We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great recommendation by TripAdvisor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of When In India Tours

When In India Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Old Delhi Group Tour by Rickshaws
Ranked #4 of 427 Tours in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When in India offers exhilarating yet leisurely tours of the charming Old Delhi in specially designed pedicabs (rickshaws) and includes an exclusive visit to an old haveli (mansion) built in 1860. Our one-of-a-kind tours have been covered in various newspapers, TV channels and magazines and are included among 'the top 50 trips of the world' by Outlook Traveller (a top travel magazine in India). If you are looking to explore Delhi's rich history, heritage, religions, cuisines and culture, then you will love this experience. With us, you get transported 400 years back in history and glide through the narrow lanes of Chandni Chowk (The Moonlit Square of India), the most popular street in Old Delhi. Take the tour and witness the architectural marvels, the multicolored facades, beautifully decorated shops, ethnically dressed men and women and get bombarded by the fragrances emanating from the potpourri of eateries that line these historical alleys. Included in the tour (exclusive offerings) are foods from famous eateries, real time live-commentary, visit to an exclusive photo-gallery and souvenir booklet. Our expert Delhi enthusiasts (passionate guides) show the city from the local's perspective and tell tales that breathe life into the history of one of the greatest heritage cities in the world and help the guests discover the real places that they will not find in the guide books. Our 'holistic tours' include visits to Red Fort, Jama Masjid, Spice Market, Wedding Market, various Religious Shrines, Silver Bazaar, Town Hall, Zeenat Mahal, old mansions, and other hidden gems. We have paired up with several Delhi hotels and have served dignitaries including the ambassadors from the American and the French Embassies and many other guests from international organization like W.H.O., U.N.E.S.C.O., World Bank, U.N.D.P., Bill Gates Foundation, U.N. and others. We also offer tours in New Delhi, Agra and Jaipur.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great recommendation by TripAdvisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I just arrived in India and did the When in India tours on my first day yesterday. After reading the excellent reviews here, I knew it was a must do. Everything written about the tours was just right. Its a creative initiative and well done.

Helpful?
1 Thank richiecleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Richard, thanks for taking out the time to write this review and for recommending us.

Best regards

Ritu & Taruna
Wii Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Best way to experience Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I belong to Mumbai but visit Delhi frequently for work. I was pleasantly surprised to find a tour like this operating in Old Delhi. I have been to popular places like Red Fort and Jama masjid. I have also tried some of the popular eating places there during my earlier visits. But this tour was like an eye opener as it provided me with many interesting facts about this city which was created almost four centuries back by Mughals (infact by the same emperor, Shah Jahan who built the Taj Mahal in Agra!!). I was so impressed with this tour and the tour guide, I have been recommending it to all my friends, family and colleagues. Since I got to know about this from trip advisor, I want to strongly recommend it to all the trip advisor users also.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sheikh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi, it was a pleasure to meet you; thank you for recommending our tours to your friends and colleagues. It was a pleasure to take you on our morning tour and we are glad you had a great time. Take care and see you soon.

Best regards

Ritu & Taruna
Wii Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Tour Old Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is an excellent way to tour Old Delhi. The tour was well organized and very informative. The tours are limited in size, so the owner/guide can tailor each tour to the particular interests of the guests.
The owner/guide loves Old Delhi-this comes across during the tour.
Each guest is equipped with head phones, so you can always hear all the information that is being provided during the tour.
The rickshaws are clean and well maintained, and the drivers are careful and cautious.
This is a tour you can book with comfort and confidence-you will have a great time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ottawamomabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi and thank you for the sweet and detailed review. We appreciate your time and the kind words. We definitely love our city and are so glad that you enjoyed the tour. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again on your next visit to India!

Take care.

Best regards
Taruna & Ritu
Wii Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Old Delhi is an amazingly chaotic and energetic place to experience even on your own, but taking this tour will provide context that helps explain why it is the way it is and also access to areas that you either would not know about or would not feel comfortable exploring without a guide. The tour was very well organized and structured.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Matt:

Hi and thank you for the review. You define Old Delhi quite aptly - amazingly chaotic and energetic! We are glad that you found our tours well organized and structured. It was a pleasure to meet you and your parents. Take care and hope to see you again!

Best regards
Taruna & Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not miss this tour - when in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our friends came back from India with some very fine memories. They insisted that we should budget some time for 'when in india - pedicab tours of old delhi'. We had very high expectations from this tour and I am glad to say that all were met :). We were taken to some very interesting places and to some markets including the spice market. The smells and sounds were unforgettable. The fact that we have decided to take this tour again in our next visit to India, speaks a lot about them!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vlaalexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi! Thank you for the sweet review. Old Delhi is indeed an unforgettable place!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the tour and we look forward to meeting you again. :)

Take care
Taruna & Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed When In India Tours also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to When In India Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing