We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #39 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from the Dec 01 to Dec 05 in their Club Premier rooms. The fun begins when you get your luggage for screening at the entrance, it is almost 'self service' and you need to tug pull huff and put the luggage in, there are bell boys around but they are totally lost and directionless. Then the bell boy appears and tries juggling 8 pcs of luggage and manages to successfully break apart my pull out handle of a baggage no apologies nothing ! Such a big establishment no trolleys ??

Then comes the check in, lot of people trying to draw the attention of the front desk staff, when they finally look at you no smile, no courtesy , nothing they watch you like a trespasser and conduct their business, what a brilliant handling of customers !! This is an absolute putoff ! just 2-3 at the front desk ? with 6-10 people waiting The front desk refuses to accept a PAN card as an ID !!??, may I please know why ?

The room advertised as 435 sqft isn't the size it is smaller but cozy enough. House keeping looks lost with just cursory cleaning no change of replacement of toilet papers, did not change pillow covers. Check out is very slow painful and you could miss your flight ! I nearly did, be at the check out counter atleast 30 mins before your scheduled departure.

The saving grace is their absolutely delightful breakfast spread ! and a very nicely managed CLUB LOUNGE , special mention goes to Wasim at the lounge he really takes care of everything and makes you feel welcome The breakfast and the Club lounge save the day.

Room Tip: Take the higher floors and pool facing ones
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiremathRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

At the outset i would like to thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. Please accept my most sincere and profound apologies for the most dissatisying experience during your recent stay at the The Lalit New Delhi.
I have taken up all the points very seriously with my concerned Head of Departments for immediate corrective action.
I hope that will offer us another opportunity to redeem ourselves
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have a flawless experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,900)
There are newer reviews for The Lalit New Delhi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,572 - 2,578 of 3,901 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. I stayed three days. Swiming pool is good. Tempature maintence in pool was ok. Break fast spread was excellant and service was good. The location of the hotel is near heart of delhi cannaught place.

Room Tip: Near to Canaugt Place and can walk down but avoid going alone in late evening.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masudib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. It is feedback like yours which keeps us going !
The whole team of the The Lalit New Delhi joins me in gratitude and we await your return.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have yet another wonderful experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Moment you enter the hotel, welcome given by the doorman, handling of the baggage, smile of the front office executive who is ready with the reservation details having assigned the room I have stayed during my last visit & handling over the keys.

Room Tip: first room on 20th floor close to elevator facing Modern School is the best room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandu795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

The entire team of The Lalit New Delhi joins me in gratitude to your kind words of appreciation. It is our endeavour to delight you each & every time you stay with us.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have yet another memorable experience
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was one of the best hotels I've ever been too! I had a lot of fun there, the food in the buffet restaurant was fresh & delicious! The best thing for an Australian was that they had Vegemite!!
The room was spacious, neat & clean. It was a shame we had to pay for the wifi though.
Above all excellent hotel and I recommend this to people traveling to Delhi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasmeen470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

I would like to thank you for your extremely kind words of appreciation. Your feedback goes a long way in boosting the morale of the team of The Lalit New Delhi.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have yet another fabulous experience.
I look forward to welcoming you in the near future
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is excellent including the rooms,service and buffet restaurant! The food was fresh and plenty of it. The Room was spacious,bathroom was very clean and had everything you needed. The only inconvenience was that we had to pay for the WIFI which should of have been included in room price!!! Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Lalit and would recommend it to everyone who visits Delhi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rukhia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your recent stay at The Lalit New Delhi. It is indeed very heart warming to know that our efforts have made your stay memorable.
I would just like to bring to your notice that we have internet inclusive room packages that you might want to consider the next time you stay with us.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have another wonderful experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is of the highest standard, the rooms are excellent along with the service. Everything is emasculate , with every service you need. Shame you have to pay for WIFI, but you can’t have everything!! The hotel is ideal for both business and leisure. The 24x7 buffet restaurant is excellent whether it be breakfast for dinner

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakefield_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for the glowing words of appreciation, we are truly humbled. I would like to bring to your kind attention that we also have internet inclusive room packages that you might want to consider on your next visit.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have another great experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Mixed experiences here. We stayed at the begining and end of our hols. Had a lovely room at the start, lovely pool and staff. The two restaurants were excellent but totally unpromoted. I cant understand why hotels lke this that have genuniely good restaurants dont make encourange more guests into its restaurants. Our negative views are: its actually really expensive to eat in the buffet - overpriced. When we eventually found the bar, it was TWICE the price of Jaipur! However, the fnal night we stayed there, we were put into a room that was just AWFUL. It was meant to be a delux room, but it was substandard. Hubby bashed his knee trying to walk around the bed it was SO small. There was a smell there also, but we so tired and we were there so late, we just slept. We did say this on chekc out, but zero attention paid to our comments. Pity as the hotel has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIVODublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. Please accept my apologies for the dissatisfactory experience during the second time you stayed at The Lalit New Delhi. I urge you to treat this as an anomaly and offer us another opportunity by staying with us on your next visit.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have a great experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 712 in New Delhi
2,843 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#26 of 712 in New Delhi
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 712 in New Delhi
2,871 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 712 in New Delhi
2,989 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 712 in New Delhi
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $121 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing