We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in the new delhi”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

the grounds were, the staff was friendly and some bathrooms are updated and very nice wooden interior for the room. we got great upgrade through amex program, so we were in a art deco suite, beautiful suites with large bathroom and closet. only problem is that some of the rooms have very little light due to facing interior court yards, we had a room that was facing the service entrance, that was not so nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yotsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,975)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent, clean, quiet hotel. Service was wonderful. Only problem was intermittent power outages lasting less than one minute. Generators kicked in as needed. The staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was in the 1911 restaurant which served a nice mix of Western and Indian dishes. Dinner was eaten in both the San Gimignano (Italian Restaurant) and the Spice Road Restaurant. Both were superb.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Well worth repeating: if you are lucky enough to be in Delhi on a Sunday your should have brunch here. The food (mix of Indian, Japanese, Thai, French with foi gras and all, Italian, etc) is of course very good but the experience of eating here is unique, largelly because the hotel is beautiful and the service is legendary. Do arrive early to have a peek around the beautiful art deco building and the lavish British Raj style interior. The price of the buffet is reasonable at around 40 US dollars per person with coffee. For any who have eaten buffet lunches in Bangkok, especially at The Oriental or The Sukhothai, this place is very much up their level. Loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff were very attentive and the facilities excellent. While only there for 2 nights we had a lovely time. Breakfast and dinner were lovely and pool attendants attentive. Bath a little shallow if anything. Rooms a good size and well appointed. We would certainly recommend it as it has a colonial style, but all the mod cons.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Absolute luxury and great location close to the heart of Delhi, was easy to walk up north and be in the thick of the nightlife. The Spice Route restaurant inside was awesome, awesome, awesome, probably the meal of the vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyHighYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A testament to the British Raj, this hotel is worth the price of admission.

Located in the green and pleasant Connaught area of New Delhi, this low-rise (3 storey) white building sits in lovely gardens. The driveway is lined by regal Palms.

Service is exceptional throughout the hotel, from the elegant Doorman to the pool attendants. Unusually well trained and observant they excel at anticipating your needs.

The interiors are immaculate with marble flooring and strategically positioned rugs. Corridors are light and bright and walls are adorned by paintings and drawings of Indian architecture and life.

Rooms are well thought out and equipped, with bright and functional bathrooms, pleasant furnishings and modern equipment. We stayed in Heritage and Grand Heritage rooms (pre & post a 3 week journey through Rajahstan) and found them very comfortable.

Cleanliness could not be faulted. Bathroom towels were large and fluffy and bed linen was of a high quality.

Pool was large and wonderfully refreshing after a bout of Delhi-bashing. Comfortable lounges were available and staff provided bottled water (& sunscreen!) and offered a good selection of refreshments. Pool area is shaded by large trees but there are still plenty of spaces for those who wish to encourage their skin cancers.

Restaurants are numerous and lovely. The main bar (1911) is a attractive venue with plenty of seating and an extensive array of drinks on offer. The restaurants we tried (European, Indian and Italian) were excellent.

Breakfast was a pleasure and could be taken indoors or on the verandah. Food selection was extensive and varied with European and Indian selections available. Service was first rate.

The Imperial is not cheap but it is worth the price. My only issue with the hotel was the Wi Fi. It worked well but there is a (not inconsiderable) charge for use. These days wi Fi is as essential as hot water and should be a standard inclusion by all hotels, especially one as grand as the Imperial.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robbwill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first time in Delhi so decided to stay at the Imperial to experience the old world charm of India's Colonial past. We loved the hotel which is elegant & welcoming and loved the scent of jasmin that was continually wafting through the hotel so much we bought some oil to burn at home!

The staff were courteous and always helpful with a friendly smile. Our room was large and beautifully appointed and we can recommend dining in any of the restaurants. How wonderful after a busy day in Delhi to relax and enjoy the serenity of the garden and pool. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiOz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
2,867 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#38 of 713 in New Delhi
3,899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 713 in New Delhi
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 713 in New Delhi
2,773 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $225 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing