We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived here for 4 years and love this market”

Sarojini Nagar Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.70*
and up
Private Guided Tour of Delhi's Markets
Ranked #46 of 415 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lived here for 4 years and love this market”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Somehow, my travel to Delhi will never be complete without a visit to this market. Mainly for clothes, you will get everything that you need here. While you are here, dont miss the Golden Cake Shop there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shaji_vk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    145
    43
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exciting and fun shopping!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's my first trip to India and I was so pleased with this market. There are so many things to buy at great prices! Sari shops, jewellery, clothing, shoes, scarves... the list goes on. The only thing I couldn't find on my shopping list was a sparkly bag!
Only downside is there are no toilets or cafes etc to sit down. It's pretty intense so would recommend a few shorter visits (about 2 hours at a time)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
286 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
“Shoppers Paradise And Super Value For Money!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I wonder if there is anything one does not get at Sarojini Market!

I have been going here regularly on every visit to Delhi for the past three decades. The market has expanded in leaps and bounds since I first discovered it in the then sleepy little government quarter residential area of Sarojini Nagar.

The market consists of rows and rows of shops selling summer and winter clothing, consumer goods, footwear, artificial jewellery, groceries, furniture, home furnishings, accessories, fruits and vegetables, handicrafts, tailors ......... you name it, along with a huge street market for export surplus and other garments and knick knacks of every description. Bargaining is the order of the day though some stalls and vendors insist on fixed prices.

You will also find some good eateries [roadside and proper] serving typical Delhi chaat and other stuff, usually delicious and great value for money.

A new mall and parking building has opened up opposite the vegetable section of the market, with a Haldirams outlet.

Be warned that on holidays especially in the evenings, it can get so crowded that you will have to push through jostling hordes to get anywhere. Parking can be chaotic so travel by auto rickshaw if you do not have a car and driver. Pickpockets thrive in crowds so it pays to be cautious. The crowd is decent, not the rowdy variety so apart from watching your pocket, it is pretty safe.

Overall, this is the best place to shop. Much more interesting than the malls which are all clinical clones of each other, and generally cheaper than other markets in Delhi.

Best at around 11am when the shops open and before the crowds arrive. On Monday, some shops are closed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Place to shop and money exchange”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

In this place its many shops and places where you can buy a cloth. in this place you can buy a lot of souvenirs and regional costumes. There are also shops with electronics and shoes and clothes for children.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TweedleMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“For Real Shopping Freaks!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you really want to spend something worth, visit sarojini market. Budget shopping with latest fashion apparel, accessories and different ranges for all...girls, boys, ladies gents, kids, old age people. You will get a good margin for bargaining also and various colour and size options as per your choice. There is wide range for home and kitchen furnishing items which you get on more than double prince in malls or other showrooms. I have visited this market 2-4 times and always found my wish list items on very nominal price. There are some apparel shops which sells branded second hand clothing, so do not move with that. If you are brand-cholic there are showrooms too like john players, reebok, duke, adidas, van- heusen..and so on which always have great offers to pull the crowd. For me it has became 1 stop destination for budget shopping including clothing, footwear, home- kitchen furnishing..etc. I would suggest this as MUST SHOP destination at Delhi.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RuchiAyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarojini Nagar Market also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Sarojini Nagar Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing