We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere with great food”
Review of Daniell's Tavern

Daniell's Tavern
Ranked #217 of 12,667 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere with great food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nothing to dislike. Restaurant is beautiful, food was great and the service top notch. A little on the expensive side- dinner for two with only one glass of wine was $100

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at Daniell's Tavern, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am glad that you had a wonderful dining experience at Daniell's Tavern.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Top-notch Indian”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Delicious, great menu variety, excellent service. Definitiely worth a visit, especially if you are staying at or near the Imperial.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at Daniell's Tavern, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Daniell's Tavern. I am truly glad that you had a wonderful meal and a memorable experience. Your positive comments are a motivation for the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“THIRD NIGHT”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

It was another night and another dinner at The Imperial. Daniell’s Tavern seems an unlikely name for an Indian restaurant until you learn it’s named for Thomas and William Daniells. The Daniells were adventurers and painters who travelled to India in the late 1700’s.

The menu at Daniell’s Tavern is filled with classic Indian dishes from all over the country presented through the lens of the Daniells’ travels.

On this evening, my wife and I ordered mutton rogan josh and rice. Having spent the day pounding the pavement up and down Rajpath, through the shops of the Khan Market and the grounds of Humayun’s Tomb, I was hungry. We were a little concerned that one main and rice wouldn’t be quite enough – not to worry. When all was said and done, we were stuffed.

As on the previous two nights at The Imperial’s other restaurants, we were well pleased with the food, service and ambiance of Daniell’s Tavern.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at Daniell's Tavern, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words. It is indeed a rare concept for an Indian restaurant and I am glad to note your appreciation for the same. It is an absolute pleasure that you were happy with the food, service and ambience of Daniell’s Tavern.

Your positive feedback is a motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Senior Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Amazing service”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant or the hotel it is situated in! The restaurant is glamorous, had beautiful live music, delicious food, and amazing service. I asked for a particular recipe and the manager promised to email it to me. I never imagined he would follow through, but he did! I have since made the dish and have fond memories of my stay at the Imperial Hotel. The best hotel I've had the pleasure of staying in anywhere in the world.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb curries, dissapointing naan”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After a long time I visited a restaurant that vowed me on many different levels, the service, the decor, the ambiance and of course the food. DANIELL’S TAVERN excelled on all these.

What was disappointing was the naan, really is it still a naan if it doesn't rise? ( wake up Delhi-ites , yeast is not the enemy here) The gravies more than made up tho and I would recommend the superb Laccha parantha instead.
Yes this is an expensive restaurant by any standard but really guy's $600 for a bottle of Dom? I ended up drinking beer which goes better with Indian food anyways.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank samtheman t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniell's Tavern also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Daniell's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing