We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but small hotel”
Review of The Grand Vikalp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Vikalp
Ranked #443 of 1,082 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent but small hotel”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here as part of our tour of The Golden Triangle. Clean rooms, helpful staff, good for short stay. Did not feel comfortable walking out from the hotel but had driver and guide who directed us to the best places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummondone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
27
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My opinion of the hotel may be a little slanted because I stayed there just for one night. It was a stopover between flights so I cannot comment on the food or service too much. The rooms are small but clean - in fact very clean. The location of the hotel is near the M block market so there are good shopping and eating options available. The staff seemed helpful - but then it was only a night, but they were nice and polite all the same.
For 3k a night in Delhi seemed like value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. Our room was OK (clean and comfortable) however it was very small. There was a glass door between the bedroom and the bathroom which was a little disconcerting - the glass was frosted but there were lines of clear glass and considering the toilet was directly opposite the door this afforded very little privacy! The rooms are also quite noisy - we could easily hear children crying from the room next to ours and a TV blaring from somewhere. We ate in the restaurant for one evening and the food was OK, however the staff were far too attentive! It may seem petty but they were continuously hovering over our table, which got a little irritating after a while as we wanted to enjoy our meal in peace. I had the chicken tikka, which was nice enough, but each time I went to take a piece from the serving plate and put it on my own plate the staff were there trying to do it for me, which was unnecessary. Wifi was a nice touch and the staff were mostly friendly, however I probably wouldn't choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missjjp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West hills, ca
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Amit & team are welcoming and friendly. Went above and beyond to ensure our every comfort and that we enjoyed our entire Delhi experience. Rooms are tastefully appointed with every convenience. Lovely bathroom--lots of hot water. Terrific experience! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetjt124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Pros - good wifi in the rooms and lobby, close to M block market.

Cons - management is severely lacking. Staff have no sense of customer service. Food was constantly running out during breakfast and they felt no urgency to replace it. Room was not clean - had not been dusted, sheets were kind of gross. Our tour with G Adventures required us to stay at this hotel on two separate occasions. Given that we paid for a Comfort tour with G Adventures, we were not happy with this very basic hotel. On the first visit, our room was impossibly small. On the second visit it was a decent size. So depends on whether you luck out, I guess.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a tour. The hotel is very basic. It has no amenities other than a restaurant for breakfast. It's not a hotel where you can relax. It's a hotel for you to sleep after sightseeing. It's closed to M block market, but it's not closed to any metro stations at the time this review was written.

If you decide to stay here, don't choose any room on the ground floor. It's noisy. The noise comes from the reception and service areas.

Will I come back... May be.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnocolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel, while it looks great from its website, is in great need of better management. I would not stay here again.

BAD
- the rooms were not very clean
- many things in the room was broken, knobs, bulbs, doors
- we could not sleep at night as our room was on the ground floor, and the front desk attendant was playing his music so loud at night it woke us up.
- very noisy outside hotel at night as well
- the breakfast was cold and dried out.

GOOD
- the front desk daytime staff were friendly
- the hotel is in a good location

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_guru2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Emblem Hotel New Friends Colony
#179 of 716 in New Delhi
137 reviews
The Allure - A Boutique Hotel
#209 of 716 in New Delhi
112 reviews
The Umrao
#57 of 716 in New Delhi
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greater Kailash I
Hotel Meridian Plaza
Hotel Meridian Plaza
#161 of 716 in New Delhi
126 reviews
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 716 in New Delhi
2,913 reviews
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#74 of 716 in New Delhi
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Vikalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Vikalp

Property: The Grand Vikalp
Address: C-48A, Greater Kailash | Part One, New Delhi 110048, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 1,082 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Vikalp 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxury at the budgeted price". That is what this hotel is based on. We have all the facilities that a luxury hotel would have at the price that you haven't even ever thought of. 24x7 staff committed to work for you always. Come and see the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Vikalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing