We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close experience of Old Delhi”

When In India Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Old Delhi Group Tour by Rickshaws
Ranked #5 of 490 Tours in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: When in India offers exhilarating yet leisurely tours of the charming Old Delhi in specially designed pedicabs (rickshaws) and includes an exclusive visit to an old haveli (mansion) built in 1860. Our one-of-a-kind tours have been covered in various newspapers, TV channels and magazines and are included among 'the top 50 trips of the world' by Outlook Traveller (a top travel magazine in India). If you are looking to explore Delhi's rich history, heritage, religions, cuisines and culture, then you will love this experience. With us, you get transported 400 years back in history and glide through the narrow lanes of Chandni Chowk (The Moonlit Square of India), the most popular street in Old Delhi. Take the tour and witness the architectural marvels, the multicolored facades, beautifully decorated shops, ethnically dressed men and women and get bombarded by the fragrances emanating from the potpourri of eateries that line these historical alleys. Included in the tour (exclusive offerings) are foods from famous eateries, real time live-commentary, visit to an exclusive photo-gallery and souvenir booklet. Our expert Delhi enthusiasts (passionate guides) show the city from the local's perspective and tell tales that breathe life into the history of one of the greatest heritage cities in the world and help the guests discover the real places that they will not find in the guide books. Our 'holistic tours' include visits to Red Fort, Jama Masjid, Spice Market, Wedding Market, various Religious Shrines, Silver Bazaar, Town Hall, Zeenat Mahal, old mansions, and other hidden gems. We have paired up with several Delhi hotels and have served dignitaries including the ambassadors from the American and the French Embassies and many other guests from international organization like W.H.O., U.N.E.S.C.O., World Bank, U.N.D.P., Bill Gates Foundation, U.N. and others. We also offer tours in New Delhi, Agra and Jaipur.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Up close experience of Old Delhi”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

As a business traveler, I had little time for touring in Delhi. The When In India Tour by rickshaw was perfect for the half day available to me. Great way to see the sights up close and immerse oneself in the smells of the old city. Excellent tour for those of us who enjoy people watching and are amazed at how life flows in such a chaotic state. Definitely worthwhile.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear John:
Thank you for taking out the time to write this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our pedicab tours. Thank you for the acknowledgement & kind appreciation.

Best regards
Ritu & Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    18
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exciting and informative”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Thanks Taruna for a fantastic experience on the crazy streets and alleyways of Old Delhi.

We were taken places that we never would have ventured to on our own and felt safe the whole time. Getting the history of old Delhi, going into the spice market, down alleyways to temples, hawelis and other sights was exciting with something new around every corner.

Keep it going!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dearest Tim:

Thank you for the sweet review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and I am glad that all of you had a great time in India. We are so glad that you liked the tour and found it safe and exciting. Old Delhi is really a mesmerizing place and visiting it is an adventure in itself. Thank you for the review and please take care.

Best
Ritu & Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memories of Old Delhi”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The trip organised by When In India takes you the past era, literally taking you hundreds of years back in history. The rickshaws are very comfortable, takes you to the inner streets of the walled city. Great value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ching L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Ching: thank for the review. We really appreciate you taking out the time to recommend us. We are glad that you had a good time and we hope to meet you again. Thank you!

Best wishes
Ritu & Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
245 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Unique Experience - Excellent Service - Must Do Excursion”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you want to immerse yourself in the old city of Delhi with careful and expert guides, then When In India Tours is a “must do” experience. I always check Trip Advisor before heading to foreign countries, especially when looking for tour guides. The 5 Star rating of When In India was more than justified. This company, owned by two US educated Indian sisters, combines outstanding customer service with in-depth knowledge of old Delhi and its hidden treasures.

I contacted WII to arrange for a special “spiritually oriented” private morning tour for 3 of us. Though this is not a normal practice, the company delivered exactly what we were looking for in a very professional and enjoyable manner. We met Taruna, our guide for the day, near the Red Fort. Her friendly manner put us immediately at ease. She arranged two uniformed Pedicabs for the 4 hour private tour of various temples, mosques and out of the way venues not normally seen by tourists.

We were outfitted with headsets so we could listen to Taruna who was in the first pedicab, giving us stories on the history, culture, and unusual peculiarities of certain sites. Each time we left the pedicab to visit a temple, a cold bottle of water greeted us at our return. At other times, the pedicab stopped so she could explain an unusual site – like the Tree Temples dedicated to the trees in nature.

This company considers everything. When we visited Jama Masjid, the largest mosque in Delhi, Taruna explained what we would encounter at the entrance, and provided slippers for each of us to wear inside the enormous mosque. When visiting the spice market warehouse she provided us with masks to aid breathing in the dust of the large quantities of spices. At the conclusion of the tour we were taken to a Haveli (old Indian mansion) where we were served delicious Indian sweets and pastries by the resident owner.

This tour is a must see event if you visit Delhi. It's professional, all-encompassing, and the quality lives up to Western expectations. The pedicabs are comfortable with padded red seats and overhead covers. The drivers are uniformed in red golf shirts. You will be immersed in the sights, sounds and smells of Old Delhi from the vantage point of street level. At all times, you will feel safe, cared for, and even pampered. Ritu and Taruna (the two sisters) have set up an outstanding business model for touring Old Delhi. You will not be disappointed with the tour or with them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FLTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi and thank for taking out the time to write such a comprehensive review. The street of Chandni Chowk is one of the most democratic streets in the world and 'Religion' & 'Spirituality' is such a big part of the Indian culture that we thoroughly enjoy our Spiritual tours. We try to give our guests the best possible experience so we are happy that you enjoyed the tour. It was so great to meet you and your friends and we are so glad that we had a wonderful time together. We hope to see you again! Thanks again for the strong recommendation, please take care and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peep at history”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

No need to swot up on history!!
When In India tours takes us on an easy ride through history.
The tour is fun and comfortable.
Just bring the camera and click away at the architectural delights that dot the tour.
I LOVED THE TOUR .
annu

.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank annapoorna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Delhi, Owner at When In India Tours, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Annu: Thanks for the sweet review. Old Delhi is surely a great place for taking pictures. The life, the diversity, the colors of the place is beyond words. We really enjoyed having you on our tour and appreciated the amazing pictures that you sent us. You were so pleasant and full of life; it was really a pleasure to have you with us on the tour. Thank you!

Best wishes
Ritu & Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed When In India Tours also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to When In India Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing