of 3,249 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I had spent the last two months backpacking our way round India staying in all sorts of cheap local accommodation. At the end of our adventure we spoilt ourselves with a two night stay at the Imperial Hotel New Delhi.
It was magnificent. We were greeted at reception with a warm welcome and two fragrant chilled hand towels. We were told that we had been upgraded from a Grand Heritage Room to an Art Deco suite free of charge. Wow that never happens to us. The receptionist then showed us to our room giving us a short synopsis of the history of the Hotel and pointed out various items of interest including the various themed restaurants. We reached our room which was just what we had expected and more. We had a separate living room with settee and chairs a large flat screen TV and writing desk. The spacious bedroom had a huge soft bed with sumptuous fluffy pillows. The bathroom had a separate shower room and toilet. There was another separate area with a dressing table for my wife with a film star mirror surrounded by dimmable light bulbs. There was a second bathroom that we had missed on our first look round. My wife found it ten minutes later and shouted we've got two bathrooms .It is a truly magnificent hotel bursting with character and Olde Worlde charm but with slick modern overtones. The staff are very courteous friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. It's a pleasure to talk to them.

We spent most of our time relaxing by the beautifully clear swimming pool and did not take advantage of the extensive spa facilities.

The first night we ate in the Spice Route Restaurant which was a very memorable occasion the food and wine was expensive but worth every rupee. The second night we ate in the 1911 Restaurant and there was no problem getting a curry even though it was not on their menu. The waiter quietly said that's on our Coffee Shop Menu Sir let me get a copy for you.

It was a refreshing change from the rest of India that nobody but nobody at the hotel neither asked or even expected a tip.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Yes it's expensive but worth every penny. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anth6ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a delightful description of your experience at The Imperial. I am elated to note that you had a wonderful stay and cherished every bit of it. Your lovely comments will be a great motivation for the team.

Your patronage is valuable to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the Imperial twice within a week . The first visit great. The second time there was a wedding outside our room and the noise was beyond a joke, so we requested to move at midnight after a long day; we were then placed in a smoking room which had a stale smoking odour. Moved again to a suite where nothing worked properly and the hot taps dosed out filthy brown water. As the final move was to a suite the porter suggested we keep our suitcases to avoid paying tax at which point I nearly lost it.

In the morning I complained to the duty manager who duly offered a full refund . I resisted writing this until comparisons could be made to Oberoi and raj hotels. In conclusion the Imperial failed to care and should of foreseen the noise ; they generally need to provide much better service levels in all departments to match the excellent hospitality we have received throughout the country

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baz118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Imperial!

I have noted your feedback about the inconvenience faced and I am deeply apologetic for the same. We at the Imperial strive to ensure that all our guests always experience the best visit possible and our staff does not hesitate in going out of their way for the same. As mentioned by you, we did offer you a refund as a special gesture; I agree that it cannot take back the experience. I do hope that you will treat this experience as isolation to our otherwise high standards of service and not let this influence your original perception of The Imperial.

Looking forward to a chance to make up and ensure a memorable stay.

Sincerely,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile


The Spice Route traces the mystical culture of South East Asia by drawing from not just its cuisine but also from its art and architecture. The minute we stepped into this fabulous restaurant, we were transported into a completely different world of dark wood carvings, colorful wall murals, rounded pillars, painted and carved wooden ceilings and brass lamps; it was truly exquisite! The restaurant is designed like the center of a traditional South Indian home where tiled porch roofs slant into an open courtyard. Seating is arranged under the carved ceilings of the porch and at the center, which is also sometimes used to host live music performances.
The kitchen at Spice Route serves culinary delights from 6 countries, from Sri Lankan curries to Thai noodles and from the state of Kerala. After glancing through the extensive menu we decided that opting for their ‘Tasting Menu’ would be our best bet as it would allow us to sample a bit of all of their signature dishes – it was the best decision ever! Over the course of the evening, we were served with a bowl of Thai soup, 4 different appetizers, 4 main entrees and 2 desserts! A lemon sorbet was served after the appetizers and before the main course to cleanse our palate, which was a nice touch.
It was a large meal that was served beautifully over 2 hours with a lot of care by the wait-staff. We were impressed by their attention to detail and general warmth, which helped us relax and truly enjoy our evening. Looking back, I can easily say that this dinner was one of our finest meals in India!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the décor, food and service at The Spice Route! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for our first two days in India. Opulent surroundings, lovely staff, good food. We enjoyed Spice Route one night and Bhukkara at ITC second night. brilliant food and fun.
Only mark down is the hotel charging for wifi, which is a necessity rather than a luxury for most. They even stopped me at 5am to pay 300 rupees for a few minute connection that morning.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the décor and service at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience due to the internet. We offer free internet usage of 512 kbps to all our resident guests unless they select another plan of more data usage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a lovely stay we had last week. Amazing service and a beautiful hotel with a lot of history .
Each floor was representing a different city in India . The whole hotel smells wonderful , so we bought the same jasmine oil they use and we are enjoying the lovely fragrance at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parmila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the décor and service at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews