We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“some things need improvements...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
cairns
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“some things need improvements...”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights on my business trip. The lobby area is very relaxing with water fountain and live piano music. 24/7 restaurant is conveniently open all the time to fill my stomach.

There are some things that could be improved to better meet the expectation of travellers.

1. Bathroom
(1) The lighting is not sufficient for me to put my make-up on! Probably I looked like a person who's heading to Gala dinner rather than a business meeting...
(2) Whoever designed that bathroom should have tried to take shower him/herself. The showerhead is so strage you have to step to the far end of the booth in order to take shower. It was very uncomfortable.

2. Executive Lounge
Nice tea and cocktail time, though there was no breakfast at 8am in the morning. I was told at the reception that I could choose between 24/7 and the lounge to take my breakfast. I preferred the lounge as 24/7 is too busy. But no breakfast was served there. Why?

3. Dirty dishes
Some of the dishes were clearly dirty at 24/7 Restaurant. The servers did not even notice about it!

4. Linens
A bathrobe in my room had a hole! Bathrobes and towels looked very worn out.

5. Room temperature
Hallway is fairly warm though once step inside the room, you feel the chill. I don't understand why cleaning guys keep turning the aircon back on all the time when I intentionally turn it off when I leave the room because it is already winter and pretty cold at night.

Overally, the building is a 5-star but the service is a 3-star.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CairnsMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

I am disappointed to learn that we were not able to provide you with service that is basic to hospitality. Please accept my most sincere & profound apologies for the same. We are working on all the points including the lighting, cleanliness, linen, AC. The breakfast at Lounge has just undergone a revamp and I am hopeful that you will offer us another opportunity with your patronage.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have a flawless experience.
In anticipation

Warmest Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    1,158
    491
    137
    117
See reviews for
646
700
239
1,373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I arrived at the Airport to find my hotel transfer driver asleep on the sign with my name on it. The other drivers next to him woke him up for me. It would have been quite funny if you didnt consider the safety aspect of him being tired whilst driving me to my hotel. Upon checking in to my room, I noticed the wardrobe light was stuck on. I was too tired to call Reception so I just shoved towels underneath the wardrobe so it wouldnt light the room whilst I was sleeping.
In the morning, I had a shower and washed my hair only to come out and find there was no hair-dryer. I called Housekeeping and they told me where it should have been - and it wasnt. They then sent an old and melted one up to my room. I then went to iron my clothes for my meetings - no iron or ironing board. Again I rang Housekeeping and they told me where the items should have been. They eventually sent an iron up...no ironing board. They then came back with both items. By this stage I was now running late for my meetings. I went down to the restaurant fro a quick breakfast. I noticed that there were no bottles of water on the tables - I have never seen this before and this is my 3rd month long visit to India in 12 months. On the way out, I asked for a bottle of water to take my tablets with and they said that they didnt have bottled water and I had to buy it from the coffee shop! I was really amazed at this from a 5 star hotel. I then hired a hotel car and driver for the day to ferry me around the city for my meetings. The driver made the most inappropriate and offensive comment about women being safe in Delhi as long as they dressed and behaved in an appropriate manner - this was in relation to the gang crime in December 2012. When I got back to the hotel, I reported this incident and my other experiences over the last 24 hours to the Reception Manager. He said that he appreciated the feedback and told me to email him on my next stay. When I got back to my room I reported the wardrobe light and the maintenance people came and confirmed it was broken but they needed a part to fix it. I requested they disconnect it so the room would be dark when I went to sleep - which they did.I used the gym and once again noticed there were no towels or bottles of water on the cardio equipment - so the water thing must be a cost saver for them?? The only shining star of my stay was the salon/spa staff - amazing service!
Upon checkout the manager of the drivers told me that all the drivers were going through a training course on what is appropriate to say to guests - which I thought was a good outcome. The reception desk manager just smiled and said 'see you next time'. But there wont be a next time as I will definitely stay in another hotel and will be advising my staff to do the same. With a little effort, these issues could have all been avoided.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 1008 unless the problems have been rectified.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere and profound apologies for the dissatisfying experience you had during your stay at The Lalit, New Delhi.
Your feedback has been shared with the concerned Head of Departments very seriously and we are trying to iron out the multiple irritants which led to a disappointing stay.
I request you to offer us another opportunity to win you back as a fan of The Lalit
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have a flawless experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Manoj at club lounge was very much to give me a comfort zone. I was really impressed with his personal responsibilities at Lalit. I have been coming to LALIT since past 20 years and more when it was not LALIT but known ax other names. I has privileged to mr Suri many a times. The experience is overwhelming and I thin even the present staff including Manoj who used to be in bar and nor in club lounge is keeping the spirit going.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar!
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation towards our team member Manoj. We are indeed very proud to have him with us and your feedback motivates us all to do better.
Please write to me vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have a great experience yet again.
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I checked the reviews of the hotel for a last minute trip with my mother to Delhi. Decided to book the hotel for the 2 of us. It turned out that my father accompanied us and when we reached the hotel the staff was kind enough to accommodate us without any additional charges. The stay was very pleasant with an extremely courteous staff. Clean rooms; however, the a/c wouldn't stop and it was freezing in our room. The breakfast was sumptuous.
Although the staff was very nice i had a very unpleasant and racist experience while getting breakfast in the morning. The remarks made me so angry and upset that i was trembling. I told the manager and a few people apologized to me and my family. It could have been dealt better than that.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade once you reach or perhaps for some discount vouchers for the spa. Also, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
I would like to thank you for taking out the time and giving us your feedback. It is feedback like yours which help us improve and grow. Your overall wonderfull experience was marred by one incident which was taken up very seriously with the concerned team member. Please accept my sincere apologies for the same. We are an Indian chain of Hotels and very proud of our origin, and treat all our guests in the same professional manner.
I hope you will treat this incident in isolation and offer us another opportunity to serve you better
Please write to me vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are coming to Delhi and we will ensure you have a flawless experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My friends recommended the Lalit Delhi and I really appreciate it because it was my firs trip to India. The staff was very friendly, the hotel have a good location, breakfast is delicious. My stay coincided with diwali they sent sweets, The massages are excellent,. Wifi should be included.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara16Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. The team at The Lalit, New Delhi joins me in taking a bow. We promise to provide you with a flawless experience everytime and your kind words go a long way in boosting the morale of the team.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are coming to Delhi and we will WOW you once again !
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is really top quality. The rooms, breakfast, checkin, staff are all excellent. We checked in at 9:30 am and no probs, room was ready. Asked for a 3:30 pm check out, again no probs. The bed was fantastic. But they charge Rs 300 per hour of wifi. Why I ask? Especially when club/executive suite customers get free tea and snacks at 3:30 pm and free alcoholic drinks (excellent smirnoffs, beers, whiskeys and anything else you wish) and excellent finger food at 6:30 pm. Dharam and Wasim who run this affair on the 20th floor are great hosts and bring drinks refills to the table. The food is also extremely good. This must cost the hotel quite a packet so to charge for wifi seems churlish. Loved the hotel and will definitely go back. One other gripe...you need to leave more toilet paper..!! The supplied roll is tiny and definitely insufficient

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for the kind words of encouragement. The team at The Lalit, New Delhi works tirelessly to ensure esteemed guests like yourself have a flawless stay!
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have a fantastic experience yet again.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at the Lalit Delhi twice, for several days each time, in late Oct 2013, on business travel. It was a most unpleasant experience. Going by the front desk for anything takes a minimum of 20 minutes. EVERYTHING is billed (50 rupies for a one page print out, 200 rupies for an hour of WIFI connection), even though the room rate is already very high. Service is poor, and the attitude of management is rude and uncaring (especially towards women travelling alone). The porters and wait staff are nice and try to be helpful, but they cannot make up for the negative management. Rooms are dirty (black water marks dried on the back of the bathroom door, stains on the floor, nuts and random food scraps on the bedroom floor at check-in...). Room service is hit-or-miss (50 percent chance of getting what you ordered) and the "Instant Service" button on the phone is a poor joke. On the bright side, the spa is wonderful, and the esthéticiens are expert and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Ma'am,
Namaskar !

At the outset, i would like to thank you for giving us your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the experience you had at The Lalit, New Delhi.
It is indeed very shocking for us that such a treatment was meted out to you. Our Indian culture teaches us to treat women with respect and we take pride in the fact that our top leadership consists of very dynamic ladies.
I request you to treat this incident in isolation. Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are coming to Delhi and we will ensure that you have a wonderful experience.
In anticipation

Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 707 in New Delhi
2,598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 707 in New Delhi
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#57 of 707 in New Delhi
2,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 707 in New Delhi
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing