We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imperial Raj Elegance”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #12 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Imperial Raj Elegance”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely rooms and as a lady travelling alone was very grateful for their Eliza room which has extra security. Lovely pink fluffy bath towels and everything a lady could need. Good choice of restaurants delightful breakfast buffet and lovely staff. The only negative comment is that I do object to paying for wifi when you have already paid so much for the room but this does seem to be standard practice in India and it really is a minor point. The dedicated business centre is in a seperate building and was well equipped. All the staff were friendly and helpful and I really enjoyed my stay. The swimming pool is large and attractive with comfortable sunbeds.

Room Tip: If you are a lady on her own would recommend the Eliza rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,056
    564
    190
    86
    43
See reviews for
421
1,101
224
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is my favorite in India. It is beautifully presented and full of old world charm. Sigh. The hotel has beautifully appointed rooms, very similar in style to Raffles Hotel in Singapore. Service was excellent. The breakfast was the best I experienced in India by a long long way. There is also a stunning pool area, and a very select bar. I just love it, and it was my teenage children's favorite too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. Whilst the location and buildings are impressive, the service was terrible. I had an accident in the room due to a poorly fitted toilet - needed hospital treatment. Rather than help, the management denied any responsibility and charged my card for the damage. They have since failed to return calls or emails. Totally disgraceful behaviour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PeterBenson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Executive VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Imperial!
I have noted your feedback regarding your room experience and deeply regret the inconvenience caused. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience. As a standard we charged you for the damage in the room which was done intentionally as acknowledged by you. However, as a special gesture, we waived off 50% charges of the same, which is a loss to us. I’d also like to clarify that the hotel staff did offer doctor’s assistance which was denied.
May I request you for more specific details regarding the employee who hasn’t returned your calls and emails, so that I can look into the same. You may write to me at vwanchoo@theimperialindia.com and I shall be happy to assist you further. I do hope you will treat it as an isolated experience and not hold any unpleasant memory in your mind.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the imperial. We arrived at 6am and they organised us an early check in.

The service was fantastic- there was staff on hand through out the hotel to provide advice etc. it seemed to be mainly business men within the hotel.

There is a lovely pool although too cold to swim in whilst we were there. The hotel is very central therefore the pool area is noisy. You can't hear the noise from your rooms though.

We had a SPA treatment whilst we were there. We opted for a traditional Indian head and body massage (they pour warm oil on your temple- your third eye- this was amazing and I would thoroughly recommend) prior to the massage you get to use the spa facilities which is a sauna steam room and whirlpool. What we were told was that the men's and women's were separate so we ended up separating during this time which was a shame.

We had dinner in the spice lounge we had Thai- it's very expensive but nice food. The cost is comparative to a very up market restaurant in UK.

We had breakfast and lunch from the buffet which was great.

When you come from the UK to dehli it is lovely to stay in such a clean beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macbook8643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

If you like your tea and your history then this should definitely be on your list. We had morning tea, which was excellent and then had a wander round the opulent corridors, which provided more interest than many of the paying museums in the city

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank davey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We came to Delhi to visit our daughter. We stayed at the Imperial for a total of 8 nights at great expense. Our daughter and some friends visited us on our last day for a swim. They were not allowed to use the pool even though it was empty and my husband and I were guests. We offered to pay an additional fee but were told no.
Very expensive ( wifi $25 for 24 hrs) slow service and an overall feeling of disappointment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Greetings from The Imperial!

I would like to thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Delhi. We have noted your dissatisfaction with a sense of regret and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

As a standard we do not allow nonresident guests to use the pool & spa facilities. This rule has been made to ensure the safety and privacy of our resident guests even though we suffer loss of revenue due to the policy.

We, at The Imperial always strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visit possible during their travel and we are deeply troubled that this issue has caused so much distress to you, our valued guest. We do hope that you understand that such policies are made and stood by only for the comfort for our resident guests and the intention is not to cause any inconvenience.

I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have stayed here three times and just cannot wait to stay here again. It's got style, serenity and service. The rooms are large, comfortable and beautifully appointed. It's a little island of peace in the middle of the bustle of a large city. favourite spots in the hotel - the bar (of course), the sunny breakfast restaurant with a huge range of food, the gym (I even did a yoga class) and the pool and bar - great to cool off amongst the gardens but hear the traffic beyond the walls.
Can't say enough about the staff - they jump to help you without being cloying and are proud to work there.
It's a little bubble of perfectness

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,777 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,743 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#7 of 715 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing