We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Gem - fresh & quaint”

tattva - Art & Fresh Organic Kitchen
Ranked #1,950 of 12,634 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $7 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Small bistro-style art cafe.Displaying and selling art by some of the best known names in Indian art.Small tables, small chairs, all made with recycled materials.a 5 to 7 min walk from the main street of hauz khas village.
Housotn, TX
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Surprising Gem - fresh & quaint”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Don't give up on your search for this great, organic restaurant! Prices are affordable, food is exceptional. We each had the five course lunch which started with an energizing juice shot, followed by savory hummus. Next was warm pumpkin soup with red lentils and spices. Next was sauteed beets & carrots with pine nuts and salsa verde. Fourth was millet with sliced almonds, dried fruit, pomegranate seeds, spices and more. Finishing the meal with yogurt, dates, apples, and granola. They even served us a huge glass each of fresh squeezed orange juice. The service was kind and hospitable and we would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“oasis of calm-great hospitality”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

we decided to visit the place after seeing great reviews on tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed. Its a bit away from main HKV bazaar but i found it an advantage.we had made prior reservations to avoid any inconvenience. We were welcomed by Smita who prooved to be a great host.She not only offered to help we our baby stroller but brought toy also to engage our toddler. the place gives a very homely, living room kind feeling.No noises but great organic food with soothing music.we tried trivikrama kebabs and melty toasties along with cloudy apple drink & pomegranate juice. all were great in taste and amazingly light on stomach. For main course we had pasta in creamy amaranth sauce which was very nicely done.Visit for some peace of mind away from daily madness coupled with healthy delicious food and surprisingly wonderful hospitality of owner mrs anuradha sundaram and smita. me, my wife and even our baby had a great time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quite haven in the chaos”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Even though this place is tucked out of the way it is definitely worth finding. (Ask in the shops to help find it as they are very helpful). The food and atmosphere are fantastic and the herbal teas a nice compliment. Would recommend the 5 course meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant....not to be missed!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is a little difficult to find Tattva but persist with the adventure around the village to get there as this place is fantastic. It is a little haven amongst the hustle and bustle of Delhi. The service is fantastic and the five course menu was not only healthy but super delicious. The atmosphere was very relaxed and tranquil and being surrounded by interesting local pieces of art (which are also for sale) it makes for a perfect evening. I recommend this place to all those who are in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One-of-a-kind in New Delhi”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I spent my first afternoon in India at Tattva, and it was the best decision I made. Tattva took me a bit to find but the search was definitely worthwhile. My lunch was delicious (especially the chickpea salad and tulsi shot) and the team was genuinely wonderful. The atmosphere inside is calm and peaceful. Tattva is right in Hauz Khas Village, which makes for a great post-meal adventure. The owner has also opened a bake shop on one of the more major streets in Hauz Khas - selling delicious homemade breads, cookies and chips!

Above all, the owner and manager are delightful women who are truly inspiring in their efforts to bring awareness to India about mindful eating. This place is quite unique to New Delhi, and all my best wishes for its success.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tattva - Art & Fresh Organic Kitchen also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing